We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chic and Calm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Pavillon des Lettres
Ranked #137 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Tonbridge, UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Chic and Calm”
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Perfect central location, a short walk from the Champs Élysées, r St Honore etc, but still quiet. Rooms are small but beautifully appointed with modern bathrooms. Would definitely stay here again if I got the same rate.

Staff discrete and not as snooty as I have found in some Parisienne hotels.

Good breakfast in small restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank beetleboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    80
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
45
139
13
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

We booked this hoping to have a little treat away from the kids for the Tour de France finale weekend in July 2012. It was no where near as pricey as some of the other hotels we looked at in the same area of Paris but we were really impressed with it.
The rooms are very stylish and plush, it was just very calming coming here for a weekend- and entering the room I instantly felt relaxed and hidden from the bustling city surrounds.
Actually upon arriving in Paris we didnt have a map but found this place relatively easily from the closest metro station (Madeleine).
I wanted to check out some of the gourmet food stores in Paris and there were a bundle within an easy walk of the hotel. The Champs d'Elysees is walking distance- in fact almost everything we were looking for was!
The bathroom/ and shower was small (but not unpleasantly so) and all the fittings were new and modern. Great water pressure and perfect towels. Bedding was very comfortable and the room had adjustable aircon/heating so no problems with that either.
We were even offered free use of an iPad for our stay with free wifi- which was great for looking up restaurants etc in the area.
We ate breakfast in the hotel- served in the reastaurant downstairs. This was also lovely and good coffee and lovely conserves/ jams in cute little jars on the table... I noticed these little things.
Overall a lovely place to stay and if I ever went back to Paris would not hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PiaMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We stayed at the Pavillon des Lettres for four nights, and savored every moment of it. This is the definition of small luxury hotel, as the rooms are truly unique and the decor modern and luxurious. Being an avid reader, I really appreciated the tiny details of this "literary" hotel, from the rooms each named after a famous writer or poet to the book left in each room written by the author that room is named after.

That aside, we stayed in one of the deluxe rooms (Les Belles Lettres, I believe they were called) and the bathroom was split into two—one toilet, one shower, one on each side of the room. The facilities were spotless; gleaming white. The bed was comfortable and the room spacious enough. Really loved the chocolates that housekeeping laid down every night, as long as the weather cards they left alongside the chocolates.

The location is quite ideal, as it's located practically right off from Rue Saint-Honore and is a short, short walk from Ladurée (very important!) and the Champs-Élysées. The major department stores like Galeries Lafayette and Printemps were only a short distance away as well. Despite this, the hotel is located in a very quiet and safe street, only a few steps away from the U.S. Embassy (as well as some other national embassies), so lots of guards and police around for your protection and whatnot.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank londoninlights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelalot75
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a weekend break and had a really great experience. The staff were really welcoming and like others we initially thought our room was on the small size but it was perfectly designed so that it didn't feel small at all. The room was impecibly clean, the bed was incredibly comfortable and we slept really well. The air con in the room was really appreciated as the weather outside was in the 30's and thankfully is was really quiet and so didn't disturb our sleep.

We have stayed in Paris several times over the years and thought that the location here was perfect as it is so close to walk to the Champs Élysées, the gardens near the Louvre etc yet it is a really peaceful area away from the hustle and bustle of the tourists. The peacefulness made us feel safe and relaxed yet there was still an atmosphere of being in Paris.

I have to agree with other guests that the breakfast was a little disappointing and simple. We would have appreciated some healthier cereals and more fruit but it was perfectly adequate. We did pop to the pub Bugsys over the road for dinner but it was very loud and so didn't stay.

So all in all when we next visit Paris we may well be returning to this wonderful hotel as we thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

Room Tip: We had the superior room which I think is the most basic and was perfectly fine. It is a quiet area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelalot75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

We stayed in Le Pavillon Des Lettres for two nights and was made welcome the very first moment we checked-in. Room is small but we expected this as this is Paris. However, the size was not a problem. It was comfortable and cosy!

Location is perfect. Walking distance to everything and most importantly, the area is safe with Police around 24/7 for the President (think free security for the hotel as well).

Breakfast was pretty good as well. Free wifi was fast!

Reception was helpful in printing our boarding passes. They also stock Louvre entrance tickets. No bell/porter service.

Will definitely stay again.

Lastly, a big tip for travellers - beware of pickpocketers or scammers around Paris tourist sites.. we were targeted by a couple and we knew immediately they were following us. Just keep walking and walk towards areas with more tourists or find a shop to walk into.

Room Tip: There's a small tuck shop just around the corner for you to grab large bottles of Evian or drink...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iashi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
105 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights and had a wonderful experience. Location is secure since its next to the minister of interior..close by to avenue champs elyssee and shopping area rue st honore. Breakfast was simple but pleasant. Quiet at night which is good for resting. Try Bugsy for lunch, across the street.

Helpful?
2 Thank BubbleTruffleSG
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012 via mobile

prices too but high, but very comfort and luxury hotel, very helpful personnel and willing to help at any moment... rooms cleaned everytime we left the hotel... only problem - we did not get ordered breakfast but solved in a moment..

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lordsvarog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Champs-Elysees
Hotel du Ministere
Hotel du Ministere
#256 of 1,802 in Paris
434 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Buddha-Bar Hotel Paris
Buddha-Bar Hotel Paris
#115 of 1,802 in Paris
662 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Touraine Opera
Hotel Touraine Opera
#677 of 1,802 in Paris
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Caumartin Opera - Astotel
Champs-Elysees
Elysees Mermoz Hotel
Elysees Mermoz Hotel
#199 of 1,802 in Paris
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Pavillon des Lettres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Pavillon des Lettres

Property: Le Pavillon des Lettres
Address: 12 rue des Saussaies, 75008 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Elysees
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Pavillon des Lettres 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Pavillon des Lettres... The 1st Paris literary hotel! In the image of the 26 letters of the alphabet, the rooms and suites of the Pavillon des Lettres reveal the beauty and poetry of the various authors. Behind each door hides the spirit of a poet, a writer, an impassioned virtuoso, a genius, which will give a special atmosphere to the room, with the help in particular of extracts chosen and printed on the walls. A few steps from the Champs-Elysees, the Pavillon des Lettres opens the doors of Paris fashion and trends to you. It is excellently located close to the Rue du Faubourg Saint-Honore, symbol of haute couture and refinement and composed of art galleries, embassies and luxury shops. At the heart of the prestigious neighbourhood of the Elysee Palace and Place Beauvau, the Sotheby's and Christies galleries, just a few steps from the Place de la Concorde and the Grand Palais, the Pavillon des Lettres breathes luxurious elegance and the muffled charm of the great houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Le Pavillon des Lettres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing