We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel, ever.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Barriere Le Fouquet's Paris
Ranked #45 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 January 2014

This is the kind of hotel that showcases Paris perfectly. Wonderful service, impeccable attention to detail, prime location. The Fouquet's Barriere has it all. The staff makes the guest feel like we have been invited into their own home. Perfect rooms, clean and well maintained. But the hospitality alone sets the FB far above the competition. It Is perfect.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabrice M, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Fouquet's Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear Michele,
Thank you very much for your wonderful comment on Tripadvisor, it has been a real pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us!
Naturally I have shared your feed-back on our service with the team, this is a great source of motivation for all of them.
We are looking forward to your next visit to Paris and to have the pleasure to meet you again.
Yours sincerely,
Fabrice Moizan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (801)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

195 - 201 of 801 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2014

The location of the hotel is excellent. And that’s pretty much the only unqualified positive comment one can make about this place.

While décor is subjective, its execution is not. In the main, “grand” spaces of the hotel and attached restaurants instead of presenting the entire space in the best possible way, they have decided to hide quite a few of the working parts of the hotel behind curtains, which they then promptly tend to forget open, so that even in the lobby you can clearly see industrial looking doors etc. The rooms themselves have a rather peculiar layout with the (sink-less) toilet at one end of a skinny corridor and bathroom at the other. Washing ones hands after using the toilet involves a fair trek, especially annoying at nights. The room décor relies heavily on golden accents achieved by using golden-coloured wallpaper which has been applied inexpertly, often misaligned. The look is not a flattering one, even if you happen to like the style. But my main gripe with the décor is that you have no sense whatsoever of being in one of Paris’ historic buildings. Any architectural reminder of the history of the building has been ripped out and replaced with an anywhere, anytime look. I do not know if other rooms were done differently, but ours could have been in any building anywhere in the world. What a missed opportunity!

Cleanliness is an issue as well. After 15 minutes of running around on the carpet barefoot, our toddler had black feet. Also someone had forgotten an old washcloth in one of the beds and put the sheets over it, prompting a middle-of-the-night Princess and the Pea experience with disgusting ending!

The staff are very friendly and speak excellent English, neither of which should be taken for granted and was much appreciated. Sadly they are not very effective. Our room service orders had missing items, the butler service never called back to confirm reservations and housekeeping showed up at 22:15 one night for the turndown service, insistently knocked on the door and then opened it with their key when we were not fast enough to respond, despite the “Do not disturb” sign. Needless to say, did not go down well with our sleeping toddler.

Some staff are also a bit too keen on soliciting tips and will linger when delivering room service hoping you will get the hint. One person took 4 minutes to describe our soup order to us!

This is really a nice 4star hotel, in which the friendliness of staff over shines their shortcomings. If it was priced as such, this would have been a positive review. As it is, it is an overpriced rip-off designed to capitalise on tourists’ giddy excitement of finding themselves in the centre of Paris.

I hope that the refurbishment of the Crillon Hotel finishes ahead of schedule and that amazing hotel becomes available once again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank CHR1S72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabrice M, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Fouquet's Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Sir,
It is always astonishing to read the same comments that have already been posted, by another Pseudonym created almost only for this review.
Both of you seem to come from Toulouse, describing in a very detailed way the decoration of the hotel, indeed you seem to have travelled together since both feed-back are alike.
We certainly do apologize if you have been guest in our hotel and you haven’t enjoyed the design, decoration and rooms.
We seem to have no record of your stay and we would very much enjoy discussing your review with you in person. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly at your convenience.
Cordially,
Fabrice Moizan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

This hotel's location is the best thing about it. The outside of the building gives the impression of French elegance you would expect from the heart of Paris, but none of this is reflected in the inside. The iindoors decor is best described as "contemporary kitch", think any big chain hotel but with more gold accents and fake crystal chandeliers. There is no sense of the history of the building and in some cases there is downright architectural vandalism, e.g. the original windows have been replaced by UPVC and external walls that don't have the original stone/lime plaster intricate design are concreted grey with an awful cover of silver/grey 'tree branches' hanging off them (this is difficult to describe but it is as ugly as it sounds).

The decor is also aging badly with all sorts of annoying little problems, e.g. one of the taps didn't work well, one of the light switches didn't work at all, the 'make up my room' sign would not switch off, etc. The toilet is also inconveniently located at the entrance of the room with the sink as far away as possible.

The staff are polite and friendly but seem to be struggling, e.g. housekeeping kept trying to turn down our beds at 22h, room service orders had one item missing each time, we were charged for a whole extra room by mistake (bizarely room charges were made on our credit card in the middle of our stay - I promise you we didn't look like we were about to make a run for it!).

However, worse by far is the airconditioning fan which is targeted right onto the bed, so you can either chose to have a fresh, well-ventilated room but have the cold air hit you on the head all night long, or you can switch it off and suffocate from the stuffy air. The basic promise of budget hotels is a good night's sleep, this hotel doesn't even deliver on this count despite its extravagant cost.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Booboos24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabrice M, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Fouquet's Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank you very much for taking the time to share this detailed feed-back in regards of your last stay with us in January.

First of all, please accept my personal apologies for the obvious inconveniences caused by some problems you encountered while staying with us. I have immediately fully investigated your observations and would like to briefly comment on your points:
We regret that you did not enjoy the decoration of the hotel imagined by the famous interior designer Jacques Garcia. The Hôtel Fouquet’s Barrière is a juxtaposition of worlds and trends: baroque, surrealism, classicism. Strong style contrasts between the traditional Fouquet’s and the contemporary hotel are nevertheless intimately linked by the golden laurel leaf directly inspired by Jean Royère’s wall light creations for the Fouquet’s. A discreet reference to the world of motion pictures.

The exteriors are indeed imagined by the well-known architect Edouard François, who used an extremely specific “molded-pierced” technique - commonly referred to as “copy-paste” by connoisseurs worldwide (this technical feat consists in building an Haussmannian façade replica in raw cement). The façade is then completed with windows in mirror glass to reflect the light. The “molded-pierced” façade covers part of the hotel building, to complete the historical hausmannian buildings.

We do apologize for the technical problems you encountered; there are absolutely no excuses for details to be overlooked. In this instance, your room should be checked by the housekeeper. I will make sure that the procedure is being reinforced with immediate effect. However, I do not seem to find records that our staff had been made aware of that while staying with us; naturally we would have changed you to another room.
Your constructive remarks will certainly help to us to quickly reach the quality we aim. Thanks again for the courtesy of your time. We all look forward to welcoming you again in a not too distant future.
Yours sincerely,

Fabrice Moizan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

From the very moment we arrived at the hotel we received exceptional attention and a very warm and genuine welcome. The staff continuously exceeded our expectations with unsurpassed level of service and fantastic amenities. As a Luxury hospitality professional i consider a great hotel experience an important component of traveling and the team at Fouquet's Barriere went above & beyond my wildest wishes- Most travelers who spoiled with choices in the beautiful "City of Lights", should NEVER look past the Fouquet's Barriere. The team is very successful at giving the clients a meaningful experience and not just a product; that is why i believe Fouquet's Barriere represents the quintessence of luxury. Thank you for being experts at creating memories....
Sarah Lechevalier

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SarahLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabrice M, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Fouquet's Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear Sarah,
Thank you very much for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor following your stay at the Hotel Fouquet’s Barrière.

It was indeed a pleasure to read that you were overall satisfied with our services and enjoyed your stay with us. Your enthusiasm for our hotel and also for our employees is very much appreciated and will be a great source of motivation for them.
We are looking forward to welcome you back soon and wish you and your family a very Happy New Year.

Yours sincerely
Fabrice Moizan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We went as a couple for a special occasion. All the service was excellent but perhaps a special mention for the conciergerie staff who dealt with the arrival and departure so smoothly and found us a perfect restaurant in the Bois de Boulogne.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeremy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabrice M, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Fouquet's Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Jeremy,
Thank you very much for having chosen the Hotel Fouquet’s Barrière for this special occasion and for sharing your impressions on Tripadvisor!
We are thrilled that you had a wonderful time! All of us at the Hotel Fouquet’s and specially the concierge team look very much forward to your next visit.
We wish you and your family a very Happy New Year,
Yours sincerely,
Fabrice Moizan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Really enjoyed our 3 night stay celebrating our Anniversary. Exceptional property with every convenience. You will be hard pressed to find a Parisian hotel as nice as Fouquet's and with service rarely found anywhere in the world. Only drawback (for some), is the busy Champs-Élysées location but the updated construction provided a wonderful and quiet retreat. Only downside was the Vuitton flagship store across the street-definately raised the price of our visit.

Really found the spacious room a pleasure in a city with mostly smaller hotel rooms. The staff could not have been more helpful. We arrived before our room was ready and the front desk offered us a lovely breakfast in the hotel restaurant gratis.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabrice M, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Fouquet's Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Mike,
We are thrilled that you enjoyed staying with us at the Hotel Fouquet’s Barrière for your anniversary and thank you very much for sharing your impressions with us on Tripadvisor!
Thank you as well for your wonderful comments on our staff, they will be glad to hear that you enjoyed their services.
We naturally regret that your shopping at Louis Vuitton facing the hotel raised the price of your visit, but we are quite sure that you have obtained a wonderful souvenir of this special occasion!
The entire team is looking forward to welcome you back soon to Paris,
Yours sincerely,
Fabrice Moizan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

My husband and I stayed at the fouquets for three nights. I have to say that it was fantastic. The staff were friendly and very accommodating. I booked the trip for my husbands 40th birthday and they made it very special for him. Special thanks to Laura from butler services who arranged champaign and a gorgeous cake on our arrival.
Our room was spacious and we even managed to get a view of the Eiffel Tower (well the top of it anyway). The bed was really comfortable with great soft pillows. There was a complimentary mini bar which was great as the drinks at the hotel are very expensive.
The bathroom was very nice also. Great walk-in shower, lovely big bath with a tv at the foot of it.
The only slightly annoying thing, and it is slight, was in the dressing/bar area in the night if you walked pass it the light would click on automatically. As I'm 6 months pregnant I would be up a few times in the night and couldn't help but pass the door way. It would have been good if I could have turned this light off.
Also another big thanks to the concierge for getting us a table for lunch at the Eiffel Tower. We didn't think we stood a chance as we should have booked well in advance but they pulled it out of the bag for us.
We loved our stay at the fouquets and will defiantly return. Thank you again to all the staff who made our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabrice M, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Fouquet's Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Claire,
Thank you very much for leaving these wonderful comments on Tripadvisor ! We are delighted that you enjoyed staying with us on this special occasion.
Thank you as well for congratulating our Butler Laura, I will not fail to share your feed-back with her.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon! In the meantime, we would like to wish you and your family a very Happy New Year!
Yours sincerely,

Fabrice Moizan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Champs-Elysees
Le Royal Monceau-Raffles Paris
Champs-Elysees
Prince de Galles, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Champs-Elysees
The Peninsula Paris
The Peninsula Paris
#12 of 1,802 in Paris
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Park Hyatt Paris - Vendome
Champs-Elysees
Four Seasons Hotel George V Paris
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Le Meurice
Le Meurice
#37 of 1,802 in Paris
1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barriere Le Fouquet's Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barriere Le Fouquet's Paris

Address: 46 avenue George V | 08 Arr., 75008 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Elysees
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Paris
#15 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#21 Spa Hotel in Paris
#38 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#40 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £459 - £749 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Barriere Le Fouquet's Paris 5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located at the corner of the Champs-Elysées and George V avenues, Hotel Barrière Le Fouquet’s Paris, fully renovated in 2017, offers the perfect setting for a quintessential Parisian experience. The 81 Rooms and Suites, enhanced in the inimitable style of interior designer Jacques Garcia, welcome guests in the utmost comfort. The hotel offers fine dining thanks to its two restaurants: legendary brasserie Fouquet’s, whose menu is designed in collaboration with Pierre Gagnaire, and unexpected Le Joy, opening up onto the hotel’s peaceful inner garden. Spa Diane Barrière, featuring exclusive facilities including a 15m long pool, is the perfect place to unwind in the French Capital. Throughout their stay, guests benefit from elegant, attentive, and discreet “à la française” service with round-the-clock Butler and Concierge services, and complimentary mini-bar. The essence of Paris has an address. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Splitty, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Barriere Le Fouquet's Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fouquets Barriere Hotel
Fouquets Barriere Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing