We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best hotel in Paris” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Barriere Le Fouquet's Paris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Barriere Le Fouquet's Paris
Ranked #32 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best hotel in Paris”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

I definitely recommend this hotel! The location is excellent - just few steps away from Champs Elysees, Avenue Montaigne, superb both for shopping and sightseeing. The decor is elegant and luxurious, staff is incredibly polite and professional. Very discrete yet extremely helpful. Our room was spacious with amazing view to Champs Elysees thanks to hotel manager who upgraded us to Junior Suite. Really good breakfast - I'm on a gluten free diet and was happy to find selection of fresh gluten free bread and pastry. And if you fell exhausted after discovering Paris I warmly recommend couples' massage at the hotel spa.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MajaLuvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabrice M, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Fouquet's Paris, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your amazing recommendation on Tripadvisor! It was such a pleasure to welcome you to the Hotel Fouquet’s Barrière and I am really glad that you enjoyed the upgrade to the Executive Junior Suite with the view to the Champs Elysees.

It is a real motivation for all of us to read that the services of the team where up to your expectations!

We are very much looking forward to your next visit. As you might now, we will soon launch our new Sunday brunches – where we will serve as well a large variety of gluten free dishes.

Yours sincerely,

Fabrice Moizan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    638
    97
    22
    12
    7
See reviews for
117
395
38
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Marseille, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

First I want to say that the location of Fouquet Barriere is excellent! The hotel is amazing, it has a nice decor with pure French attention to details, big and very rooms, great service, very nice staff and very good breakfast! I recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to have a 10* night in Paris or a romantic night!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabrice M, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Fouquet's Paris, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Robert,
Thank you very much for your incredible review on Tripadvisor ! We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed staying with us and that you appreciated our décor, the large rooms and our service.
We are very much looking forward to your next visit, which hopefully will be for a romantic stay!
Yours sincerely,
Fabrice Moizan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

This is the kind of hotel that showcases Paris perfectly. Wonderful service, impeccable attention to detail, prime location. The Fouquet's Barriere has it all. The staff makes the guest feel like we have been invited into their own home. Perfect rooms, clean and well maintained. But the hospitality alone sets the FB far above the competition. It Is perfect.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabrice M, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Fouquet's Paris, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Michele,
Thank you very much for your wonderful comment on Tripadvisor, it has been a real pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us!
Naturally I have shared your feed-back on our service with the team, this is a great source of motivation for all of them.
We are looking forward to your next visit to Paris and to have the pleasure to meet you again.
Yours sincerely,
Fabrice Moizan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

The location of the hotel is excellent. And that’s pretty much the only unqualified positive comment one can make about this place.

While décor is subjective, its execution is not. In the main, “grand” spaces of the hotel and attached restaurants instead of presenting the entire space in the best possible way, they have decided to hide quite a few of the working parts of the hotel behind curtains, which they then promptly tend to forget open, so that even in the lobby you can clearly see industrial looking doors etc. The rooms themselves have a rather peculiar layout with the (sink-less) toilet at one end of a skinny corridor and bathroom at the other. Washing ones hands after using the toilet involves a fair trek, especially annoying at nights. The room décor relies heavily on golden accents achieved by using golden-coloured wallpaper which has been applied inexpertly, often misaligned. The look is not a flattering one, even if you happen to like the style. But my main gripe with the décor is that you have no sense whatsoever of being in one of Paris’ historic buildings. Any architectural reminder of the history of the building has been ripped out and replaced with an anywhere, anytime look. I do not know if other rooms were done differently, but ours could have been in any building anywhere in the world. What a missed opportunity!

Cleanliness is an issue as well. After 15 minutes of running around on the carpet barefoot, our toddler had black feet. Also someone had forgotten an old washcloth in one of the beds and put the sheets over it, prompting a middle-of-the-night Princess and the Pea experience with disgusting ending!

The staff are very friendly and speak excellent English, neither of which should be taken for granted and was much appreciated. Sadly they are not very effective. Our room service orders had missing items, the butler service never called back to confirm reservations and housekeeping showed up at 22:15 one night for the turndown service, insistently knocked on the door and then opened it with their key when we were not fast enough to respond, despite the “Do not disturb” sign. Needless to say, did not go down well with our sleeping toddler.

Some staff are also a bit too keen on soliciting tips and will linger when delivering room service hoping you will get the hint. One person took 4 minutes to describe our soup order to us!

This is really a nice 4star hotel, in which the friendliness of staff over shines their shortcomings. If it was priced as such, this would have been a positive review. As it is, it is an overpriced rip-off designed to capitalise on tourists’ giddy excitement of finding themselves in the centre of Paris.

I hope that the refurbishment of the Crillon Hotel finishes ahead of schedule and that amazing hotel becomes available once again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CHR1S72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabrice M, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Fouquet's Paris, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Sir,
It is always astonishing to read the same comments that have already been posted, by another Pseudonym created almost only for this review.
Both of you seem to come from Toulouse, describing in a very detailed way the decoration of the hotel, indeed you seem to have travelled together since both feed-back are alike.
We certainly do apologize if you have been guest in our hotel and you haven’t enjoyed the design, decoration and rooms.
We seem to have no record of your stay and we would very much enjoy discussing your review with you in person. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly at your convenience.
Cordially,
Fabrice Moizan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

This hotel's location is the best thing about it. The outside of the building gives the impression of French elegance you would expect from the heart of Paris, but none of this is reflected in the inside. The iindoors decor is best described as "contemporary kitch", think any big chain hotel but with more gold accents and fake crystal chandeliers. There is no sense of the history of the building and in some cases there is downright architectural vandalism, e.g. the original windows have been replaced by UPVC and external walls that don't have the original stone/lime plaster intricate design are concreted grey with an awful cover of silver/grey 'tree branches' hanging off them (this is difficult to describe but it is as ugly as it sounds).

The decor is also aging badly with all sorts of annoying little problems, e.g. one of the taps didn't work well, one of the light switches didn't work at all, the 'make up my room' sign would not switch off, etc. The toilet is also inconveniently located at the entrance of the room with the sink as far away as possible.

The staff are polite and friendly but seem to be struggling, e.g. housekeeping kept trying to turn down our beds at 22h, room service orders had one item missing each time, we were charged for a whole extra room by mistake (bizarely room charges were made on our credit card in the middle of our stay - I promise you we didn't look like we were about to make a run for it!).

However, worse by far is the airconditioning fan which is targeted right onto the bed, so you can either chose to have a fresh, well-ventilated room but have the cold air hit you on the head all night long, or you can switch it off and suffocate from the stuffy air. The basic promise of budget hotels is a good night's sleep, this hotel doesn't even deliver on this count despite its extravagant cost.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Booboos24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabrice M, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Fouquet's Paris, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you very much for taking the time to share this detailed feed-back in regards of your last stay with us in January.

First of all, please accept my personal apologies for the obvious inconveniences caused by some problems you encountered while staying with us. I have immediately fully investigated your observations and would like to briefly comment on your points:
We regret that you did not enjoy the decoration of the hotel imagined by the famous interior designer Jacques Garcia. The Hôtel Fouquet’s Barrière is a juxtaposition of worlds and trends: baroque, surrealism, classicism. Strong style contrasts between the traditional Fouquet’s and the contemporary hotel are nevertheless intimately linked by the golden laurel leaf directly inspired by Jean Royère’s wall light creations for the Fouquet’s. A discreet reference to the world of motion pictures.

The exteriors are indeed imagined by the well-known architect Edouard François, who used an extremely specific “molded-pierced” technique - commonly referred to as “copy-paste” by connoisseurs worldwide (this technical feat consists in building an Haussmannian façade replica in raw cement). The façade is then completed with windows in mirror glass to reflect the light. The “molded-pierced” façade covers part of the hotel building, to complete the historical hausmannian buildings.

We do apologize for the technical problems you encountered; there are absolutely no excuses for details to be overlooked. In this instance, your room should be checked by the housekeeper. I will make sure that the procedure is being reinforced with immediate effect. However, I do not seem to find records that our staff had been made aware of that while staying with us; naturally we would have changed you to another room.
Your constructive remarks will certainly help to us to quickly reach the quality we aim. Thanks again for the courtesy of your time. We all look forward to welcoming you again in a not too distant future.
Yours sincerely,

Fabrice Moizan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

From the very moment we arrived at the hotel we received exceptional attention and a very warm and genuine welcome. The staff continuously exceeded our expectations with unsurpassed level of service and fantastic amenities. As a Luxury hospitality professional i consider a great hotel experience an important component of traveling and the team at Fouquet's Barriere went above & beyond my wildest wishes- Most travelers who spoiled with choices in the beautiful "City of Lights", should NEVER look past the Fouquet's Barriere. The team is very successful at giving the clients a meaningful experience and not just a product; that is why i believe Fouquet's Barriere represents the quintessence of luxury. Thank you for being experts at creating memories....
Sarah Lechevalier

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SarahLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabrice M, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Fouquet's Paris, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Sarah,
Thank you very much for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor following your stay at the Hotel Fouquet’s Barrière.

It was indeed a pleasure to read that you were overall satisfied with our services and enjoyed your stay with us. Your enthusiasm for our hotel and also for our employees is very much appreciated and will be a great source of motivation for them.
We are looking forward to welcome you back soon and wish you and your family a very Happy New Year.

Yours sincerely
Fabrice Moizan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Attiki, Greece
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

We went as a couple for a special occasion. All the service was excellent but perhaps a special mention for the conciergerie staff who dealt with the arrival and departure so smoothly and found us a perfect restaurant in the Bois de Boulogne.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabrice M, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Fouquet's Paris, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Jeremy,
Thank you very much for having chosen the Hotel Fouquet’s Barrière for this special occasion and for sharing your impressions on Tripadvisor!
We are thrilled that you had a wonderful time! All of us at the Hotel Fouquet’s and specially the concierge team look very much forward to your next visit.
We wish you and your family a very Happy New Year,
Yours sincerely,
Fabrice Moizan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Champs-Elysees
Le Royal Monceau-Raffles Paris
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Keppler
Hotel Keppler
#28 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Prince de Galles Hotel
Prince de Galles Hotel
#45 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Grand Hotel du Palais Royal
Champs-Elysees
Four Seasons Hotel George V Paris
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Ekta
Hotel Ekta
#40 of 1,795 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barriere Le Fouquet's Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barriere Le Fouquet's Paris

Property: Hotel Barriere Le Fouquet's Paris
Address: 46 avenue George V | 08 Arr., 75008 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Elysees
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Paris
#15 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#16 Spa Hotel in Paris
#25 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#40 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Barriere Le Fouquet's Paris 5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the corner of the Champs-Elysées and Avenue George V, Hotel Barrière Le Fouquet's Paris is at the heart of Paris' Golden Triangle and within spitting distance of the Arc de Triomphe. The quiet opulence of this lavish five-star hotel enfolds the visitor in a serene embrace, marrying tasteful modernity with an overlay of traditional Parisian grandeur. This ultra-chic urban retreat is stunning and eye-catching with its audacious remodeled Haussmann-style architecture and interior design by Jacques Garcia. Amongst the largest available in Paris, the 81 rooms including 33 suites of the Hotel Le Fouquet's are elegant and well appointed: a complimentary selection of beverages in the mini-bar, 24/7 butler service for all room categories, free Wifi, and access to the sumptuous spa...The rooms and suites provide beautiful views over the Champ-Elysées, the George V avenue or the magnificent and relaxing interior garden of the hotel. The hotel extends a special welcome to guests travelling with children. The hotel's 5 restaurants and 3 bars are designed to suit everyone's taste and mood. The legendary and classic Fouquet's restaurant embodies the ultimate in luxurious French brasseries. Since 1899, the establishment has been a favoured meeting place for international members of the cinema, arts and culture industries alike. Located at the very heart of the hotel and leading onto the stunning interior garden, the gourmet Le Diane Michelin-starred restaurant is a true oasis of tranquility. La Petite Maison de Nicole restaurant adds a lively venue with its authentic Mediterranean flavours. The Le Lucien Bar and its stylish terrace remain amongst the Parisians' preferred locations and Marta Le Bar tucked away beside the lobby of the hotel, welcomes hedonistic clients with an eclectic menu, including classic refreshments, cocktails mixed by Stéphane Ginouvès - named a "Meilleur Ouvrier de France" in the bartending category as well as midnight snacks. Hotel Le Fouquet's hosts a true cocoon of serenity. The Spa Diane Barrière by Shiseido boasts a large indoor heated pool (50 ft x 20 ft), a unique aqua-circuit and a modern fitness centre. It's a true sanctuary to relax the body, soothe the soul and renew the spirit. An affiliate of the Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel combines all the ingredients to help its guests enjoy an exceptional experience during their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TravelUp and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Barriere Le Fouquet's Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fouquets Barriere Hotel
Fouquets Barriere Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing