We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful! and no sign of building works”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Pavillon de la Reine
Ranked #35 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Bangor, Northern Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Wonderful! and no sign of building works”
Reviewed 30 April 2008

We are just back from a wonderful weekend here - a special treat for my birthday .
It was just wonderful - lovely peaceful courtyard location just off the atmospheric Place des vosges , where we enjoyed breakfast in the cloisters, and listened to musicians .
Do spend some time in the lovely park - we enjoyed watching the Parisien families on Sunday morning .
We had a suite in the oldest part of the hotel - no 9 -
The best part of this hotel was the really helpful and friendly staff - nothing was too much trouble , and their restaurant recommendations were spot on - Bofinger , a bustly brasserie perfect for meeting up with friends, Enoteca good italian .
I just didn't want to leave !!
No sign of building works !

  • Liked — terrific staff, beautiful location
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sessiagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim G, Directeur général at Le Pavillon de la Reine, responded to this review, 19 March 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at the hotel Le Pavillon de la Reine.

I was thrilled to read your wonderful comments regarding our property.
Please be assured that I have shared your feedback with all the teams!

I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Sincerely,

Tim Goddard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    609
    123
    38
    9
    6
See reviews for
104
474
33
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2008

We booked it following the reviews on tripadvisor and we were not disappointed. this is an excellent boutique hotel in the heart of a vibrant part of paris, but nicely set back one road from any noise. The staff were very nice and all spoke excellent english, the breakfast deliciuos, and the fact that it has no restaurant for dinner is actually a good thing as there are so many excellent restaurants within a few hundred metres - it makes you go out and explore. I would strongly recommend this hotel for any couple wanting a short break in paris.

  • Liked — Style
  • Disliked — nil
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim G, Directeur général at Le Pavillon de la Reine, responded to this review, 19 March 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at the hotel Le Pavillon de la Reine.

I was thrilled to read your wonderful comments regarding our property.
Please be assured that I have shared your feedback with all the teams!

I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Sincerely,

Tim Goddard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayeux, France
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2008

We have stayed at this hotel on two occassions. The first time (Sept 2007) we thought it was over-priced but realised they were re-
furbishing so gave them the benefit of the doubt. Our room was old, tired and - worst of all for a hotel of this rating - the shower head was mouldy. Really not what I had expected. The most recent stay was also disappointing - we arrived jet-lagged and travel-weary and were appointed a very nice room. (My husband had warned them in advance that we would be arriving early from the U.S. and he had been reassured that everything would be in order). Although the front desk staff were professional and helpful when he had phoned to make the reservation - they neglected to tell us that the hotel was STILL undergoing major re-furbishments. When we arrived, the children's room wasn't ready so the four of us crashed on the one bed and tried to sleep through the guys with the drills and hammers on the floor above. I felt the hotel could have/should have warned us. Eventually, the children were appointed a room about as far as possible away from our room - theirs was not yet re-furbished and the bathroom was awful - mouldy - the room smelled like cigarettes even though they now have a non-smoking policy. The bedcover was really in need of a decent dry-
cleaner. We were disappointed. The builders continued throughout our stay which made resting impossible (the kids were seriously jet-
lagged). We were paying premium prices as we had booked directly with the hotel. To top it off - the valet (poor guy) crashed our car as he was leaving the hotel garage. I don't think we'll go back anytime soon. It was a shame as it's a great location and - could be - a first class hotel. They just need to attend to a few details.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
6 Thank MonkeyBites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim G, General Manager at Le Pavillon de la Reine, responded to this review, 13 July 2017
Dear Tripadvisor readers,

Please note this comment is from 2008.
Since then, the Pavillon de la Reine operated major renovation.

Kind regards,

Vanessa Jacquiot
Sales & Marekting Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2008

My boyfriend booked this hotel for my birthday weekend. We spent two nights in the hotel in a deluxe room (no. 19). The hotel itself is beautiful - the outside is covered in ivy. The room we had was great - arranged on two levels with the bed upstairs and living area and bathroom downstairs.

Breakfast was lovely with lots to choose from.

The concierge recommended a restaurant called Le Pamphlet, where I had a yummy chocolate fondant for dessert. The concierge also recommended a jazz club, which my boyfriend and I loved.

Definitely recommend it.

  • Liked — the character of the property
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank KR2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim G, Directeur général at Le Pavillon de la Reine, responded to this review, 19 March 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at the hotel Le Pavillon de la Reine.

I was thrilled to read your wonderful comments regarding our property.
Please be assured that I have shared your feedback with all the teams!

I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Sincerely,

Tim Goddard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2008

A superb location, set back from the beautiful Place de Vosges. Perfect for exploring Paris, with many interesting places (Picasso Museum, Jewish quarter, Bastille Opera, Louvre etc etc) near by. The hotel is extremely comfortable, and the staff faultless. We initially had a room next to the lift, and requested a different one. The excellent chap on the front desk (Arnold?) was only too happy to oblige and we ended up with a better room!
The honesty bar is a nice touch too. Can't comment on breakfast, we always ate at one of the many nearby cafes.
Room are very nice, traditional rather than modern but I mean that in the nicest sense with Molten Brown toiletries, flat panel LCD TVs with cable TV. Very luxurious, and full of character.
Highly Recommended!!

  • Liked — Friendliness of staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank as_allen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim G, Directeur général at Le Pavillon de la Reine, responded to this review, 19 March 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at the hotel Le Pavillon de la Reine.

I was thrilled to read your wonderful comments regarding our property.
Please be assured that I have shared your feedback with all the teams!

I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Sincerely,

Tim Goddard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2008

We have (literally) just returned from a 4-night stay at the Pavillon de la Reine and had to say what a wonderful hotel it is. We stayed there last year and fell in love with both the hotel, its location and Paris! So when we wanted to take my wife's parents to Paris this year (their first time) there was only one choice of hotel to make their stay extra special and nobody was disappointed.
It is a very relaxing hotel with great staff, in particular the concierges are incredibly helpful and patient. They are undergoing some work inside the hotel - moving the reception desk, moving the breakfast room to the ground floor and adding a spa downstairs - but you really wouldn't be aware of the work going on other than a blank wall where the reception desk used to be. Apparently the work will be finished in May this year.
The breakfast buffet is excellent with plenty of choice and perfect scrambled eggs. Although the hotel doesn't have a restaurant it really isn't required as there are so many wonderful places to eat nearby to the hotel (as well as 24-hour room service, although we didn't use this). I'm sure you can't go wrong but the concierges are able to recommend excellent restaurants tailored to your preferences. We particularly enjoyed Bistrot de L'Oulette (Stephane is an excellent host, knowledgeable and enthusiastic) as well as Gaspard de la Nuit (both on Rue Des Tournelles) and Le Carre des Vosges on Rue St Gilles.
We stayed in a superior room and the size was more than ample and was actually bigger than we expected - especially for Paris. Place des Vosges is delightful and is in easy walking distance of Notre Dame and the Seine, Bastille, the Pompidou Centre and the Louvre. The immediate area around Place des Vosges also has beautiful shops of every description - but not the big chains of the Champs Elysees if that's what you're looking for! You really feel you're part of Paris staying in this wonderful hotel.
It is on the pricey side, but you certainly get what you pay for in this instance. It is superb. Treat yourself and stay here.

  • Liked — All of the staff
  • Disliked — If I had to think of anything it would be the fact that the room off the bedroom with the toilet was separate from the only basin which was in the bathroom the other side of the bedroom (v. minor!)
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tibbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim G, Directeur général at Le Pavillon de la Reine, responded to this review, 19 March 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at the hotel Le Pavillon de la Reine.

I was thrilled to read your wonderful comments regarding our property.
Please be assured that I have shared your feedback with all the teams!

I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Sincerely,

Tim Goddard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2008

This is an old review but I feel I should add my views to what appears here. My partner and I spent a few days at Easter here a couple of years ago.
The hotel is attractively tucked away in its own courtyard off the Place des Vosges; the impression as you enter is tranquil and exclusive. The flagstone floored lobby and public areas are decorated in a comfortable, effortlessly smart country house style .
Our immaculate room on the ground floor, though smartly decorated ( in rather masculine style with dark colours, which did not help) was small and dark; The lighting though it looked smart, was totally inadequate and I felt like a mole in a hole. No alternative rooms were available as the hotel was full. The bathroom was small with a ridiculously small basin and nowhere to put. my sponge bag or make up.
Everything had obviously been chosen very carefully in an updated version of 'old money' taste and it was indeed very smart but this pales into insignificance when the basics are not met. Breakfast for one was delivered to the room. I daresay it is rarely let to two people as !t just about accommodated one person.
To the management's credit, after we made our views clear, they promised to look after us especially well and to upgrade our room choice on our next visit.
However, despite their kind offer, we have yet to return and have subsequently stayed elsewhere in Paris - in another luxury property where we had a huge suite, a wonderful time and terrific value. That, I believe, says it all!

  • Liked — Peaceful convenient location; exclusive atmosphere and elegant design
  • Disliked — Tiny dark room
  • Stayed April 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Arabella1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Le Marais
Hotel de JoBo
Hotel de JoBo
#32 of 1,801 in Paris
161 reviews
Le Marais
Les Tournelles
Les Tournelles
#80 of 1,801 in Paris
210 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Dupond-Smith
Hotel Dupond-Smith
#6 of 1,801 in Paris
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Marais
La Chambre du Marais
La Chambre du Marais
#52 of 1,801 in Paris
204 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Grand Hotel du Palais Royal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Pavillon de la Reine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Pavillon de la Reine

Property: Le Pavillon de la Reine
Address: 28 Place des Vosges, 75003 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Le Marais , Notre Dame / Marais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Paris
#26 Family Hotel in Paris
#31 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#36 Business Hotel in Paris
#71 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Pavillon de la Reine 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pavillon de la Reine & Spa, a discreet luxury address in the heart of Le Marais! Established in the Place des Vosges, in the heart of Le Marais, both one of the most famous and most historical districts of Paris, the Pavillon de la Reine perpetuates an elegant atmosphere combined with discreet luxury to attract the most stylish globetrotters in the world in their quest for a quiet and discreet place to relax. The Pavillon de la Reine is embellished with its shady gardens s and its distinctive facade. Its historical setting has been totally reviewed by Didier Benderli (Kerylos Interieurs) blended with a contemporary and friendly touch, combining aesthetics with original ideas. The Pavillon de la Reine offers a universe with a subtle and contemporary charm and unexpected combinations of material, colours and styles. The Pavillon de la Reine comprises 54 rooms and suites 4 stars all decorated distinctively, using different shades of colours and furniture. They make use of the surrounding space elegantly and they are in total harmony with the atmosphere unique to ParisHotels Particuliers. Decoration, in some rooms, combines beams with large mirrors and iron bound trunks, while more contemporary dark wood furniture is the focus of other rooms. The Suite de la Reine and Victor Hugo Suite hint at the history of Le Marais comprising graphic literary details, punctuated with a modern decorative touch. The Spa de la Reine by Codage, a revelation to your Senses! The 250 m² Spa (2,420 sq feet) comprises 2 treatment booths, a gym and Jacuzzi as well as a steam bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Le Pavillon de la Reine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pavillon De La Reine Hotel Paris
Pavillon De La Reine Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing