We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Castille - Starhotels Collezione
Ranked #256 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2009

This is a lovely small hotel in a very safe area. The US Embassy is three blocks away. The hotel is surrounded by high end shopping and good restaurants. It is convenient to the underground metro lines as well as the train station. The area is very quiet and we were not disturbed by traffic noise. The hotel has multiple security cameras on all the entrances. So while it may look that it is not tended late at night, every entrance and exit of the doors is monitored. Our rooms were beautifully cleaned every day and the conceirge was helpful when we needed help and unobtrusive when we did not. We will return. PS the internet was free when we were there. No idea what all the complaints have been about.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leslieannAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Castille, GM Castille Paris at Castille - Starhotels Collezione, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2009

Dear Mrs "leslieannAtlanta",

Thank you very much for the nice comment posted on Tripadvisor. I am happy that you mentionned the high level of security at the Castille Paris as it is one of the concerns of international travellers nowadays. We have the chance to be in one of the most secured area of Paris facing the Ministry of Justice and in the heart of the jewellery district.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you soon in Paris and especially at the Castille Paris.

Very best regards.

Loic Le Berre
GM Castille Paris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,053)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

664 - 670 of 1,053 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2009

We stayed one night in this hotel in early September and enjoyed everything about it. The hotel is close to shopping, the metro, sightseeing but is on a quiet street, so the traffic noise is minimal. The room was quite attractive and comfortable. The staff was extremely polite and helpful. I have no complaints about this hotel and would recommend it to others without hesitation. We ate dinner at a restuarant called La Cordonniere, also hightly recommended by Tripadvisor, which was only several blocks from the hotel -- easy walking distance. The food and service were outstanding.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank walkerv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Castille, Manager at Castille - Starhotels Collezione, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2009

Dear Mr "Walkerv",

Thank you so much for your nice comment posted on Tripadvisor. I am glad to read that either the location of the hotel or the kindness of the team made your stay even better than expected.

And, by the way, I do share with you your opinion about La Cordonnerie restaurant. They have the best "Veal steack Normady style" I ever ate. GM Tip : ask for the dining room next to the bar (not next to the kitchen)

I look forward of welcoming you again at the Castille Paris.

Best regards.

Loic Le Berre
GM-Castille Paris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2009

I was pleasantly surprised with the location and the service at this hotel far exceeded a lot of the hotels I have stayed in. I encountered a couple of problems but to my surprise it got handled in the most professional manner. The staff at this hotel especially the reception desk were amazing. I would not hesitate to stay there again when I return and will tell anyone travelling to Paris to book this hotel. The gentleman that parks the cars was also amazing and a lot of fun.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PepiWinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Castille, Manager at Castille - Starhotels Collezione, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2009

Dear Mrs "PeppiWinnipeg",

Thank you very much for sharing your feeling with us. This kind of comment is always the best reward to my team for their daily work. And I am even more than happy to read that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again at he Castille Paris.

So, I look forward of meeting you soon rue Cambon.

Best regards.
Loic Le Berre
GM - Castille

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2009

We paid GBP630 for 3 nights in a 'superior' room, but it was very small. The bathtub was very narrow and the shower head was half broken. The shower was not hot one day. Make sure you don't go to the breakfast which costs over 20 euros.
On the whole, we just overpaid for the good location and despite some good service from staff, we had to go looking for our bags on the first night since they hadn't been brought to our rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdgwave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Castille, Manager at Castille - Starhotels Collezione, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2009

Dear "jdgwave",

I am sorry to read that your stay with us did not meet with your expectations. Regarding the room size, and if we have the pleasure of welcoming in a near future, our deluxe rooms may be more appropriate for a triple (275sqf for deluxes vs 220sqf for superiors).
As far as the service is concerned, it seems that we missed you on this. It is usually what our clients are complimenting about the most.
I would like to thank you for bringing these comments to my attention. Feed-backs (positive or negative) iare the only way for us to improve and to fulfill our clients expectations as much as we can .

Best regards.

Loic Le Berre
GM - Castille

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2009

We traveled to Paris with 2 young toddlers and we were unable to find a hotel that would accomodate all of us in 1 room. The Castille Paris was the only hotel that had what they called a triple room that would take a family of 4. We weren't sure what to expect but we were very happy when we checked in. We arrived in paris 6am and our room obviously wasn't ready. However, Eddie at the front desk was so helpful and accomodating. He was willing to upgrade us to a duplex room that was available immediately, however we decided to wait because we didn't want a two story room with stairs with 2 young toddlers. however, he still upgraded us to a suite and called us on our cell at noon when the room was ready. Our room was on the second floor overlooking the "courtyard". there really wasn't any to see except the next building 50 feet away. however the room was wonderful. we had 2 large rooms with high ceilings, modern decor and very clean. the king size bed was very comfortable and the room had a safe, blow dryer, a fridge and 2 large tvs. The huge floor to ceiling windows lined one entire side of the rooms and they had great blackout curtains. they had an extra bed set up for my 3 year old and a large pack and play bed for my 18 month old. the hotel also has a gym. not much by american standards but enough to get a workout. they had a tredmill, an eliptical machine a couple of benches and a basic set of dumbells.
The hotel was in a great location. you are set in the middle of the fashion district with a lot of high end stores around. Channel was next to us. you are only a few blocks from the tuileries gardens and the metro and a 5 minute walk to the Louvre. There are a few restaurants in the area but they were very expensive. we asked the hotel for a casual, easy place to pick up a quick lunch and they recommended a small restaurant s couple blocks from the hotel. we ordered 3 bowls of plain pasta, a soda and a bottle of water and it was $70 US dollars! Very expensive all over paris. A can of soda was around 6 dollars in many places - so be aware before you buy! The tuileries garderns has a permanent carnival set up that the kids enjoyed at night. the only difficulty we had in the area was that there was no supermarket or small store to buy some milk, fruit and basic things for the kids. the closest one requirred us to take the metro. However we found a great market near the eiffel tower that was resonably priced and we stocked up and had what we needed for the rest of the trip. Overall GREAT hotel in a GREAT location!

Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
Thank travellls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Castille, Manager at Castille - Starhotels Collezione, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2009

Dear "capitaltraveller77",
Thank you very much for sharing your experience at the Castille Paris. As you clearly described it in your comment, the Castille Paris had to face an uncredible number of technical problems this summer. Fortunately for our guests, they are all solved now. The most important thing for us has been the way these problems were handled and managed by our front staff. We tried to assist and help all our guests during this difficult period. I am glad to read that you have been sensitive to it.

With all my best regards.

Loic Le Berre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2009

This is a beautiful hotel with great bedroom space at an excellent location. Unfortunately, we encountered three nontrivial problems during our stay: air conditioning was out for some days; internet service was not working; and hot water was not available one morning. Hotel staff made great efforts to remedy these problems over a hoiiday weekend (15 August) in Paris, but was unable to achieve success. Nonetheless, the elegance of the service, the friendly staff, and the basic attributes of the hotel helped overcome the negative impression created by these problems. .

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank capitaltraveler77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2009

I booked this hotel based on the glowing recommendations from other TripAdvisor reviews. Unfortunately, the hotel didn't live up to any of our expectations. All of our problems centered around the horrible service. It's a shame because the room was actually quite nice. The staff is friendly, but totally inept and not empowered AT ALL to solve any of the problems encountered. The trouble started when we attempted to use our phone to call the concierge for dinner recommendations our first night (a must if you don't know Paris very well). None of the service buttons on our phone worked (operator, front desk, concierge, housekeeping, room service, etc.). So, we had to walk down to the lobby after we finished dressing. What a surprise to find out that there was no concierge... at 8pm on a Friday night! We reported the phone trouble to the bellman and he wrote a note to the lone desk receptionist (too busy with another guest to answer our questions about the phone). The next day, we were missing a robe. We tried to use the phone to call housekeeping, but it still wasn't working. No one ever called us back or contacted us about the phone. Good thing we didn't have any true emergencies that would require a working phone. And, there still was no concierge to help us with a dinner selection on the second night... at 7pm on a Saturday night! The front desk attendant seemed confused by the phone and concierge complaints, but didn't really have any solutions. She then told us someone would contact us before we checked out the next morning at 9am. Guess what... no one ever called us back. We had to complain to the front desk attendant (again) as we checked out. At that point, we were "promised" the desk manager would reach out to us when he arrived later that morning. As expected, we never heard from him either. This is on top of the worst hotel bar service I've ever experienced (no one in the bar, 15 minute wait to track down a bartender, flat champagne and prices higher than the Hotel Costes!).

So, if you decide to book this hotel, please ask the desk receptionist for their special phone dialing instructions when you check in (these are not furnished in all of the rooms), ask when the concierge will be available, and avoid the bar AT ALL COSTS.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JeanieKAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Castille, GM - Castille at Castille - Starhotels Collezione, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2009

Dear Mrs "JeanieKAS" ,

After reading your comment you posted on TripAdvisor, it will be difficult to me to express by writing how frustrated and distredded I feel about the bad experience you had with us during your stay. It is so far away from the usual guest service we are proud to provide to our international guests. But it seems that this time we have been unable to answer to your basic needs and it is unforgivable. It will not change your idea about the Castille Paris (and I regret it), but based on your comments, I have already taken all measures with my team to make sure that these discrepencies in service will not happen again, especially the phone problem.

With my personnal apologies,

Sincerely yours.

Loic Le Berre
GM - Castille

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Champs-Elysees
Sofitel Paris Le Faubourg
Sofitel Paris Le Faubourg
#206 of 1,802 in Paris
731 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
The Westin Paris - Vendome
The Westin Paris - Vendome
#486 of 1,802 in Paris
3,722 reviews
Hyatt Paris Madeleine
#258 of 1,802 in Paris
1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Le Burgundy
Hotel Le Burgundy
#150 of 1,802 in Paris
701 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
La Clef Louvre
La Clef Louvre
#18 of 1,802 in Paris
658 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Renaissance Paris Vendome Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castille - Starhotels Collezione? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castille - Starhotels Collezione

Address: 33 rue Cambon, 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Palais-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#178 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#252 Business Hotel in Paris
#281 Family Hotel in Paris
#298 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £220 - £417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Castille - Starhotels Collezione 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Italian chic and Parisian haute couture combine at the iconic hotel Castille. Standing alongside the legendary Chanel Maison, in the heart of the 1st Arrondissement, this romantic hotel is so Paris. Every detail has been lovingly restored to exude the opulence of its 18th century glory days, yet still retain a charm that you rarely find in a central Paris luxury hotel. At the Castille you’ll find a restaurant and bar that combine the style of Paris with Italian warmth and spirit. L’Assaggio offers an exquisite menu full of the finest Mediterranean flavours, topped off with a Florentine courtyard for al fresco dining. Then there’s the bar, perfect for light meals and any drink you can think of, day or night. Finally, the Salon de The is a wonderful spot to while away the afternoon over a fine tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castille - Starhotels Collezione reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starhotels Castille Paris Hotel Paris
Starhotels Castille Hotel Paris
Paris Starhotels Castille Hotel
Castille Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing