We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Contemporary and cheap”
Review of The Element Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Element Hotel
Ranked #1,558 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Contemporary and cheap”
Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my boyfriend after finding a good deal on booking.com. When I arrived I was pleasantly surprised. The room had everything I needed and was clean except for the shower curtain which was a little mouldy.

The space in front of the toilet was so small that I couldn't close the door to use the toilet in privacy. This is the 3rd hotel I have been in where there is no privacy for the toilet user!!! It must be the new thing lol.

On our second day we decided to stay an extra day. When we asked the receptionist for an extension we were told that it would cost nearly the same amount that we had paid for 2 nights and we would have to move into a single room!!!! Obviously we said no thanks. I went back onto booking.com and booked another double room 60€ cheaper than what they quoted.

When we moved into our new room, the bed was in an odd position and did not fit in the room very well. The bathroom had no door at all this time and the shower needed a good scrub.

The area was quite noisy when the window was open. The street below was absolutely covered in dog crap. There was a police presence on one day with the road blocked off and the second day there was a fight. Lively area.

The receptionists changed regularly and were not quite with it.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kaelou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ronith s, Responsable relations clients at The Element Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to know when did you stay in our hotel.
Can you please contact us by mail to johana@idealhotel.fr.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    85
    77
    41
    43
See reviews for
41
132
20
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Spent 2 nights here. It was a perfect place to go for a rest after a day of sightseeing. The walls are paper thin, but luckily we and our neighbours (it seemed) just went there to sleep and shower, essentially.
The hotel is outside the city centre, but in a lively area. Cafés, bistro, supermarkets, bakeries and the like were all walking distance. We never felt unsafe in the area at any time of the day. The metro was a few stops (5-20 minutes) from the main tourist areas and the centre. You're never much more than 30 minutes away from anywhere in paris, due to the metro system though. I can't rate the metro highly enough, btw.
The hotel is great value. Good location. Nice staff. Simple and sufficient.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ronith s, Responsable relations clients at The Element Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments !

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Nice little hotel. Looks clean and fresh inside. Close to subway, walking distance to the center. Negative points- slooooow wifi, a little bit noisy (not bad, just noticeable sometimes) and a little bit too little space in the bathroom.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ytoze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ronith s, Responsable relations clients at The Element Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Google Translation
Cher client,

Nous sommes heureux que vous ayez passé un bon séjour et prenons note de votre commentaire concernant le wifi. Nous mettrons tout en oeuvre pour améliorer ce service.

Cordialement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

we stayed there for a week from Dec 9 - 16. location of the hotel is great. bus in front #75 takes you through the shopping on Rue du Rivoli and to the Louvre and comes every 10 mins or so. Metro station is a short under 1 min walk "Goncourt" is the name of it.
Room is small, but that's just the way it is in Europe. we had 4 girls in the room with 2 double beds, so two girls to a bed, and we paid about $140 a night between the four of us. it's clean, it's cozy, it's boutiquey so no complaints. If you have lots of luggage, you may have to make several trips because the lift is the smallest i've ever seen, but again, it's probably a european thing.
Major intersection has a lots of nice local restaurants, can't really go wrong with any of them. I'd recommend this place and go back to it again if I come back to Paris.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tmldp3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ronith s, Responsable relations clients at The Element Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear guest ,

Yes in Paris most of the lift are tiny ! sorry ...
We are pleased to see that you spend a got time in Paris and in our hotel !

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We have just spent 3 nights here and have had a very pleasant stay. the staff were all very friendly and helpful. Our room was very clean and had a large double bed. We were in room 62 (top floor), it didn't have a shower as such but an attachment over the bath. this didn't bother us too much as the bath was a roll top free standing one and was very welcome after a day around the city. there was plenty of hot water for the bath unlike some hotels i have been in. The top floor rooms are like attic rooms so the ceiling is sloped over half of it , which was a little strange but we soon got used to it. there was also A/C in the room and a wall mounted fan heater that we didn't need to use even when it got below zero outside on a couple of nights.

the hotel is very close to the metro so getting in to the city only takes 5-10 mins max which we did not find to be a problem. there are lots of places to eat and drink nearby that are very reasonable and a lot cheaper than the city centre. One i can recommend is called 'cafe bon bierre' (opposite mcdonalds.

The only negative for me is the walls seemed very thin on our floor so you did tend to here things in other rooms. I nearly always sleep with ear plus in when in hotels so it wasn't too much of a problem but it is something to bare in mind if you are a light sleeper. the only other thing is the sink in our room was very small and was there more to say it has one rather than use.

Over all a very pleasant stay and a place that i will quite happily go back to when next visiting paris.

Room Tip: Room 62 has a freestanding bath which is nice after a day in paris
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stef2505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ronith s, Responsable relations clients at The Element Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear guest,

We are please that you spend a great stay in our hotel.
We all hope to welcome you soon in our hotel.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

This hotel was very reasonably priced and I would definitely stay again. The rooms were minimal but comfortable, however the bathroom - in particularly the shower - was superb! Right near Goncourt metro which will take you straight into the centre of Paris. All the staff were friendly and amenable, although they did allow us to have a room key without checking the name on the room booking, which was slightly worrying.
The surrounding area is full of shops and places to eat, and if you venture a 10-min walk towards Belleville there are some excellent bars and restaurants at fair prices - much cheaper than the city centre. Went with a friend on a girly weekend and had a great stay.

Room Tip: The first floor (rooms 1, 2 and possibly 3) seemed noisy, so I would ask for a higher room. We were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ronith s, Responsable relations clients at The Element Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comment.
we all hope to welcome you again in our hotel very soon.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Opera Vivaldi
Opera Vivaldi
#1,002 of 1,802 in Paris
82 reviews
Canal Saint-Martin
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#866 of 1,802 in Paris
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Saint-Martin
Crowne Plaza Paris Republique
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel de l'Exposition - Republique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Element Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Element Hotel

Property: The Element Hotel
Address: 3 rue d'Aix, 75010 Paris, France (Formerly Hotel Moderne du Temple)
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Canal Saint-Martin , Entrepôt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,558 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Element Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Element Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing