We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, good budget hotel”
Review of 121 Hotel Paris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
121 Hotel Paris
Ranked #1,566 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
north devon
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Clean, good budget hotel”
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We checked into hotel 121 with an open mind, We found it to be perfect for our needs, room was small and very clean as was the bathroom with a nice shower. Breakfast was basic and adequate, public areas were keep clean and well presented. The staff were very friendly and helpful. For the price we paid we have no complaints at all. Would have liked a kettle in the room though. Very close to Brochant Metro which is handy.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NorthDevonHenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    39
    39
    13
    23
See reviews for
35
52
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2012

I went in October 2012. Unfortunately for me it was Paris Fashion week or something like that so lots of the hotels were all booked up according to my travel agent. So I went for this one. Paying £80 a night for 6 nights is definetly not worth it!

I am a French native and felt very insulted that when greeted by the receptionist, she spoke to me in English, especially when I would respond in my first tongue: FRENCH! So already I am being judged and I havent even stepped into my room yet!

When I gave her my details, she told me that she had no records of me having a reservation there. I was very fustrated and quite flustered after carrying my suitcases up that long road! After 10 mins of her going back and forth, she realised that she was supposed to be checking me in for the hotel next door; 121 and not the Majestic. However, my room "wasn't ready" so I had to wait in the lobby for what she said might be 2 hours! The moment I sat down she said my room was ready, as if to annoy me off. She had no phonecall or maid that told her it was so I am assuming she was messing with me.

So I enter the 121 hotel next door to find the lift out of service. There was no sign that it was out of service... the doors just never opened. And just my luck, my room was on the very top floor. I made 2 trips up and down to bring my suitcases up. When i opened my room, I saw to my surprise that the door opposite that joins my room to another room was wide open with a couple doing "bed business". Welcome to Paris! Why they never closed the door is beyond me but I had to get my sheets changed just incase they had done it on my bed too.

So once I sit down disgruntled on the very low bed, I notice on the wall that wallpaper has been shredded! Honestly what kind of hotel was this!? The only thing goood about the hotel was the bathroom. Clean Towels changed everyday and was spotless.

Other then that, the room in my opinion was quite filthy. A ridiculous amount of dust underneath the bed and inside the cupboards. NO working internet, which I needed so I had to pay for the use of a public wifi connection. All the plugs are also in a ridiculous place so unless you dont intend on watching TV or have a very long extension lead, you will either be standing by the door or the edge of your bed for your phone lead to reach you.

And then there was the fridge in the room... I think I pretty much know what the smell of a decomposed cow smells like.

I am stopping the review here because the thought of thinking how much I have been ripped off by is getting me very angry. And I have only described the first hour of me being there!

Please, to everyone looking at this hotel. Do not do this to yourself! I guess its ironic that the tube station is 30 secs away if you wanted to make a quick getaway!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clayé G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vigo
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

I stayed in this Hotel on a business trip to Paris, last August. One night, late check-out and early check-in.

I chose this Hotel because it was very cheap (compared to available nearby hotels) and very well located for my meeting. Based on previous reviews, my expectations were already low.

I checked-in on the Hotel next door, since reception is closed during the night. Check-in (and check-out) was remarkably fast and efficient.

The room was unexpectedly large (for a budget Hotel in Paris) and reasonably clean (floor, bathroom, linen...). The furniture was old but acceptable, except for one of the two mattresses, which was in very bad shape). Walls look run-down, due to their age and usage (a few stains in the wall paper). The same applies to the bathroom gear and window curtains.

Wireless internet was not working (not even at the adjacent Hotel where I checked-in). Some noise from the street (acceptable, though) but no noise from other rooms. Only a handful of non-french TV channels.

I did not try the Hotel breakfast, but there is a nice "boulangerie" just in front which I strongly recommend.

The Brochant Metro Station is only a few meters away, which is very convenient.

For me the Hotel worked fine, since I only needed a cheap place to sleep for a few hours. On the positive side I had convenient location, reasonable cleanliness and efficient check-in/out. On the bad side there are several signs of bad maintenance (wallpaper, some bathroom equipment, 1 of the mattresses, non working internet), some noise from the street and a mild "low cost/run down" ambiance that is bearable but might affect your stay (your mileage may vary, though).

In order to provide a comparison point, I would say this Hotel is some notches bellow IBIS, concerning service, maintenance and looks. Room size was average to good, for a Paris Hotel. Maintenance was lacking. Price and location were good.

I rated the Hotel as "average" based on location the low price I payed, but this is more a 2-star Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john2008a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danbury, CT
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We stayed as part of a tour group and had a fair experience. As an adult, I would rate it okay... Room was clean and fresh linens every day. Shower was "interesting" to try and get it to work properly.. After 4 days, we had it mastered!!! HOWEVER, in order to get any internet we had to go to the hotel next door ( they share desk and hotel workers) and it was very spotty and slow. Only got it in evening so you could never talk to US in the AM..Only was able to get through once during the week!!! You have to stand on your head to make it work!!!! Staff was nice and the continental breakfast was decent... Great access to Metro so that helped. the restaurant next door was good for pizza but nothing else.. Try the cafes on the next street---they were amazing...

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CTmomDanbury_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

I am used to reading reviews before booking, but the reviews I read, were not so encouraging. Anyway, I took the risk cuz most of the hotels I found were more expensive & this one wasn't too far from the city center. But honestly, I didn't like it at all & would never recommend it to anyone. The rooms are so small, & bed sheets & towels not very clean, breakfast was ok. The area around this hotel was a little scary at night. The best two things in my opinion was the bakery infrom og the hotel & the the underground station was two minutes walk.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

This was a 1 night booking for 4 friends and myself , all done through my regular travel agent.
We arrived at reception to be told they had no booking for our party . We pushed the issue and they found a booking for 1 room and told me my friends must allready be booked in . I explained my friends were with me and was met with a blank look .
After being quite insistant we were given a room in the hotel next door .
Next the receptionist told us we had to pay again as they only took card details as security.I explained that we had allready paid the travel agent and he did not have my card details and there was no way we were parting with more cash , he just gave in and gave us keys .

on the upside the rooms were clean and tidy and this is good value and near to everything.
So unless like me you are traveling in a group of 5 large men be very carefull of this hotel.

Room Tip: book elswhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rosslechef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

First the pros:

1.- Well located, it is 3 min walk from the subway. The subway line 13 takes you straight to Champs Elysees.
2.- The reception and overall building is clean
3.- The breakfast though basic, it is enough and good.
4.- The staff is nice and friendly
5.- There are several restaurant around (cheap) and a super market 4 minutes walk in the opposite direction of the subway station.
Cons:

1.- There is no one on the reception, you have to go to the hotel nExt door to get your key and check in or out.
2.- The room though clean was tinny, for three persons it was really really small.
3.- There is no internet in the hotel so if you want to connect to the closest wifi that would mean for you to go to the hotel next door to get a pretty bad free connection.

I would recommend this place for its location, not for the facilities...

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhs909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Batignolles-Monceau
Abrial Hotel
Abrial Hotel
#1,163 of 1,800 in Paris
369 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Meridional Hotel
Meridional Hotel
#957 of 1,800 in Paris
252 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel Europe
Hotel Europe
#1,365 of 1,800 in Paris
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel le Mireille
Hotel le Mireille
#462 of 1,800 in Paris
125 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Timhotel Paris XVII Bd Berthier
Hotel Median Paris Congres
#1,292 of 1,800 in Paris
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 121 Hotel Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 121 Hotel Paris

Property: 121 Hotel Paris
Address: 121 avenue de Clichy, 75017 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Batignolles-Monceau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,566 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — 121 Hotel Paris 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your 121 Hotel Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing