We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Understated Excellence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Lancaster Paris Champs-Elysees
Ranked #376 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 February 2014

First of all, let me explain that the Lancaster has not been our first choice hotel in Paris for some years. That was the small but beautiful Relais Saint-Germain on the Rive Gauche. However, the combination of wanting a change and the RSG's uncompromising stance to a very regular guest of not refunding a cancelled room (cancelled well in advance and then resold - it was full when I checked nearer the time) made us decide to return to the Lancaster, where we had not stayed for 17 years.

The facade of the Lancaster is being cleaned. This is a legal obligation every 15 years, but it presents absolutely no problem nor any noise. Inside, all is well with this beautiful, elegant mansion, an 'hôtel particulier' of the most discreet and welcoming charm. In fact, "all is well" is an understatement - last time, it was all beauty but fading glory, almost an inadvertent shabby chic style, but now, in 2014, it is glorious.

The staff. OK, the doormen are the finest, most attentive in Paris. Better than the Crillon, The Lutetia, The Bristol, The Plaza Athenee, The Ritz... or anywhere else I've stayed in Paris. The reception staff are uber-efficient, welcoming and charming. And this feeling extends to the bar staff, the housekeeping and everyone else with whom you have any contact. I simply couldn't mark them down.

We were very fortunate in getting an upgrade, which means a lot. The suite was extraordinarily good. No bling, just sheer good taste. It was very large, and for once the separate room was used, as it was so very lovely. Our daughter and her partner (who is French) joined us in the room for breakfast, and the room lent an air of a wonderful, intimate family togetherness.

Everything about the Lancaster is right, but nothing is in your face. It's all understated excellence - Chanel, not Versace - and utterly charming. If you want to be in that part of Paris, near the Champs Elysées, then look no further. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank r777rms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValentinoPiazzi, Directeur général at Hotel Lancaster Paris Champs-Elysees, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Dear Guest,


I am delighted to learn your positive feedback about your stay. I would like
to sincerely thank you for your very kind words regarding our services.

That you consider that “the staff is attentive and efficient“ and " it's all understated excellence” means a lot to us! I

Your comments have been shared with our team which will motivate them to
continue their efforts in providing our valuable customers with quality
products and services.


We all look forward to welcoming you back to the Lancaster in the near future .


Sincerely yours,



Valentino Piazzi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (702)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

336 - 342 of 702 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my husband for 1 night before heading off to the Meridian Star for a Conference. The outside of the hotel was seriously under construction but my husband who has stayed previously at the hotel said not to worry. It's a beautiful hotel. More like a big mansion that feels so charming to be in. The staff were friendly and relaxed, not actually the norm in my experience of Parisienne hotels - so I was delighted ! We had a garden side room, very quiet, Ate at the wonderful restaurant - really yum. We asked for the Special Chefs choice menu and our taste buds went into overdrive. We were happy with the service and staff. Would recommend this hotel to couples.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank RMAN2656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValentinoPiazzi, Directeur général at Hotel Lancaster Paris Champs-Elysees, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay in our hotel and for taking the time to post this great review!

We are all glad to read that you enjoyed the particular feel of your room as well as the kichen of our Chef Julien Roucheteau.

We put all our efforts in making each of our guests feel at home and not just “looked after”, so we are happy that you feel totally the sense of hospitality that makes our reputation and for which most of our guests choose to return.

We all hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Lancaster in the near future.

Yours sincerely.



Valentino Piazzi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Stayed at this hotel for one night for the 6 nations rugby france versus England. Upon arrival we found that the front facade of the hotel was covered in scaffolding. Not a great start. Upon entering the hotel we experienced the best front of house welcome ever. Our general enquiry of how to get to the Stade de France was met with a forensic analysis of the best route - private car versus RER versus Metro. They young men could not have been more helpful. If you are interested we took the RER.

As leader club members we received a complimentary room upgrade - our children enjoyed is very much! we had true interconnecting rooms 505 and 504. A fresh red rose is placed by the door of each room - nice touch. Both rooms were nicely decorated blending the old with the new. The bathrooms featured Clarins products which is always nice.

For some reason the Michelin starred restaurant is now closed on a saturday evening but we had no plans to use it anyway. We enjoyed a light meal in the nicely furnished bar. Our children 8 and 12 were made very welcome.

That evening we were reminded that as a leaders club member we were entitled to a late check out at 4pm. This was very handy as our flight back to the UK was at 7pm.

Breakfast the next morning was of a very high standard with lovely french produce. Items ranged from home smoked salmon, fresh fruits, cold meats, numerous types of bread, pastries, creme caramel, creme brûlée & quiche - a veritable feast.

Upon check out the the eye for detail was evident once again when we were given hand sanitizer for use at the airport.

All in all a real cracker of a hotel in a good location.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Mjbwestdown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValentinoPiazzi, Directeur général at Hotel Lancaster Paris Champs-Elysees, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Guest,

I am delighted to learn your positive feedback about your stay. I would like
to sincerely thank you for your very kind words regarding our services.

Your comments have been shared with our team which will motivate them to
continue their efforts in providing our valuable customers with quality
products and services.

We all look forward to welcoming you back for another rugby match in Paris.

Sincerely yours,




Valentino Piazzi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

This was our favorite hotel, we traveled through Belgium and France on our honeymoon. We stayed in a handful of hotels all with top ratings. This hotel was the best. The front desk was very helpful. The doormen were proactive and warm with their greetings. The room was beautiful, elegant, clean, secure. The team went over and beyond to ensure we were comfortable. They delivered us fresh macarons, a handwritten note and other little small treats to make our stay special. No other hotel had given us this special treatment. There are so many places to stay in Paris, why not stay where your patronage is appreciated and deserved at Hotel Lancaster .

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jhpmks125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValentinoPiazzi, Directeur général at Hotel Lancaster Paris Champs-Elysees, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Warm regards for Paris.

I am delighted to learn your positive feedback about your stay. I would like
to sincerely thank you for your very kind words regarding our services.

Your comments have been shared with our team which will motivate them to
continue their efforts in providing our valuable customers with quality
products and services.

We all look forward to welcoming you back for your anniversary or may be sooner.

Happy new Year,
Sincerely yours,




Valentino Piazzi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Another visit to the Lancaster and not disappointed. Very comfortable room ( always choose a room facing the court yard as Rue Berri is very noisy). Front Desk personnel very welcoming and efficient. Friendly barman as were the doormen.
Would always return here.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValentinoPiazzi, Directeur général at Hotel Lancaster Paris Champs-Elysees, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay again in our hotel and for taking the time to post this great review! Thank your for your fidelity.

We are all glad to read that you enjoyed the particular feel of our neighborhood as well as the size and decor of your room.

We put all our efforts in making each of our guests feel at home and not just “looked after”.
Therefore your kind words for the staff are apreciated and also the fact that you you feel totally the sense of hospitality that makes our reputation and for which most of our guests choose to return.

We all hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back.


Happy new year
Yours sincerely



Valentino Piazzi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Stayed for 2013 xmas and nye season.

Almost on the champs-élysées, but away from its noise.
Few steps away from George V metro station.


Cozy rooms, with reasonable size compared to Parisian hotels standards.
I loved the design of the keys :) traditional, a little change from the usual magnetic cards.

The staff are very welcoming & nice.
The restaurant offers delicious food, the area though is a bit small.


Nice for city break trip.
But not for those looking for luxurious break with time spent mostly in the hotel.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank PinkRosesN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValentinoPiazzi, Directeur général at Hotel Lancaster Paris Champs-Elysees, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear guest,


Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to post this great review.

We are all glad to read that you enjoyed the particular feel of our upscale neighborhood as well as the size and decor of your room.

We all hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Happy New Year
Yours sincerely



Valentino Piazzi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have just arrived this morning to the Hotel Lancaster for the first time. Normally devotees of the Hotel Crillon, we were forced to find alternative accommodation because the Crillon is being renovated. Well, "move over, Hotel Crillon," is all I can say. What the Hotel Lancaster lacks relative to the marble-ensconced splendor of the Crillon, it more than makes up for with beauty and refined grandeur everywhere you are, as well as a wonderfully attentive and friendly staff. This is a hotel of approximately 60 rooms in a former classic mansion of the Right Bank. From the minute we entered the lobby--glancing around at the lovely French impressionist artwork, lofty and ornate ceilings, marble fireplaces, parquet floors, gorgeous internal courtyard, and gracious salons --we felt we were onto something special. Even on the fifth floor where our sybaritic suite is, the ceilings are still high and rooms alight with floor to ceiling French windows. The suite, furnished in soft blue and grey velvets and beautiful French antiques, is very hard to leave! It has a lovely view over a large internal courtyard and a neighboring garden. One of us did get to the eighth floor gym and can faithfully report that it is small yet practical, also full of light, with a lovely view of the rooftops of Paris. It even has a sauna! The location of this hotel is 1/2 block off the Champs Elysses and of course much of the sights are in walking distance. Tomorrow we will try hard to spend more time outside of the Hotel, as Paris beckons! Room tip: go for a suite or premier class room on the internal courtyard.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ShesaTravelDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValentinoPiazzi, Directeur général at Hotel Lancaster Paris Champs-Elysees, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear Guest,


Thank you very much for choosing to stay in our hotel and for taking the time to post such a great review!

We are all glad to read that you enjoyed the particular feel of our neighborhood as well as the size and decor of your suite.

We put all our efforts in making each of our guests feel at home and not just “looked after”,
so we are pleased that you wrote about the sense of hospitality that makes our reputation and for which most of our guests choose to return.

We all hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.


Happy New Year,
Yours sincerely







Valentino Piazzi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Champs-Elysees
Paris Marriott Champs Elysees Hotel
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Raphael
Hotel Raphael
#371 of 1,804 in Paris
606 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Marignan Champs-Elysees
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Champs-Elysees
Renaissance Paris Arc de Triomphe Hotel
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Vernet
Hotel Vernet
#206 of 1,804 in Paris
373 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Fraser Suites Le Claridge Champs-Elysees
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lancaster Paris Champs-Elysees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lancaster Paris Champs-Elysees

Address: 7 rue de Berri | Champs-Elysees, 75008 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Elysees
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#125 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#211 Business Hotel in Paris
#245 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £220 - £515 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Lancaster Paris Champs-Elysees 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
57 Rooms & suites appointed with antique furniture surround a Zen-inspired patio that is a natural complement to the art that pervades the property and the cuisine at its Michelin-rated "La Table du Lancaster".The paintings at this century-old, boutique hotel located on the Champs Elysees are distinguishable from the acquired art lining many European hotels, as they were done by the hotel's artist-in-residence inthe 1930s, Russian painter Boris Pastoukhoff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Lancaster Paris Champs-Elysees reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing