We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprising... Stunning”

Musee de Cluny - Musee National du Moyen Age
Book In Advance
More Info
US$131.02*
and up
Private Tour: Notre Dame Cathedral, the Sainte Chapelle and the Conciergerie
Ranked #40 of 1,108 things to do in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum, located in a spacious former hotel, houses a collection of medieval art, including jewelry, tapestries and sculptures.
wantage
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Surprising... Stunning”
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

This beautiful building houses a lovely museum with a range of exhibits from Roman to medieval. The frigidarium is a vaulted and extraordinary part of the Roman bath. The tapestries are gorgeous, and the Lady with the Unicorn series is here. If you don't fancy the museum, don't miss the medieval garden outside ...free access, great space to take a few minutes to rest!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank sandraWantage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,423 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,484
    731
    164
    38
    6
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Roman Ruins with Jewels of Medieval Europe”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We decided to visit this museum mainly to see the best preserved roman ruins in Paris, but boy we were surprised by what the collection had to behold. Beautifully preserved stain glass windows, marble statues, jewellery, pottery and an insight into daily life during the middle ages. But of course, the highlight of the museum are the tapestries. The Lady and the Unicorn as featured in Sir Kenneth Clark's Civilisation was the crown in the jewel. The medieval house the museum is mainly concentrated in and the vast Roman baths make for a stunning location. Friendly staff and a great gift shop make for one of the top lesser-known attractions to visit in Paris. Will make sure to fit this museum into our itinerary again on our next trip to Paris.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston Metro
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful collection of Medieval items and Roman baths”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Jewelry, pottery, tapestries--including the famous tapestry talked about in Dan Brown's first book about the Holy Grail.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank SantaSusanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio
Level Contributor
168 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Worth a stop”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

After starting our day with Modern Art, our 10 year-old said, "OK, let's go see some old stuff now." After a quick lunch time perusal of the tourbooks, we decided on this museum as it was on the way back to our apartment.

It closed a little earlier than some of the other museums which was a bit disappointing but we did the best we could.

We all enjoyed the "Lady and the Unicorn" tapestries. It was fun to get our son involved, asking him to compare them and find similarities and differences. They're amazing works of art and well worth seeing.

We also enjoyed the various other exhibits- the heads from Notre Dame, the stained glass displays, and the building itself is very interesting.

If we get back to Paris, I definitely want to spend more time exploring this museum.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jloreine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schwedelbach, Germany
Level Contributor
113 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Always one of my favorite museums.”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This museum has a nice collection of artifacts from the Middle Ages. I'm no expert in any of these, but the museum is set up nicely and is easy to get around. Most explanations are in French, but there are boards in each room with English explanations. Once can also get audio guides as well. My favorite exhibits are the beheaded Kings of Judah (thanks, French Revolution!) that had been part of the Notre Dame cathedral, a room with stained glass windows in it, and the Lady and the Unicorn tapestries, for which the museum is perhaps best known. I went with a friend this time, but my teenaged daughter also enjoys this museum.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank fridaysga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Musee de Cluny - Musee National du Moyen Age also viewed

 

Been to Musee de Cluny - Musee National du Moyen Age? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing