We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good But Perhaps Not Great”
Review of Hotel Montalembert

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Montalembert
Ranked #70 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 December 2013

My wife and I had been used to staying at the Hotel Pont Royale, right next door to the Hotel Montalambert. Just before Christmas (December 15) we decided to try the Montalambert. The hotels are about the same price, and both bear 5 stars (although this is going with the French star system - neither would be what is normally considered by North Americans as "5 star").

The lobby area is very nice, as is the adjoining restaurant. The lobby area is bright, clean and tidy, and projects a nice atmosphere. The staff were warm and welcoming and always willing to help, throughout our stay. Full marks there.

There are two elevators, both looking to have been added to the existing building long ago - very small (my wife and our two small suitcases filled it up). Both are slow. Whether they are frustrating or charming will depend on you, and whether you are in a hurry. We were staying on the seventh floor (counting French style), so while we were happy to take the stairs down, I can't say I was in a hurry to take the stairs up. I have to say I found them charming.

The only issue was our room. We had reserved a deluxe room, which was said to be the largest of the non-suite rooms. And our room was very small. With our two suitcases (both of the 22 inch variety), there was little room to move in the room. The bathroom was equally tiny. I can only imagine how small the regular rooms must be. The room was very plainly decorated, with a closet, a small desk, and a small chair. Nothing much on the bare walls. While I am used to travelling in Europe, and thus fairly used to small rooms, I have to say I was disappointed with the size of the room. Having said that, my wife found it small but not uncomfortably so. Our window opened up on Rue du Bac, and if you looked left, the Eiffel Tower was clearly in view, adding a nice touch of charm to a stay in Paris.

The room and bathroom were clean, and the linens of good quality.

One complaint I have was that the bed had no sheet, but only a duvet. I tend to be warm at night, and my wife cold. She was comfortable under the duvet, but I found it far too hot, but it was either that or no cover at all. (Perhaps this is becoming a trend - we found the same thing in a London hotel a week later.) And like many older hotels, the air conditioning controls seemed more decorative than functional.

Having said that, I would say that given the wonderful (for us) location of the hotel, the staff, and the overall ambiance and general quality, we would stay here again, and would recommend the hotel to others, so long as the proviso of the small rooms was understood.

Having said that, the room

Room Tip: The rooms facing the street have great views, including of the Eiffel Tower. With the windows close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Henryws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (692)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

320 - 326 of 692 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2013

I stayed at the Montalembert now for at least the 8th time and it was perfect as always. Great location of course for museums and shopping, very very friendly staff as usual, I love it here and I will definitely come back next year!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 21Corinne21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

My first trip to Paris and I am so grateful that I stayed here. The location is central to everything. The amenities were perfect, so many extra touches like the robe & slippers and the cute teddy bear. Daily snacks brought to your room. The staff was warm, helpful and was there to please. They went the extra mile to make your stay comfortable & pleasing. Quality & Excellence is how I describe the hotel and the staff. I will be back!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladyknight2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We stayed in Paris for one weekend in December 2013.
The Hotel gave us a free upgrade to a Junior Suite on the top floor with a view of the Eiffel Tower from the window and the balcony.
Great Hotel with very friendly staff

Room Tip: Great Location, great suite with view of the Eiffel Tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThierrySch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Hate to sound repetitive but everything was great - location (Left Bank is our favored side), staff (hugs when I left!), room (perfect amenities, pillows!) and front desk (Benjamin can work miracles). As long as you know that everything here is small - very small elevator for hotel of this quality but it is historic building, and dining room is smaller than I envisioned. Definitely a 5 star boutique hotel.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank Cincytravelqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Enjoy staying in this area of Paris, so close to the Seine, museums , d'Orsay, and Louvre and our favorite restaurants and shops! Within walking distance or short cab ride to the Arch de Triumphe, Eiffel Towel & Rodin museum. Rooms tiny even by Paris standards. Bedding was average at best.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myriam K, Directeur général at Hotel Montalembert, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear Thomas S,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the location of our hotel. The Montalembert is central and in a charming and quite area of Paris at the same time.
Hotel rooms are usually not that large in Paris and the Montalembert does meet this " Parisian standard". Our 3 different room types offer however some alternatives to our guests, based on their lenght of stay, expectations and preferences. Our Junior Suites, Suites and our Suite by Christian Liaigre, are well appreciated by the guests who are looking for some more space and comfort.

We hope to see you again soon at the Montalembert and wish you a happy holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I spent 6 months in Paris on the Rue de Seine many years ago and would walk by this hotel with curiosity because it looked so lovely. This trip I decided to try it and could not have been more pleased. First let me say that I am partial to this neighborhood. The fact that it is quiet yet central to so many wonderful shops and museums is the biggest appeal. I drool just walking by the MOST beautiful art, design, and antique shops and the cafés and patisseries and restaurants are all top. What else do you want from this civilized city?! Hip and young and lively it is not. Go to the Marais for that. Elegant and timeless yet hip is The Montalembert!

Room Tip: They had a very good rate for a superior room and I was quite pleased with the size and amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefani P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myriam K, Directeur général at Hotel Montalembert, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Dear Stefani P,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience and for recommending our property.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon to the Montalembert.

Wishing you Happy Holidays,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Pont Royal
Hotel Pont Royal
#147 of 1,803 in Paris
926 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Verneuil Saint-Germain
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Pas de Calais
Hotel Pas de Calais
#82 of 1,803 in Paris
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Bel Ami Hotel
Bel Ami Hotel
#167 of 1,803 in Paris
1,215 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
La Villa Saint-Germain
La Villa Saint-Germain
#72 of 1,803 in Paris
694 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Relais Christine
Relais Christine
#60 of 1,803 in Paris
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montalembert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montalembert

Address: 3 rue Montalembert, 75007 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#57 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#228 Family Hotel in Paris
#302 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#509 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £238 - £491 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Montalembert 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Montalembert, built in 1926, is the first 5 star Boutique hotel on the Left Bank. The Hotel is ideally located in the heart of Saint Germain des Prés on the Left Bank. Few steps away from the Orsay and the Louvre Museums, this boutique hotel is surrounded by design stores, exclusive art galleries, antique shops, famous cafés (Café de Flore, Deux Magots) and the deluxe department store Le Bon Marché. The warm and intimate atmosphere of the lobby makes you feel unique and privileged. The hotel Montalembert is the perfect combination between contemporary design and cosy ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MyHotelShop, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Montalembert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montalembert Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing