We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best view of Paris”
Review of Arc de Triomphe

Arc de Triomphe
Book In Advance
More Info
US$58.58*
and up
Skip the Line Arc De Triomphe Summit Access and Champs Elysees Highlights
More Info
US$237.89*
and up
Paris Small-Group Tour: Seine River Cruise, Picnic, and Arc de Triumph
More Info
US$14.35*
and up
Skip the Line: Arc de Triomphe Including Terrace Access
Ranked #12 of 1,169 things to do in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Arc de triomphe was begun in 1806, on the orders of Napoleon I to honour the victories of his Grande Armée. Inspired by the great arches of antiquity, the monument combines the commemorative with the symbolic and it has always played a major role in the national republican consciousness. Every evening, the flame is lit on the tomb of the Unknown Soldier from the Great War. An exhibition portrays the history and explains its symbolic importance, nationally as well as internationally. The terrace provides superb views both by day and night across the city and its great sweeping avenues.-Opening hours : April to September: from 10 a.m. to 11 p.m.; October to March: from 10 a.m. to 10.30 p.m.-Closed: 1st January, 1st May, 8th May (morning), 14th July (morning), 11th November (morning), 25th December-Entry fees: Adults = 9,5 €; Concessions = 6 €; Free admission: 18-25 years old* (citizens of one of the 27 countries of the EU or are non-European permanent residents of France) * excluding school groups
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“the best view of Paris”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

what's a better view of Paris than having the Eiffel Tower in it? Beats climbing the 200plus steps to reach the top. Buy the museum pass for express extry. Totally worth it!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank AnnaDXB_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33,382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19,809
    10,593
    2,645
    249
    86
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Linking Cities to a Similar Past”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

This Arc De Triomphe has been found in many areas internationally to mark the victories of Napoleon I Grande Armee. This particular one is located and viewable from the Musee du Louvre. If you are in the area definitely take a moment to enjoy it. As I have gone from country to country, I found it quite interesting to see them all in so many different cities linking them to a similar past.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chelsea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alma, Arkansas
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A religious experience”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

The last time I was here was on the final day of the Tour de France, when I, along with thousands of others, crowded round to watch the peloton on their last stage of the Tour. Nothing had prepared me for the beauty of those riders in multi-colored jerseys and the roar of the crowd. I felt like it was almost a religious experience, it surprised me by bringing tears to my eyes. What a sight that was, watching them make the turn in front of the Arc de Triomphe and almost fly by. Gives me goosebumps thinking about it again. Just one more beautiful place in a city full of them.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank cclark922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic fun”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Super views down the Champs Elysses and some views that are even better than those from the Eiffel Tower. Payoff indeed for those awful stairs - I think someone said 236 of them. Could quite happily have spent hours there. Carvings are pretty special and try and time your visit to take in one of the military ceremonies to get more of an idea of the place's history and relevance.
And watching the traffic below is reason enough on its own to come here - they're all mad.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank kaceykcjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“climbing to the top.”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

When in Paris one of the highlights was climbing to the top of the Arc de Triomphe,but for the unfit or faint hearted I learned later that there was also a lift.The view from the top was worth the climb.I also found a machine near the top to "mint" a souveneer gold coin which I thought was a great keepsake.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank jennifer h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Arc de Triomphe also viewed

 

Been to Arc de Triomphe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing