We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A miserable experience in paris”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Duc de Saint Simon
Ranked #615 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Haverford, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A miserable experience in paris”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I just returned from my 10th trip to Paris where I stayed for the first and last time at the Hotel Duc de Saint Simon. For 275 euro per night, I expected a gracious and quiet hotel. It was just the opposite. They were quick to charge my American Express the reservation fee but never sent confirmation--I had to request it several times. I had difficulty sleeping because of constant door slamming--the fault of the way the doors are constructed not the patrons. The room was unusually small. The staff was haughty, condescending, and very unhelpful to its customers. The lobby is small and uncomfortable along with the rooms. I sat in the lobby one evening and watched the staff refuse to answer basic questions re: directions, sightseeing, and airport transfer. Initially, they refused to arrange van service to the airport insisting that I take their private car for 120 euros. There are too many gracious hotels in Paris to waste time and dollars on the Duc de Saint Simon.

Room Tip: Chose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank M W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ducsimon, Propriétaire at Hotel Duc de Saint Simon, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Guest,



First of all we thank you for having chosen our hotel for your stay in Paris.

We are very sorry that you didn’t enjoy your stay with us and we are also sad to read

your comments especially concerning our staff.

Usually the comments that we have on the TripAdvisor are quite the contrary because

the hotel is entirely renovated and our staff is congratulated by their wonderful work.



1. You mentioned the 5.60euros reservation fee that you paid

by your American express card. This amount is announced the moment you make your booking

and it goes directly to the webmaster not to the hotel. We are sorry if you didn’t

notice that from the confirmation.

2. We did send you twice the booking confirmation from the hotel in addition to the

one that you receive from the web service but my staff told me that you had difficulties in opening the file on your computer. But everything was in order when you arrived at the hotel.

3. Concerning the slamming doors. We are sorry if you had trouble sleeping but since the hotel has just been renovated all of the room doors close silently and we have an excellent soundproofing system.

Also I have to add that our clientele does not slam their doors.

4. Our staff loves to give advice & directions & finding restaurants etc. for our guests so, to be honest we didn’t understand that comment at all. Sorry.

5. And about the car; we gave you the choice, like we do for all other guests to take a taxi or a private car or a shuttle and you chose the shuttle. We sincerely hope that it was okay because it takes more time than the private car that you refused.



We all wish you the best for the future trips and we are sorry that you weren’t satisfied with us.



Kind regards

Valérie Nouvel
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    82
    15
    14
    4
See reviews for
35
137
22
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
tucson
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Forgive my play on "Cloudy with a chance of meatballs", but it just seems to work. This hotel is quintessential Paris with toile, painted woodwork, antiques, lovely linens, a location which allows you to walk to great restaurants, shopping and yet quiet and residential enough to allow you to watch the children trail after their parents on the way to school in the morning. I traveled with my husband and 2 other couples and we stayed for 3 nights in late September. Each of our rooms were different and each were decorated beautifully and put us in the French mood. Our friends beat us to the hotel with earlier flights and upon our arrival, we were told that we were downgraded to a smaller room accessible by a lift--with a Queen vs. King , no refrigerator, etc. We still aren't sure how this mix-up occured as our TA emailed our requirements at least 6 months ago. Though we were charged at the lower rate, we wanted the larger room. Then, our A/C made horrible noises which kept us awake for 2 nights. An attempt to fix the problem the first night failed, and our chats with the front desk, though they were very kind and accommodating, brought no relief. No other rooms available as the hotel was full. Finally, problem solved for our third night, but if our TA had not intervened, I don't think we would have received any concessions. But, we did, the owner sent us a spllit of Moet and waived our breakfast costs, which make the sleepless nights and mistake on the room more palatable. As stated earlier, breakfast at the hotel is expensive, but eating in the quaint "cellar" with delicious croissants, ham, cheese, tea or coffee, yogurt, fruit is so easy and quite bountiful. The desk staff were helpful with reservations and information and all spoke quite good English as my college French was not cutting it. Yes, stay here. I would do so again, as would my friends.

Room Tip: Only part of the hotel has lift access, so be sure to inquire if this is important to you. Some roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nanazsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singer Island, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The location, a quiet side street off the boulevard Saint-Germain, is a tranquil but ideal location to access the metro, multiple cafes, restaurants, traiteurs, boulangeries, and charcuteries. It is a short walk to the Seine, Le Bon Marché,, the Tuilleries, Musée d'Orsay, Odéon-Théâtre de l'Europe and Les Invalides, the the Louvre and... if you are able to walk a longer distance, the Eiffel Tower, Notre Dame, Luxembourg Gardens, and many more Paris attractions.

The furnishings are traditional - French fabrics in a lovely mix of patterns and many antiques. Our room was in the annex off the central courtyard at the top of a separate entry and staircase (I think it was is #42). It was surprisingly spacious - containing a King bed, a large modern bathroom, a small, but adequate closet with a safe, and a large bathroom with a tub/shower and fluffy white towels. The bed was extremely comfortable and the bed linens were beautifully made up and immaculate each day. Another nice feature was that the room opened through French doors to private garden terrace containing a table and chairs - nice to enjoy coffee in the morning or a glass of wine before dinner. Actually, with all of the availability of prepared food from nearby shops, one could bring in a meal rather than dining out.

It is possible to purchase a breakfast served in the stone cellar downstairs, but we chose to explore the neighborhood to try out all of the options there.

The staff was unfailingly friendly, courteous, and helpful. When I required a medical consultation, the desk manager arranged for a doctor to come to the hotel room to see me within the hour. Do inquire at the desk for assistance with your plans. For example, we found that we could purchase tickets to Musée d'Orsay for the same price as sold at the museum and avoid the lines at the ticket office and entrance, as there is separate door to the museum for holders of these tickets.

There was a nice sized flat screen TV in the room, but we did not have time to try it out! Another perk is the complimentary WiFi, which is certainly a great benefit for planning of the daily itineraries as well as checking email.

Room Tip: For a special experience, request a room with a private terrace if the season is right... not much u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank n1cf2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
franklin lakes
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in Sept. The hotel's location is perfect. We were on a small quiet street right off Blvd. St Germain just a few blocks to the Musee de Orsay, and the Seine. The staff was very helpful and pleasant. The room was very French and lovely. The bathroom was well appointed, had a bathtub and shower. There are restaurants and cafes a short distance from the hotel. The area has loads of great shops to browse.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myrna a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Situated on a quiet one way street off Boulevard St. Germain this beautifully decorated Parisian hotel was perfect. The front desk staff were very welcoming, helpful and knowledgeable. Our room was smallish but very comfortable with a huge bathroom that had a tub and large walk-in shower with terrific water pressure. The hotel is within walking distance of the Musee D'Orsay, L'Odeon, Les Invalides, the Tuilleries, the Louvre and many more Paris attractions. We would definitely consider staying here again highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jumbuck06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This is a gem on a quiet side street on the Left Bank within a block of the boulevard St. Germain, a short walk to the Musee D'Orsay, and all that this section of Paris has to offer. The hotel is very comfortable. The staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are smaller than a typical US hotel but just fine for Paris. The basement, seemingly carved out of an ancient structure, is a pleasant place for a drink in the evening or for breakfast. The breakfast is very good, though, like most hotels in France, it is over-priced. But the hotel itself is not. Since we first came here in 2003, this hotel has remained a great value, perfectly situated and of a very high standard.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jdarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We usually stay in large, international or 5 star hotels, just to be on the safe side. But we chose this hotel based on TripAdvisor reviews and were so glad that we did. What a gem! The location is perfect. The hotel is in a quiet street but oh so close to everything. We love walking when we travel, and there were places to go in every direction from the hotel. You could go near, e.g. the Bon Marche department store and food halls (wow!), or you could go further (but still only 10-15 minutes away), e.g. to Eiffel Tower, Notre Dame, Luxembourg Gardens, Louvre - all the Paris essentials and all within walking distance. there is so much to see in the area. There are wonderful cafes, boulangeries, charcuteries and restaurants all within a few minutes' walk. We had coffees and drinks a few times in one of the local cafes and they quickly adopted us as their 'locals', seeing us to 'our' table and looking after us. The hotel itself is gorgeous. We had a room looking into the peaceful courtyard garden - there were doves in the garden, and the perfume of flowers. It was a delight to open our window and enjoy - something you cannot do in most high rise hotels. The room was beautiful and quiet, and the bed very comfortable. Good to have TV with all the international channels for news, including the Asia/Pacific channels. The bathroom had been completely upgraded and was modern and spacious. The aircon was very efficient. The staff were all very friendly and went out of their way to be helpful with advice. On one of the nights we stayed there, we had a late meal in the historical 'cave' downstairs. The atmosphere was terrific, and we had platters of smoked meat and cheese, with red wine. It was the perfect way to finish an evening.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellersCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel le Bellechasse
Hotel le Bellechasse
#181 of 1,801 in Paris
773 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Bac Saint-Germain
Hotel Bac Saint-Germain
#945 of 1,801 in Paris
199 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel de l'Abbaye Saint-Germain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Bourgogne et Montana Hotel by MH
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel des Saints-Peres - Esprit de France
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
K+K Hotel Cayre
K+K Hotel Cayre
#258 of 1,801 in Paris
2,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Duc de Saint Simon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Duc de Saint Simon

Property: Hotel Duc de Saint Simon
Address: 14 rue de Saint Simon, 75007 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#196 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#239 Family Hotel in Paris
#328 Business Hotel in Paris
#347 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Duc de Saint Simon 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Duc de Saint Simon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duc De Saint Simon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing