We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent pain au chocolat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Petit Lux

Le Petit Lux
Ranked #2,156 of 16,719 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$22
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighbourhood: Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Michigan
Level Contributor
202 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Excellent pain au chocolat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

When this place was open in the early morning, it was my top choice for pain au chocolat and cafe creme. Both were very very good and reasonably priced. Plus it was right next door to the apartment we rented. Highly recommend and can't wait to go back! J'adore!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank dranke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    22
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
227 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great food esp desserts ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

We went here for lunch based on the TA reviews. Cosy space. Lovely food. I had chicken tagine. Partner had beef which was rare and a bit chewy but tasty. Desserts were the highlight: rum baba and lemon soufflé (cold). Both terrific. Recommended if you're in the area.

Helpful?
1 Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A dependable neighborhood place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

We have been getting sandwiches and salads to go from Le Petit Lux for several years, but today we waited for a table, (a short wait, right at the height of lunch hour) and ordered the veal chop and special "Lux Burger" for a nice lunch. The highlight was dessert, of course.
Compared to other small restaurants at this end of the Luxembourg Garden, this one is tops!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank rca010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
141 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Consistently great local bakery/resto/bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

I have been at least three times on two trips to this small cafe a few blocks from the Jardin Luxembourg. They sell very fresh baked goods and sandwiches on one side of their small store and have a small bar (6 stools) on the other side where you can sit and eat what you pick up in the bakery part, as well as about 6 tables where you can order a meal from the menu on blackboards. In spite of the proximity to a major tourist attraction, most of the many clients (there is usually a wait on both sides) are locals. This time we arrived for an early lunch before the restaurant was open and brought food from the bakery and ate at the bar. We had a generous cooked salmon sandwich (very good salmon on a wonderful baguette) and a salad of greens, avocado, tomato, and small shrimp. Friendly service both in the bakery and at the bar (where we were offered water and had second coffees). Total cost about 15 Euro for two. Previously, I ordered from the restaurant menu and had an excellent appetizer and fish dish with a decent house wine for about the same (per person). The food is really prepared with quality ingredients and care. Service is quite efficient and friendly, but they don't speak much English. Overall, outstanding quality/price, and really pretty good when compared to much more serious restaurants.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank wilson17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, DE
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place to pick up a picnic lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

We had a nice quiet dinner at the Lux. Service was a bit in attentive but, in Paris, that's OK. Food was of the French comfort variety. The real draw is the take-out next door where you can pick up great sandwiches and desserts for a picnic lunch at Jardin du Luxembourg.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BWine_DE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Petit Lux also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Le Petit Lux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing