We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gems starting from the Lourve”
Review of Discover Walks

Discover Walks
Book In Advance
More Info
US$105.91*
and up
Food Sampling: French Foods with a French Foodie
Ranked #26 of 195 Food & Drink in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: How will you visit Paris? With expats, or with true NATIVES? On paid tours, or on FREE, pay-what-you-want, services? Alex, Charlotte, Bertrand and Cécile are native borns of Paris. We share our city. We do not give you a standard tourist product, we treat you like a visiting friend, sharing our city's confidential venues along with our famed landmarks. Our Discover Walks tours are fun, informative and personal, so you feel part of Paris. Our group tours are free of price - you pay what you want. Private, paid tours are also available. 5 free tours to choose from. We now also offer a Night Tour. All tours are easy and comfortable, in intimate, small groups, in English, and run every day run or shine.Guests say Discover Walks are like exploring Paris in the company of a local friend.
Reviewed 14 August 2017

We do a walk with the guides from Discover Walks each time we come to Paris. Quinten our guide was fantastic, we have stayed in this area four times over the years and never would have found the places we were shown. A beautiful old arcade, a fantastic park to sit in for coffee and so much more on the history of the area & the buildings around. Always great,worth a good tip so much information. We would highly recommend any of the Pink vest walking tours.

Thank d0ssies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,549)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"left bank"
in 155 reviews
"paris landmarks"
in 89 reviews
"latin quarter"
in 162 reviews
"montmartre tour"
in 111 reviews
"notre dame"
in 286 reviews
"pink vest"
in 34 reviews
"right bank"
in 76 reviews
"free walking"
in 21 reviews
"tour guide"
in 84 reviews
"great tour"
in 65 reviews
"discover paris"
in 25 reviews
"interesting stories"
in 25 reviews
"great insight"
in 16 reviews
"meeting point"
in 26 reviews
"flea market"
in 15 reviews
"free tour"
in 29 reviews
"le marais"
in 35 reviews
Filter

142 - 146 of 1,549 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2017

DO NOT BOOK THIS TOUR. It is entirely inaccurately described on the website and it is terrible.
The worst part of this tour was being shoed away by at least three shop owners while we stood in front of stores while the guide spoke. It seemed everywhere we went we were pesky tourists in the way of local shoppers and it was clear none of the owners of the shops we visited had been notified of the food tour stopping by. We have attended numerous food tours in various cities and during ALL OF THEM we were welcomed by the owners of the establishments we visited and there was evidence of prior arrangements and preparation. This tour was as if we were following a French guy as he scurried around and gathered up some groceries. Only at the end of the tour did we actually eat anything. We were taken to a cafeteria-like café called EXKi where we sat at a table and tried the items the guide had gathered during the prior hour and a half. We did not even know where he got some of the food items because he had to run get them while the tour participants went into the cafeteria and got a table at which to sit.
The food tastings provided included a variety of cheese I believe there were five, French baguette, fresh cherries, sausage, and a bag of plain chouquettes. At the end of the tour the guide complained that everything was closed during this time of year early August and because of that he would buy a complimentary drink for everyone in the group at the cafeteria - thus everyone could get a coffee, juice, or soft drink if they wished. This is entirely different than the tour description on Tripadvisor and Viator stating, each time the menu will be sure to include: appetizers such as golden-crusted quiche and chanterelle-mushroom paté, cheese such as roquefort and truffle-raised brie, award-winning bread, organic fruit du jour, pastry such as chocolate éclair or raspberry Duchess' cake, along with the drink of your choice.
Likewise description on the Viator voucher was incorrect stating the tour included 10 tastings and 2 drinks. The food we were offered at the end of the food tour perhaps cost 80 euro excluding the drink at the end which the tour guide made a huge fuss about because it was putting him over-budget to buy everyone a coffee or soda at the cafeteria. At 60 euro per person, with 8 people in our group and two that did not show up, the tour made 600 euro. Maybe a 10th of the income made was actually spent on food tastings. Ive never been on such a poor food tour.
The following was included in the Viator and Tripadvisor description and we did not do any of it, Marvel at paintings by Rubens and sculptures by Coysevox, a 17th-century French artist admire the 8,000 pipes of Paris' largest organ gaze up at the Tower of John the Fearless.
Likewise the following was incorrect, Your tour then concludes by St-Eustache church Église St-Eustache, across from Les Halles, one of Europes busiest shopping centers. We ended at EXKi, a cafeteria/French fast food establishment.
On Tripadvisors website under the title of the tour it is listed as a Discover Walks tour. At the end of the tour the guide gave us his card and it was for Alex and the City tour company.
I booked this tour for a group of four and was terribly embarrassed- we sadly wasted an entire morning of the two we had in Paris. There are many other attractions or food tours we could have booked but chose this one, mislead by the description on the Viator and Tripadvisor websites. This tour at the very least needs to be taken down from the website so future travelers are not duped and waste their time and money.

Thank hbien2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiscoverWalks, Owner at Discover Walks, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Dear Guest,

We are sorry you did not enjoy your time with us. I'm Alexandre of Discover Walks, and I wanted to follow up.

As a rule, our food tour has been a crowd pleaser. And on the day of your tour, we delivered the core of our tour: the 10 tastings, charming rue Montorgueil, and a guide Alex who receives raving reviews.

Still, I understand the reasons for your discontent. We take a lot of your points, and we will change our program. A/ We'll discontinue this tour August 1-15 because the best food shops now close during that period - the peak holiday season for food stores in Paris. B/ We'll also revise the tour description - as most guests want to keep this tour focused on food. They do not want Coysevox and Rubens art pieces, these will be removed from the tour.

We will retain the core of our food tour: charming rue Montorgueil, 10 tastings of select produce (menu will vary according to season), and inspiring hosts & guides.

Finally, I am sorry you did not respond to my private messages. We would have been keen to make it up to you - we like happy customers!

All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

As I had read and saw some videos about Montmartre, it was a must to do while we were in Paris. It's a beautiful district a top the hill. Our tour guide was only month old with Discover walks (sorry I don't recollect her name). She was smart and trying to give as much information as she could. Good way to understand the history behind this place. The view from Sacré-Cœur basilica is just wowww. There are many cafes and luckily we could go to the bakery which won the best baguette contest. All in all a nice walk!

Thank Neeta A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017

Since I was in the city alone, I decided to cover as many Discover Walks as possible - my own tour marathon ! ... Saw Montmartre, le Marais and Hidden Gems. Each was fantastic as were the tour guides :

Montmartre : This was probably my favourite discover walks tour. Luo was fantastic ! He was very enthusiastic about Montmartre (his home city within the city) and had so many stories to share and things to show us. So much so, that the tour went on longer than expected which was a pleasant surprise !

Le Marias : Our tour guide Leah was bubbly & fun. Even though it was pouring rain during most of the tour, she made it worth our while!

Hidden Gems : Loved it ! Our tour guide Patrick was great - he was so knowledgeable about the history of Paris and so passionate when telling us about little anecdotes on the hidden gems. Only wish the tour could have gone on longer to hear more!

Highly recommend !

Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

The tour guides we had were awesome, they knew their history and took us to places in and around Paris that we wouldn't have normally gone.
The best thing is, they are FREE, giving a tip at the end on what you thought the tour was worth is the best. The guides put in a lot of effort and are very friendly. You just turn up, meet the tour guide and enjoy a few hours of walking and sightseeing... loved it.

Thank nlfordham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiscoverWalks, Guest Relations Manager at Discover Walks, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

Thank you so much for your kind feedback. Our guides really pride themselves on showing you the secrets of the city through the eyes of a local. We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed the free tour!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Discover Walks also viewed

 

Been to Discover Walks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing