We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in the Marais”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Pavillon de la Reine
Ranked #35 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Best hotel in the Marais”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We had an unexpected extra night in Paris due to transport issues and were lucky enough to stay here. After many visits to the Marais and dozens of hotels this is by far the best.
The staff offer 5 star service rather than 4 and the building itself is simply enchanting. We were upgraded to a split level suite overlooking the front courtyard which was magical but I glimpsed the décor in the first room that we were allocated and it appeared to be of a higher standard.
There were certainly some fittings in the room that were starting to show wear and tear but perhaps they are working through the rooms as part of an upgrade. Certainly no complaints and we would recommend it if your budget allows. (It's one of the most expensive in the area but worth it on every level).

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank a m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tim g, Directeur général at Le Pavillon de la Reine, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear a m,

Thank you very much for your positive review.
We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your room facing our Courtyard.
Thank you for choosing Le Pavillon de la Reine ****

Looking forward to welcoming you for your next visit in Paris,

Sophie WEISS
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    609
    123
    38
    9
    6
See reviews for
104
474
33
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampton Bays, NY
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Charming, small hotel that caters to your needs. If you are looking for typical chain hotel, keep searching. This is an old mansion that was turned into a charming hotel with a staff that can not do enough for you. Rooms are well laid out and comfortable. You are a quick walk to some lovely bistros, small galleries and the oldest park in Paris. Open your windows and let Paris in!

Room Tip: We had two rooms for our group in different locations...both were equally appreciated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hickey12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tim g, Directeur général at Le Pavillon de la Reine, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Hickey12,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued.
We really appreciate your comments regarding our customer service and our rooms.
Our staff members take their roles in our hotel very seriously and try, every day, to provide that quality customer service, that our guests expect.

Please do not hesitate to contact us for your next visit in Paris.

Sincerely,

Sophie WEISS
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We walked up to the front desk of the Pavillion de Reine after arriving in Paris to find our rental apartment with significant issues that we had no place to stay. We explained our story to the front desk and they said they were fully booked but hey would check on cancellations. They found one, took us in and gave us a great rate even thought we were desperate. Usually we stay at 5 star hotels in Paris so we wondered what a four star woudl be like. We were delighted at how charming the hotel was, how good the food was and how sweet the people at the hotel were. Breakfast was one of the high points of the day. The spread was not lavish yet everything was tasty, especially the chocolate cafe au lauits. The front desk help was always patience and so helpful in creating our daily adventures. The bellman were very nice, and the location was perfect. When we return to Paris we will definitely stay here. The hotel doesnt have the polish and perfection of a great five star, but the charm, intimacy and frinedliness of the staff more than makes up for that level of service and costs. Plus one surprising benefit, the other guests in the hotel seem friendlier and led to some fun conversations.

Room Tip: Just ask the front desk. The junior suites were good size and perfect for our 7 day stay. Ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yarrl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tim g, Directeur général at Le Pavillon de la Reine, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear yarrl C,

Thank you for the lovely feedback.
We are absolutely thrilled about your comments and so pleased our Front Desk team met your expectations with room offer.
Your review will be shared with the hotel staff and we are looking forward to welcome you back to our property.

Kind Regards,

Sophie WEISS
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Pavillion de la Reine is a beautiful and luxurious Hotel with a great location just by Place de Vosges. If you appreciate the beautiful area Marais than this is the Hotel you should stay at. We stayed in a superior room, and it was well worth the money.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kjetiltaraldlien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tim g, Directeur général at Le Pavillon de la Reine, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Kjetiltaraldlien,

Thank you for the lovely review and for your support.

The feedback is truly appreciated.

We are looking forward to welcome you back to our property.

With warmest regards,

Sophie WEISS
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I was a little concerned after reading some of the reviews on here about the dated look of the décor. Perhaps they have more than one décor type in their rooms, but I was very pleased. Room was modern, clean and tastefully decorated – on par or better than most high-end luxury chain hotels. The bathroom was nicely accented and seemed as if it had been recently renovated. The room was a bit small, but nothing unusual for Paris. What was unusual was the length of the bed --- although it was as wide as a queen, the bed was certainly shorter than your standard queen. My partner’s feet hung off the bed!

Location is perfect! My partner and I have been to Paris multiple times before, so we weren’t looking to be in the thick of where all of the touristy places are. The Marais, and Place des Vosges in particular, was perfect. It’s still close enough to all of the major tourist spots that you can walk to them, but the Marais has so much of its own character and flavor that you won’t be disappointed wondering the streets. Place des Vosges is one of my favorite squares in Paris, and after a day of walking around, it’s a great place to lie in the grassy areas with the other locals ---- and it’s all right at your doorstep!

Service is friendly and efficient. Although one thing that bothered me was that when you ask to retrieve your key from the front desk after exploring the city (you leave it with them when you leave the hotel so you don’t have to lug the key with you – it’s an actual key with a rather large key fob), the front desk makes no effort to verify who you are – in theory, anyone could’ve asked for our key…

Hotels in Paris are notoriously expensive, especially at the luxury end – this hotel offers a fantastic value. You won’t be disappointed in the accommodations and you’ll pay a fraction of what you would at the five star hotels.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ptn4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tim g, Directeur général at Le Pavillon de la Reine, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear ptn4,

Thank you for choosing Le Pavillon de la Reine and for taking time to share your nice review on Tripadvisor.
As you mentionned, every room is different and has its own style and refined decoration but the size of our beds is standard ( length 1.9 or 2 meters).
Further to your feedback about clients identification and verification by the front desk, please be sure that the concierge probably recognized you because he never gives a key without checking if you are a hotel resident or not.
We thank you once again for your positive review and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Le Pavillon de la Reine!

Kind Regards,

Sophie WEISS
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Place des Vosges has got to be one of the most beautiful squares in the world and in walking distance to everything you need for a wonderful weekend in Paris. The hotel is hidden from the square, a peaceful oasis metres away from busy Paris. The service was personal, warm and of a high standard. I would stay again and recommend this hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: We faced the back courtyard, room 63, which was a basic room. The room was large and well appointed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dimitri238749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tim g, Directeur général at Le Pavillon de la Reine, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Demetri2011,

Thank you for taking the time to write your great review about your stay.
We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay for different reasons.

Looking forward to welcome you again in a near future,

Best regards,

Sophie WEISS
Rooms DIvision Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The hotel is located in the beautiful Place des Vosges in the Marais. It is very close to numerous metro stops and only took 15 minutes to get from the Gare du Nord. The hotel itself was lovely, with a beautiful courtyard outside and a very relaxed but sophisticated atmosphere. The staff were extremely friendly and were happy to help with any request. The room was pretty large for Paris standards and overlooked the courtyard. The spa was an added bonus too. This hotel made our stay in Paris very special and is definitely worth the money.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tim g, Directeur général at Le Pavillon de la Reine, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Hannah L,

I would like to thank you for having honored us with your nice feedback, hence sharing your experience with other viewers. Your time and contribution have been greatly appreciated.

We all look ahead to welcome you back at Le Pavillon de la Reine

Sincerely,

Sophie WEISS
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Le Marais
Hotel de JoBo
Hotel de JoBo
#33 of 1,800 in Paris
161 reviews
Le Marais
Les Tournelles
Les Tournelles
#82 of 1,800 in Paris
209 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Dupond-Smith
Hotel Dupond-Smith
#6 of 1,800 in Paris
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Marais
La Chambre du Marais
La Chambre du Marais
#53 of 1,800 in Paris
204 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Grand Hotel du Palais Royal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Pavillon de la Reine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Pavillon de la Reine

Property: Le Pavillon de la Reine
Address: 28 Place des Vosges, 75003 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Le Marais , Notre Dame / Marais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Paris
#26 Family Hotel in Paris
#31 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#36 Business Hotel in Paris
#71 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Pavillon de la Reine 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pavillon de la Reine & Spa, a discreet luxury address in the heart of Le Marais! Established in the Place des Vosges, in the heart of Le Marais, both one of the most famous and most historical districts of Paris, the Pavillon de la Reine perpetuates an elegant atmosphere combined with discreet luxury to attract the most stylish globetrotters in the world in their quest for a quiet and discreet place to relax. The Pavillon de la Reine is embellished with its shady gardens s and its distinctive facade. Its historical setting has been totally reviewed by Didier Benderli (Kerylos Interieurs) blended with a contemporary and friendly touch, combining aesthetics with original ideas. The Pavillon de la Reine offers a universe with a subtle and contemporary charm and unexpected combinations of material, colours and styles. The Pavillon de la Reine comprises 54 rooms and suites 4 stars all decorated distinctively, using different shades of colours and furniture. They make use of the surrounding space elegantly and they are in total harmony with the atmosphere unique to ParisHotels Particuliers. Decoration, in some rooms, combines beams with large mirrors and iron bound trunks, while more contemporary dark wood furniture is the focus of other rooms. The Suite de la Reine and Victor Hugo Suite hint at the history of Le Marais comprising graphic literary details, punctuated with a modern decorative touch. The Spa de la Reine by Codage, a revelation to your Senses! The 250 m² Spa (2,420 sq feet) comprises 2 treatment booths, a gym and Jacuzzi as well as a steam bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Pavillon de la Reine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pavillon De La Reine Hotel Paris
Pavillon De La Reine Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing