We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel for the money”
Review of The Element Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Element Hotel
Ranked #1,554 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“great hotel for the money”
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We have just spent 3 nights here and have had a very pleasant stay. the staff were all very friendly and helpful. Our room was very clean and had a large double bed. We were in room 62 (top floor), it didn't have a shower as such but an attachment over the bath. this didn't bother us too much as the bath was a roll top free standing one and was very welcome after a day around the city. there was plenty of hot water for the bath unlike some hotels i have been in. The top floor rooms are like attic rooms so the ceiling is sloped over half of it , which was a little strange but we soon got used to it. there was also A/C in the room and a wall mounted fan heater that we didn't need to use even when it got below zero outside on a couple of nights.

the hotel is very close to the metro so getting in to the city only takes 5-10 mins max which we did not find to be a problem. there are lots of places to eat and drink nearby that are very reasonable and a lot cheaper than the city centre. One i can recommend is called 'cafe bon bierre' (opposite mcdonalds.

The only negative for me is the walls seemed very thin on our floor so you did tend to here things in other rooms. I nearly always sleep with ear plus in when in hotels so it wasn't too much of a problem but it is something to bare in mind if you are a light sleeper. the only other thing is the sink in our room was very small and was there more to say it has one rather than use.

Over all a very pleasant stay and a place that i will quite happily go back to when next visiting paris.

Room Tip: Room 62 has a freestanding bath which is nice after a day in paris
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stef2505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ronith s, Responsable relations clients at The Element Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear guest,

We are please that you spend a great stay in our hotel.
We all hope to welcome you soon in our hotel.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    84
    74
    39
    42
See reviews for
41
129
20
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

This hotel was very reasonably priced and I would definitely stay again. The rooms were minimal but comfortable, however the bathroom - in particularly the shower - was superb! Right near Goncourt metro which will take you straight into the centre of Paris. All the staff were friendly and amenable, although they did allow us to have a room key without checking the name on the room booking, which was slightly worrying.
The surrounding area is full of shops and places to eat, and if you venture a 10-min walk towards Belleville there are some excellent bars and restaurants at fair prices - much cheaper than the city centre. Went with a friend on a girly weekend and had a great stay.

Room Tip: The first floor (rooms 1, 2 and possibly 3) seemed noisy, so I would ask for a higher room. We were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ronith s, Responsable relations clients at The Element Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comment.
we all hope to welcome you again in our hotel very soon.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Brunswick, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my cousin for two nights. I wasn't sure what to expect because I booked the hotel on Expedia and just hoped for the best. We knew that the hotel wasn't super close to the Paris attractions we wanted to see (Notre Dame Cathedral, Eiffel Tower, The Louvre). Fortunately, the Metro is very close to the hotel so we could very easily get to any of those attractions -- thus, I would say the hotel was a good location for a good price. I wouldn't have wanted to be staying right in the heart of Paris anyway because it would have been far too busy for my liking. One lady at the front desk was especially helpful in telling us which Metros to take to get to which attraction -- she was very detailed in her instructions.

The entry way to the hotel was a little tacky and the elevator is super small. The rooms, however, are very modern and chic. We were a little iffy at first because the bathroom didn't have an actual door...instead, it was a sliding glass door. I was worried it would be see through, but it was dark glass so you couldn't see through it. The bathroom is pretty small and is combined with a "shower room" -- the shower is not in a tub. Instead, the bathroom floor is slightly slanted where the shower is. I ran into some difficulty because I had never used a shower like that before and ended up flooding the entire bathroom floor....as well as the entire bedroom floor just from taking a shower. We called the front desk to ask them to send help because the entire floor of our room was flooded. Their response was that there was only one of them working at the desk tonight and they could not leave, but maybe they would send some help in the morning. Not very helpful in the case of an emergency. We also ran into some problems with the desk chair -- the desk chair was very flimsy. It doesn't support heavier people very well. After it was sat on for awhile, the chair started bending to the point that it was like a slide. We called the front desk to ask them to replace it, and their response was (once again) that there was only one of them at the front desk and they would send someone tomorrow to replace the chair. No one came to replace the chair before we checked out though.

We asked for a room with two twin beds. They said they would give us a room with two beds for the second night because they only had rooms with one double bed available at that time. We discovered though that the double beds are two twin beds zipped together. So if you're in a double bed room and need two beds, keep that tip in mind! On one of the sheets on the bed, there was a brown smear that looked like poop....so that was gross.

There were lots of little shops run by Asians along the street around the corner from the hotel. The shops were well priced and there were many of them. There were also some coffee shops, some restaurants, and some fast food places (ie. Subway) along the road. Good location for some shopping.

Be careful when getting the hotel to call a taxi for you. We had them call one for us and the taxi we got was NOT friendly AT ALL. He charged us 7 euros before we even got in the car (which was half the price of our trip to the train station). When we asked him why the meter started out at 7 euros, instead of a calm explanation, he flew off the handle and started yelling at us, stopped the car, and told us to get another taxi. We didn't end up getting out though...so he drove angrily the entire way to the train station, honking at every car that got in his way. He stopped the taxi in the middle of a busy street (I nearly got run over by a bus when I got out of the car!) and raged at us some more when telling us how much we owed him. So just be careful when asking the hotel to call you a taxi because you might end up getting overcharged (and yelled at!).

As for the hotel itself...the rooms were really nice. Small, but nice. The shower was tricky. The bathroom was small.

The service at the hotel was superb when it came to directions to attractions. As for trying to get any help in the evenings, the service was poor. They were understaffed.

The hotel is in a good location -- close to the metro to get to the big attractions. Also, lots of shops and dining options around.

I would consider staying here again.

Room Tip: If you get stuck in a room with one double bed and you need two beds, the bed is actually two twins...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doakie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ronith s, Responsable relations clients at The Element Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Google Translation
Chère cliente,

Nous tenions dans un premier temps à vous remercier pour votre message.

Notre hôtel est situé à quelques minutes en métro de l'ile de la cité et nous sommes dans Paris intra-muros ce qui rend un accès très facile pour toutes les grandes attractions de la ville.

Nous avons prévenu le service technique du problème d'inondation dans votre salle de bain et nous avons comblé ce petit problème afin que cela ne se reproduise plus. Nous sommes désolé de ne pas avoir pu intervenir plus tôt sur ce problème mais sachez que nous avons prévenu le service technique dès votre premier appel.

A la suite de votre commentaire nous avons changer la literie de votre chambre et avons remplacer l'alèse par une grande afin que ce problème ne se reproduise plus. Ce même investissement sera effectué sur toutes notre literie d'ici quelques mois.

Concernant le taxi, nous ne sommes malheureusement pas responsable de leur tarif. Il s'agit d'une compagnie de taxi tout à fait légal et lorsque vous commandez un taxi il vous facture ce service sans que l'on puisse le négocier.

Nous espérons vous revoir très bientôt dans notre hôtel, vous pourrez ainsi juger par vous même des améliorations que nous y avons apporté.

Cordialement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel with 3 other friends as we were going on a girlie holiday and wanted to share a room which only some hotels offered-this being one if them. The hotel is situated 3 mins walk from Goncourt metro station-very accessible to city centre which was great. Staff at holiday were very friendly and helpful. Room was not that big especially for 4 of us, it also did not have a bath which I was looking forward to and felt disappointed with. However beds were extremely comfortable and clean- sheets were also changed daily which I liked. Overall I would give this hotel 4/5 for its standard. Although it wasn't very luxurious it did the job of letting us sleep after a busy day in Paris.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ronith s, Responsable relations clients at The Element Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
thank you very much for your comment.
Hope to see you soon for your next girl holiday !

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Opera Vivaldi
Opera Vivaldi
#1,058 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Saint-Martin
Crowne Plaza Paris Republique
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Aida Marais
Hotel Aida Marais
#458 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Canal Saint-Martin
Republique Hotel
Republique Hotel
#810 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Element Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Element Hotel

Property: The Element Hotel
Address: 3 rue d'Aix, 75010 Paris, France (Formerly Hotel Moderne du Temple)
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Canal Saint-Martin , Entrepôt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,554 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Element Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Element Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing