We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hidden treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Musee Marmottan

Musee Marmottan
Book In Advance
More Info
US$267.38*
and up
Paris Day Trip to Impressionists Island with Cooking Class and Musée Marmottan...
Ranked #24 of 1,098 things to do in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in a 19th-century mansion, this museum's fabulous collection of Impressionist paintings ranks second only behind the Musée d'Orsay.
Ahoskie, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A hidden treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Not visited by the hordes because it's not a national museum, Musee Marmottan features the works of Monet, left to his last direct heir and other impressionist works. It is well worth the 10 euro entrance fee. Situated near a large park within walking distance to the L'Arc de Triomphe this museum gives you the space and time to learn and reflect upon the art it displays. This was one of our favorites of Paris.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,912 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,024
    694
    134
    31
    29
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“An oasis of calm in a bustling museum filled city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

I've visited here during the week and on a Saturday, both times in the afternoon. There were no queues through the week and only a short queue of about six people on the Saturday. The museum feels calm and peaceful and the impressionist art is beautiful! I personally loved the Berthe Marisot collection, but of course, Monet's work was extremely impressive too. There is so much to see here, including the actual building itself. Definitely worth a visit. I paid for the audio tour and would recommend spending the additional 5€. As a side note, if it's a nice day when you visit, nip into a boulangerie, grab a pastry and sit in the park nearby. It's so idyllic.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ShariOverseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Virginia, Virginia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Really all about Monet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

This museum has more Monets than any other. This collection was left to the museum by his son. If you like Monet, this is the place for you.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank msdillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleyville, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Must See If You Love Monet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

I visited for the first time on July 5- the day before the special Impressionism exhibit ended. Needless to say, the museum was very crowded and quite stuffy. However, I'm still glad that I made the trip. Wonderful Art!! The massive Monet paintings in the basement are alone worth a visit. I'd like to return when the museum is not crowded to have a more leisurely visit. There is pleasant park right outside the door- it would make a great place for a picnic lunch or people watching. Also, the tickets can be purchased ahead of time online. That was a good choice for me because of the special exhibit, but based on others' reviews it may not be necessary.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
80 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A Monet Must”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

This had to be one of my favorite museums in the whole world. I love Monet and had just visited Giverny home of Monet and his famous water lilies so seeing so much of his work was incredible. There was no wait and it was not crowded. More people should visit this collection

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jhawktravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Musee Marmottan also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Musee Marmottan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing