We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very average, but close”
Review of Bistrot Amelot

Bistrot Amelot
Ranked #12,509 of 16,978 Restaurants in Paris
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Seating
Neighbourhood: Bastille / Oberkampf
NY, NY
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very average, but close”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

A mix of tourists and locals. You can do a lot better by walking several blocks closer to the Marais and by doing some research. If you can't walk any farther from the hotel (Les Jardins...) the try this. You won't be wowed.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank DiGama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    8
    3
    1
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Awful”
Reviewed 20 December 2013

For convenience as I was staying in the hotel next door I choose this restaurant for dinner. The main meal was OK and the starter of pate delicious. I made the cardinal sin, having finished work late the next day I returned only to have what is without doubt the worst beef steak ever in my life. Having spent the past 30 years traveling the world in places that tourists do not go to that is a very telling statement..

I ordered an entrecote steak cooked medium, this came with a salad garnish and sliced fried potatoes. I had 2 bites of the steak and spat them both out. The first was grissle and the second grissle and bone. Seriously it was rank! Overcooked and I cannot guess what cut or age.

Nobody asked as to why I was not eating I called the waitress and asked her to remove my plate, told her my complaint and then asked for the bill. Quelle surprise the bill arrived complete with the charge for the steak. Finally she bought me a bill with the steak removed but a charge for the salad garnish I had eaten and some potatoes! The manager who by the way should have been in Faulty Towers totally ignored me and did not offer any words.

Would seriously recommend that you walk past this restaurant as it is overcharged and very ordinary.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank paul w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great restaurant with great price/Otimo restaurante com otimos precos”
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Wonderful service, we ate there a few times and the staff was always generous, helpful and pleasant. The food was great and so the music selection/attraction.

Otimo servico, comemos la algumas vezes, nao pela conveniecia de ser ao lado do hotel, mas por ter um otimo atendimento, boa comida e boa musica. Nos sentimos super ben-vindos.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank tatidaltro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“our lovely stop every morning”
Reviewed 10 September 2012

great baguette and coffee, nice service :) every morning or evening we stopped by here for a nice coffee or snack.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank nejla8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good service, very good food resonable prices”
Reviewed 19 July 2012 via mobile

We were there twice; The waitress was very kind. The place looks good and a little bit too fancy for such bistrot.
Dishes:
Hamburger + potatoes: great success.
Code fish + antipasti: great success.
Code fish + mashed potatoes: very good.
Steak + f. fries: average.
Caprese: good.
Burle: good.
Tart taten: good.

Helpful?
Thank colombus1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travellers who viewed Bistrot Amelot also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Bistrot Amelot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing