We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another Fabulous Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Pavillon de la Reine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Pavillon de la Reine
Ranked #41 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Another Fabulous Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2008

We have (literally) just returned from a 4-night stay at the Pavillon de la Reine and had to say what a wonderful hotel it is. We stayed there last year and fell in love with both the hotel, its location and Paris! So when we wanted to take my wife's parents to Paris this year (their first time) there was only one choice of hotel to make their stay extra special and nobody was disappointed.
It is a very relaxing hotel with great staff, in particular the concierges are incredibly helpful and patient. They are undergoing some work inside the hotel - moving the reception desk, moving the breakfast room to the ground floor and adding a spa downstairs - but you really wouldn't be aware of the work going on other than a blank wall where the reception desk used to be. Apparently the work will be finished in May this year.
The breakfast buffet is excellent with plenty of choice and perfect scrambled eggs. Although the hotel doesn't have a restaurant it really isn't required as there are so many wonderful places to eat nearby to the hotel (as well as 24-hour room service, although we didn't use this). I'm sure you can't go wrong but the concierges are able to recommend excellent restaurants tailored to your preferences. We particularly enjoyed Bistrot de L'Oulette (Stephane is an excellent host, knowledgeable and enthusiastic) as well as Gaspard de la Nuit (both on Rue Des Tournelles) and Le Carre des Vosges on Rue St Gilles.
We stayed in a superior room and the size was more than ample and was actually bigger than we expected - especially for Paris. Place des Vosges is delightful and is in easy walking distance of Notre Dame and the Seine, Bastille, the Pompidou Centre and the Louvre. The immediate area around Place des Vosges also has beautiful shops of every description - but not the big chains of the Champs Elysees if that's what you're looking for! You really feel you're part of Paris staying in this wonderful hotel.
It is on the pricey side, but you certainly get what you pay for in this instance. It is superb. Treat yourself and stay here.

  • Liked — All of the staff
  • Disliked — If I had to think of anything it would be the fact that the room off the bedroom with the toilet was separate from the only basin which was in the bathroom the other side of the bedroom (v. minor!)
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tibbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim G, Directeur général at Le Pavillon de la Reine, responded to this review, 19 March 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at the hotel Le Pavillon de la Reine.

I was thrilled to read your wonderful comments regarding our property.
Please be assured that I have shared your feedback with all the teams!

I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Sincerely,

Tim Goddard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    575
    121
    37
    9
    6
See reviews for
99
447
33
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2008

This is an old review but I feel I should add my views to what appears here. My partner and I spent a few days at Easter here a couple of years ago.
The hotel is attractively tucked away in its own courtyard off the Place des Vosges; the impression as you enter is tranquil and exclusive. The flagstone floored lobby and public areas are decorated in a comfortable, effortlessly smart country house style .
Our immaculate room on the ground floor, though smartly decorated ( in rather masculine style with dark colours, which did not help) was small and dark; The lighting though it looked smart, was totally inadequate and I felt like a mole in a hole. No alternative rooms were available as the hotel was full. The bathroom was small with a ridiculously small basin and nowhere to put. my sponge bag or make up.
Everything had obviously been chosen very carefully in an updated version of 'old money' taste and it was indeed very smart but this pales into insignificance when the basics are not met. Breakfast for one was delivered to the room. I daresay it is rarely let to two people as !t just about accommodated one person.
To the management's credit, after we made our views clear, they promised to look after us especially well and to upgrade our room choice on our next visit.
However, despite their kind offer, we have yet to return and have subsequently stayed elsewhere in Paris - in another luxury property where we had a huge suite, a wonderful time and terrific value. That, I believe, says it all!

  • Liked — Peaceful convenient location; exclusive atmosphere and elegant design
  • Disliked — Tiny dark room
  • Stayed April 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dorothy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2008

I go to Paris at least 5 times per year and never stayed in the Pavillion de la Reine before. Place de Vosges is one of my favourite places in Paris and I always walked by the hotel with a feeling that I should try once. I finally did last January and what a surprise, simply amazing. The service is impecable and the staff is very polite. When you walk into the hotel you feel the going back in time. I highly recommend it.

  • Liked — impecable service
  • Disliked — size of the room
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jlmoura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim G, Directeur général at Le Pavillon de la Reine, responded to this review, 19 March 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at the hotel Le Pavillon de la Reine.

I was thrilled to read your wonderful comments regarding our property.
Please be assured that I have shared your feedback with all the teams!

I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Sincerely,

Tim Goddard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2008

This was the perfect hotel for my first stay in Paris. It is conveniently located on the very beautiful Place de Vosges. It is a small property with approximately 40 or so rooms. The decor is modern, with dark woods and colors throughout. I had a spacious duplex on the second floor, spotless clean with a great view of the courtyard at the entrance of the hotel. There is no restaurant but room service is available and breakfast is available each morning. The multi lingual staff here is superb, I heard English, German, Spanish and Portuguese spoken to various guests. Each agent is genuinely friendly and eager to make your stay not only in the hotel but in Paris as pleasant and enjoyable as possible. The Concierges are excellent and their knowledge of the city is most helpful when choosing where to eat and where to go. The hotel also has a lovely room just beyond the entrance with a fireplace and an honor bar. Its decor is more traditional and it was the perfect place for me and my friends to meet up each evening before we headed out. This is a very well run hotel and I very much look forward to returning very soon.

  • Liked — location and staff
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank javsigx101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim G, Directeur général at Le Pavillon de la Reine, responded to this review, 19 March 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at the hotel Le Pavillon de la Reine.

I was thrilled to read your wonderful comments regarding our property.
Please be assured that I have shared your feedback with all the teams!

I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Sincerely,

Tim Goddard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2008

There are many things to really recommend this hotel (and Paris has many to choose from). It is in a wonderfully quiet location, with the benefit of being very central (Place des Vosges, center of Marais), but tucked away inside a courtyard. This keeps the noise away and makes a very lovely courtyard available to the guests). The Honesty Bar, stocked with every imaginable alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverage, includes a fireplace, comfortable chairs, and the informal romantic atmosphere to relax after a long day of walking around and sightseeing. The rooms (we had a duplex) are small (as is the standard in Paris and in Europe), but made excellent use of space and provided a CD player with CD-ROMs, which we found to be a nice touch. downstairs in the duplex is the couch, TV, small table tucked away, armchair, and bathroom with toilet and sink. upstairs is the bed with a surprisingly large bathroom with bathtub and bidet, as well as 2 sinks. the hotel also offers free use of internet for guests, which is both rare and much appreciated. overall, the atmosphere is that of quiet elegance; charm without kitsch. we felt the spirit of Paris and Parisian life without any of the pretentiousness we hoped to avoid at the flashier hotels. the concierge service is excellent as well - they found a casual restaurant for us that fit the bill exactly (Gaspard de la Nuit) and made us reservations. The staff is very professional and pleasant, no trace of anything untoward, and easily switch back from French to English at your leisure.

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim G, Directeur général at Le Pavillon de la Reine, responded to this review, 19 March 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at the hotel Le Pavillon de la Reine.

I was thrilled to read your wonderful comments regarding our property.
Please be assured that I have shared your feedback with all the teams!

I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Sincerely,

Tim Goddard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
67 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2008

Pavillion de la Reine 24-27 Jan 2008, duplex room #16.

This is the 5th time I stay at this hotel and it is still very charming. It is a relaxed atmosphere, almost the feeling of living in someone’s home. Place des Vosges is one of the most beautiful places in Paris and the location in the Marais could not be better. You enter from the street into a small but picturesque garden. Then you walk into the lobby and you immediately feel the warmth of the hotel with its colours and details. No, it is not a design hotel, it’s an old mansion and the furniture follows the style; light and very stylish. The rooms are small but elegant and cosy. They got stereo and flat screen TV. Bathroom is not large but perfectly fine. I think the rooms are starting to be a little run down, so some renovation would be appropriate soon. However, it is so quiet you hardly believe you are in the centre of Paris. There is no restaurant, only a breakfast room. But they have 24 hours room service and a nice menu to select from. And very tasty I can add. The service is top notch and very friendly. And quick! Next to the lobby there is living room with a bar from which you serve yourself something cold to drink. You only have to make a note on a piece of paper what you have drunk and it will, of course, be charge to your bill. Yes, everything has its backside, and honestly, even if this must be one of my favourite hotels in Paris, it is VERY expensive and nothing in the hotel is for free. They don’t have free wireless internet, they don’t put a bottle of free water by your bedside, breakfast is not included in the price (and isn’t cheap), and obviously no spa or gym. In fact, compared to other hotels they do not offer many facilities – what you get is the beauty, charm and intimacy of the Queen of Paris. It's a Small Luxury Hotel and I like it!

  • Liked — Distinguished charm
  • Disliked — Bit pricy for what facilities offered
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lointer
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2008

This gorgeous hotel leaves no detail behind. The service is impeccable, the staff is thoughtful, and the ambience is beyond compare. We stayed over Christmas, and we couldn't have been happier. The roaring fire, the great honor bar, the wonderful breakfast - it all surpassed our expectations. Jonathan and Rudy, the concierges, were outstanding. Nothing was ever a problem for them! They even mail you postcards, free of charge! On Christmas Eve, we returned from dinner to find a beautiful Baccarat gift box in our room, compliments of the staff. I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Paris!

  • Liked — The quintessential beauty of the entire property.
  • Disliked — No complaints at all.
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank lointer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Le Marais
Les Tournelles
Les Tournelles
#29 of 1,794 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel de JoBo
Hotel de JoBo
#148 of 1,794 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Dupond-Smith
Hotel Dupond-Smith
#85 of 1,794 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Relais Christine
Relais Christine
#59 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Grand Hotel du Palais Royal
Le Marais
La Chambre du Marais
La Chambre du Marais
#77 of 1,794 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Pavillon de la Reine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Pavillon de la Reine

Property: Le Pavillon de la Reine
Address: 28 Place des Vosges, 75003 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Le Marais , Notre Dame / Marais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Paris
#26 Family Hotel in Paris
#31 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#36 Business Hotel in Paris
#71 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Pavillon de la Reine 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pavillon de la Reine & Spa, a discreet luxury address in the heart of Le Marais! Established in the Place des Vosges, in the heart of Le Marais, both one of the most famous and most historical districts of Paris, the Pavillon de la Reine perpetuates an elegant atmosphere combined with discreet luxury to attract the most stylish globetrotters in the world in their quest for a quiet and discreet place to relax. The Pavillon de la Reine is embellished with its shady gardens s and its distinctive facade. Its historical setting has been totally reviewed by Didier Benderli (Kerylos Interieurs) blended with a contemporary and friendly touch, combining aesthetics with original ideas. The Pavillon de la Reine offers a universe with a subtle and contemporary charm and unexpected combinations of material, colours and styles. The Pavillon de la Reine comprises 54 rooms and suites 4 stars all decorated distinctively, using different shades of colours and furniture. They make use of the surrounding space elegantly and they are in total harmony with the atmosphere unique to ParisHotels Particuliers. Decoration, in some rooms, combines beams with large mirrors and iron bound trunks, while more contemporary dark wood furniture is the focus of other rooms. The Suite de la Reine and Victor Hugo Suite hint at the history of Le Marais comprising graphic literary details, punctuated with a modern decorative touch. The Spa de la Reine by Carita, a revelation to your Senses! The 250 m² Spa (2,420 sq feet) comprises 2 treatment booths, a gym and Jacuzzi as well as a steam bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Le Pavillon de la Reine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pavillon De La Reine Hotel Paris
Pavillon De La Reine Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing