We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location, a bit worn down, but great value”
Review of Hotel Jean-Gabriel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Jean-Gabriel
Ranked #1,149 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent location, a bit worn down, but great value”
Reviewed 2 December 2010

At first the hotel looked pretty bad, but at check-in the receptionist/manager/bell person/maintenance all the same guy was smiling and was very polite. The rooms are small and worn down, but was clean and had a comfortable bad. At breakfast we noticed that the server/houskeeper is the same person, but she was very helpful, and friendly.
We had two rooms and both was okay compared to what we have paid for. The only negative experience was that the elevator did not work the first day. Overall I would say the room was clean, the staff was extremely helpful, the location was perfect (just a few steps from Place de Clichy) and really compared what we paid for it was perfect.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank speedingkoala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    78
    64
    15
    12
See reviews for
18
114
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2010

This is a newly re-done hotel that was recommended by the El Dorado down the street. Very pleasant staff, nice hard bed, room gets really dark at night (an essential for me!). Room was simple but clean with some little flourishes in the way of art. Breakfast room very nice-kind of a barrel vaulted room with a historic feel.

We paid about 100 Euros, including breakfast, which I thought was very reasonable.

A nice, option if you'd rather spend your money on some of the other pleasures of Paris rather than the hotel room!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMazzocato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vannes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2010

They gave a room key to a maintenance man who entered my room twice (despite a do not disturb sign on the door) while I was still in bed. The second time, he sat down on my bed and started hitting on me. When I complained to the hotel staff later, they claimed I was lying because I didn't want to pay my bill. I would pay twice the normal rate just to feel safe in my room!! I checked out immediately. This hotel does not care about their guests' privacy and security. Do not stay here.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank jv2133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
South Australia
Level Contributor
210 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2009

We spent a week here with another couple. Location really convenient to Metro Place de Clichy. Room small but for the price was from our experience fairly normal for Paris. All staff we dealt with were friendly and helpful. Our room clean and quiet (we didn't face the street)

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wangary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2009

Very quiet at night but easy access to lively areas. 24 hr reception with very friendly staff(not overly) . I don't understand the grumpy, critisising reviews. I could not think one negative side of the hotel. Just arrived back from Paris with all fantastic memories. Part of the experience was staying at Comfort Hotel in Montmartre with very comfortable beds, cleanlyness, security (24 hr reception), fantastic location, very nice breakfast, internet. I definitely will go back to Paris, staying in this Hotel as soon as I can. I would recommend to everybody who goes to Paris to discover the city and not to old miserable people who are picking on small things in the hotel. Why would anybody expect huge rooms? It's clear from the photos that they are nice cozy little rooms. The rooms were cleaned, tidied every day. But every time we returned to our room it was obvious that the the cleaner staff were very careful not to move or touch too many personal items. It's only my opinion but after this 5 nights, when I'm go back to Paris in the near future I wouldn't risk going anywhere else once I know this place is perfect for me.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrownTrout74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limburg
1 review
Reviewed 5 September 2009

Some reviews here must be speaking of a different hotel. This hotel lies just a few hundred meters from tube station Place de Clichy instead of Abbesses and it's in the flat part of Montmartre. Place de Clichy is a rather lively location with bistro's, restaurants... Hotel itself is located in very quiet side street. However all the noise comes from inside the hotel mainly from the whole sanitary system. The noise was absolutely terrible whenever someone used the bathroom, shower or toilets. Also the walls must have been very thin because you had no problem following conversations and actions in neighbouring rooms. It's always a bit of a problem in hotels, but it's the first time I write about it because it was so bad and I had so much difficulties getting some sleep. I found the staff rather friendly and helpfull, I didn't have a problem with that. The rooms were clean but small, I found the shower simply too small. The breakfast in the morning was alright, but if not included in the price I wouldn't pay 9 euros for it. The hotel itself lists as a 3-star hotel, in the Germanic/Anglo cultures this would never rate 3 stars. Therefor I found it bad value but my main concern was the noise.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank warrealain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2009

We managed to find the hotel ok, was in a nice area, however when we walked into the reception there was one member of staff lying on a sofa while another was chatting to someone, we waited for about 10 minutes thinking it was another customer, the person turned out to be his friend. When we were checking in we decided against the breakfast option much to the disgust and almost anger of the staff. Got into the smallest lift in the world and found our room, it was terrible, very small and the bathroom looked like it needed upgraded (limescale around shower). The bed also had stains on the sheets. We decided to leave straight away and went down to check out. When telling the receptionist he didnt care and just pointed at the door. Perhaps the worst staff i have ever encountered. Would never go back even if i was paid to.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank glogan14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel Rendez-Vous Batignolles
Hotel Rendez-Vous Batignolles
#1,230 of 1,797 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Contact Hotel Alize Montmartre
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel du Mont Dore
Hotel du Mont Dore
#1,303 of 1,797 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel de Paris Montmartre
Hotel de Paris Montmartre
#1,283 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Art Hotel Batignolles
#487 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel des Batignolles
Hotel des Batignolles
#741 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jean-Gabriel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jean-Gabriel

Property: Hotel Jean-Gabriel
Address: 13 rue Lecluse, 75017 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Batignolles-Monceau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,149 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Jean-Gabriel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Jean Gabriel Montmartre is located in the chic and trendy area of "Les Batignolles", two steps away from Place de Clichy, the Moulin rouge, grands Boulevards, and Montmartre. The Hotel offers a calm and comfortable location far from the Parisian bustle.Our 28 rooms are all equipped with satellite TV and flat TV screen, free wifi access, direct line telephone and complimentary tea and coffee making facility.To start the day, for only 11.00 You will enjoy our Buffet breakfast in our typical Parisian basement. Find there fresh bread and pastries, fresh fruits salad, a choice of yogurts and cheeses, eggs and ham, hot and cold beverages.Hotel Jean Gabriel is very easy to reach, no matter where you are coming from, only 15 min away from Gare du Nord by metro with just one metro line (metro 2), 17 min away from Gare de l'Est by bus (bus 30), gare de lyon is also 35 min away by metro and Gare St Lazarre is reachable by foot in only 5 min. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Jean-Gabriel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing