We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Candidate for Restaurant Impossible”

Les Jardins de Saint-Germain
Ranked #11,697 of 17,420 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Scarsdale
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Candidate for Restaurant Impossible”
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Clearly one of the worst restaurants in St Germain area failing on all counts. Poor food, old fashioned decor, deafening silence. Pitiful appetizers, cafeteria grade main courses of traditional bistro dishes, high prices. Time to leave restaurant business and let the great location be rented to more talented owners.

Helpful?
Thank rdradr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    16
    9
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
oxford
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Five of us went last night for dinner. There were about 28 people in the restaurant. One waitress. We waited over an hour for our starters. We waited a further 3/4 hour for main courses. Steaks of varying degrees in quality arrived. One was sent back. Another should have been but given the fact that the plates arrived so slowly and not altogether one simply gave up the will to comment on the food and incur further delays. We were then charged more than advertised prices written on boards. I feel sorry for the waitress who was trying hard but simply unable to cope on her own. Overall a really disappointing evening. Having seen the restaurant in Friday buzzing with staff and customers we thought it would be good. Do not go on a Sunday.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OxfordShopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
la jolla
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Pleasant bistro”
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We found this to be a very pleasant experience. The location is on a very quiet street in the 6th arr. It is just off the Boulevard St. Germain and away from all the traffic and noise. The prefix menu gave us multiple options. The selections were varied enough that each of us could decide on either a meat or seafood plate for our principle. The service was very satisfactory and the decor simple and tasteful. The wine list was small but ok.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank xraymanLaJolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Honest food & Surprise find off a busy main boulevard”
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We were looking for a dinner place and saw that this restaurant had a dinner offer for 2 courses for 20 euros, so we popped in and gave it a shot. There is ample space in the restaurant and a comprehensive food selection. My boyfriend and I settled for salads, a beef bourguignon and salmon as mains. We recommend our mains very much! I was really surprised with the value for money for the food. The restaurant was pretty empty when we came in, but we were happy that more patrons came later as we felt that they deserved more customers with their food and attentive service. We would go back again on our next trip to Paris.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bubblyandbright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food, poor non english speaking service”
Reviewed 13 September 2012

On holidays, shopping, we felt hungry while walking by this place at lunchtime. It had a warm welcoming air and a two course lunch special for 15 Euro, so we thought "Hey, lets give it a shot!" The french onion soup was a classic, filling dish, as was the duck leg main course, served with a simple fresh salad. Where it fell down is the way all the tables and chairs are jammed together so close that you are virtually sitting with a couple next to you on each side, and it is actually quite difficult to get in and out of your seat. The other problem was the service. Our waiter simply could not understand English, which was very frustrating for us, and made it quite difficult to even order. I just don't understand why a restaurant in the middle of a busy shopping area in one of the worlds most cosmopolitan cities full of tourists and business visitors, decides to employ someone who can't speak or understand English properly. If they lost 20% of the seats and employed waiters who could speak and understand the language this would radically improve the place! So, I suggest you give it a miss at present.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank B H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Les Jardins de Saint-Germain also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Les Jardins de Saint-Germain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing