We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Inexpensive Boutique Hotel in Paris”
Review of Hotel Maxim Folies

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Maxim Folies
Ranked #1,261 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Finding a decent inexpensive cool hotel in Paris is a nightmare. The Hotel Maxim Follies fits the bill.
It is cool, in a good location, and excellent value. The lobby is small but works and the rooms are nicely appointed. The hotel receptionists are amazing and even helped me book my train ticket to Normandy.

When your in Paris you shouldn't even be in your room in the first place but if your on a budget then its hard to find a place your not ashamed of.....

The Maxim Follies you will like.

SIMPLE, CLEAN, FUN in Paris.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LostInAsiaSince2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LVMaxim, Responsable commercial at Hotel Maxim Folies, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear EustacheDauger,
Thank you very much for your positive review about our hotel.
We are really glad to hear that you appreciated so much your stay.
Our Front desk team is always available to help customers so don’t hesitate if you have any question.
We hope to see you soon at Maxim Folies !
Kind regards,
Sales & Marketing Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (409)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 409 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

I wanted to stay somewhere fairly central but not pay an excessive amount, although I know that's asking a lot in Paris. This hotel was very well located - a 10m walk from GDN Station, there were also lots of nice restaurants and bars on the same road / nearby and Cadet metro station is about 2 mins away. So locations is ideal, however the hotel itself isn't anything amazing, but fine for what you pay for.

Be prepared for very small rooms (just big enough for a bed) no kettle, very little storage space and no fridge/mini bar. But is was clean and tastefully decorated.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cravecraven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LVMaxim, Responsable commercial at Hotel Maxim Folies, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Cravecraven,
Thank you for your review.
As you said, our hotel is really well located close to Gare du Nord and Gare de l’Est and our area is very dynamic (bars, restaurants, shops, museums, theaters…)
Next times, if you need a kettle or a fridge don’t hesitate to ask the Front Desk. We have a kitchen and we can help you to keep your things in our fridge or help you to boil some water…
Thank you for your positive review about our decoration. Actually, we’ve redecorated our hotel recently, so we are glad to hear that you appreciated our design.
We hope to see you again in Maxim Folies!
Kind regards,
Sales & Marketing Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

As soon as we arrived at the hotel it was undergoing a refurb so the hotel reception had no ceiling, there was wires hanging and walls cordened off everywhere. There was no access to the stairs so the lift had to be used at all times.

The rooms were plain and tidy which was okay but one night we were woken by what sounded like a herd of elephants running up the stairs at 3am, they were going next door to us and were having a party, after trying to sit it out the noise got louder and louder, we tried to ring reception and got no response so after the 10th time of trying my partner had to go downstairs to complain and lets say the member of staff was nor use nor ornament, he found it funny and wasnt interested in the slightest & he rung the room and asked them to keep the noise down (which they didnt) and we couldnt believe that he had told the party what room number the complaint came from so they then decided to bang on our door & shout abuse at us.

We didnt spend much time in the hotel due to us wanting to explore paris and thats one thing I was pleased about. Safe to say we wont be returning.

Spend the bit extra cash because you certainly get what you pay for.

Thankz

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Carlie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatrooms, Responsable commercial at Hotel Maxim Folies, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Carlie,
Thank you for your review.
We are currently refurbishing our hotel reception so we are sorry for the momentary disturbance. We will soon have a beautiful new lounge. Also the stairs are accessible again so it’s possible to use the lift or the staircases.
Regarding your problem of neighborhood, we really apologize to you for the way it was handled. We will improve our Front Desk service for a better management of noisy customers.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again to show you the result of our renovation, and also to offer you the best service possible for a pleasant stay.
Best regards,
Sales & Marketing Department.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

It's Paris. Don't look for space, you will not find it; look for a great location and comfort.
Actually, you do not need to look further more, because Gat Folies is the place you need to stay at.
Enjoy!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaraG26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatrooms, Responsable commercial at Hotel Maxim Folies, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Lara,
Thank you for your review and your kind word.
Our hotel is exactly as you describe. Our location is in the center of Paris near from Opera and Galeries Lafayette, and close to Gare du Nord and Gare de l’Est... Also our hotel is really confortable. We have a nice bedding, a beautiful design, a good breakfast with fresh products and a professional staff. If you have any question you can ask. Our team will take care of you (taxis, restaurants reservations, touristic information…).
We hope to welcome you again in our hotel !
Best Regards,
Sales & Marketing Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

1. Wi-Fi couldn't be used at nights, or in day time is very unlikely to login, this affect our preparation of our trip
2. Air conditioner was out of work at last night of stay (8 MAY 2014), the staff did not provide any resolution but just ask us to accept instead
3. Carpet did not clean regularly
4. Shampoo and body wash did not refill sometimes

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatrooms, Responsable commercial at Hotel Maxim Folies, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear SamL,
Thank you for your review.
We are sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your stay and will fulfill all your expectations for your next stay with us.
Regarding the carpet and the amenities, we respect your request not to be disturbed (doorknob left on your room door). Therefore, if you needed anything, you could ask at the Front Desk, they will match your expectations.
The hotel wireless network was and is fully operational. Our Front Desk staff is here to help you in all computer or wireless connections assistance.
Our air conditioning system was out of order for 2 days for technical maintenance, and we really apologize for the inconvenience. It is and will be fully at the hotel guests’ disposal.
We really hope to welcome you back soon in our hotel.
Best regards,
Sales & Marketing Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed here last summer for a week.'it is perfectly located; walking distance to Montmarte, tube stations etc, we even walked all the way to the louvre etc (as you do when you're travelling). There are restaurants and bakeries in the same street, as well as a supermarket - which is perfect whe travelling. The room is small, with a compact shower etc, but comfortable enough. We stayed here in the height of summer and there was no air on, which sometimes made it quite uncomfortable at night. The street below became quite loud at night and, while it was not a problem with the windows closed, became an issue when you needed some air due to no air con! However, that was our only complaint. The staff were always friendly and helpful and the room was always spotless. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CJM101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatrooms, Responsable commercial at Hotel Maxim Folies, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear CJM101,
Many thanks for your good review.
You have to know that we improved a lot our hotel.
Indeed, we’ve installed the air conditioning in every rooms a few months ago, so for the next summer our hotel will be really comfortable.
We hope you will visit us again for another fantastic trip in Paris.
Kind regards,
Sales & Marketing Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

It's one of the best hotels in Paris I've stayed, the location is near the La Fayette or the Opera house, the metro station is around 5 walking minutes away. Rooms are small, but clean and modern and very thoughtfully furnished. Breakfast was delicious, lots od jams, honey, toasts, ham, cheese, brie cheese, fruits, different juices ... Great star of the day! If you visit the city as a tourist, this is the best place to stay! On the same street there's also a few markets if you need anything else! Certainly I'll return!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BajaLj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatrooms, Responsable commercial at Hotel Maxim Folies, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Dear Customer,
Thank you for your excellent review.
We are well located in the center of Paris.
Our housekeeping team is really professional and take a really good care of rooms for our customers's satisfaction.
Come back anytime you want. We will be very pleased to welcome you again !
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opéra / Bourse
Hotel Maxim Opera
Hotel Maxim Opera
#971 of 1,809 in Paris
259 reviews
Opéra / Bourse
The Lodge du Centre Hotel
The Lodge du Centre Hotel
#392 of 1,809 in Paris
413 reviews
Opéra / Bourse
Hotel Axel Opera by HappyCulture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opéra / Bourse
Best Western Hotel Gaillon Opera
Opéra / Bourse
Hotel Peyris Opera
Hotel Peyris Opera
#612 of 1,809 in Paris
688 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Opera Maintenon
Hotel Opera Maintenon
#977 of 1,809 in Paris
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maxim Folies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maxim Folies

Address: 14 rue Geoffroy Marie, 75009 Paris, France (Formerly Hotel Gat Folies)
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,261 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: £71 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Maxim Folies 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelers will be pleased to discover the cozy and friendly atmosphere of Maxim Folies! This boutique hotel 3 stars with a modern decoration offers a comfortable accommodation and also a delicious breakfast buffet composed of fresh products, and homemade preparations served in a bright room open on the street. Situated in the center of Paris, between the Opera Garnier and the Gare du Nord train station, Maxim Folies is served by 4 metro lines, and all around theaters and restaurants crowd in this district so lively day and night! And for shopaholics, the Galeries Lafayette and Printemps are really close by walking... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Maxim Folies reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing