We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Kept Secret in Marais!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Caron de Beaumarchais
Ranked #97 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Sebastian, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“The Best Kept Secret in Marais!”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Paris, as you know, has so many hotels in all budgets (but mostly high) that it becomes mind-boggling to even know where to begin to look for the best hotel for your plans. That was what I faced when planning this trip. We were traveling France for 1 month and ending up in Paris. We decided to stay for 4 nights only, and needed a good location to complete these plans.

I found that Hotel Caron de Beaumarchais was recommended in several travel guides and was rated very highly by TripAdvisor and Hotel Caron de Beaumarchais is just as lovely as all the pictures, however do note that it is a very small and compact hotel....but charming nonetheless. Located in the heart of the Marais section of Paris, it offers an easy walk to Notre Dame, the Seine River, Sainte Chapelle, the Pompidou Center, Place des Vosges, Place de la Bastille, Il St. Louis, the Latin Quarter, plus many other smaller historical places. Restaurants abound on every corner and shops are everywhere too. Metro station is a quick 5 minute walk and will get you everywhere else you want to go.

While our room (in the back of the house) was small, it actually allowed space for our suitcases to be stashed without having to move them every time you walked around the room/bed. There were 2 closets, one for my husband and one for me, a cute table if you wanted coffee in your room, TV, a very compact but modern bathroom with lovely amenities including terry cloth robes.

The breakfast offered was really too much for one person, so we shared it the one day we enjoyed breakfast in. So, you can share the breakfast if you need to eat first thing when you get up. There is an elevator in the hotel, so you don't have to worry about carrying your bags up (we were on the 6th floor). I think there are only about 18 rooms in the hotel.

All staff members were extremely well mannered and very accommodating, offering restaurant suggestions and making reservations if we wanted. When my husband and I travel, we always try to find clean, good value hotels (which tend to be 2-3 star hotels in Europe which are usually less expensive), rather than spending our money on the typical American-type hotels.....we have more money to enjoy our touring, shopping, food and wine! So, when I find a hotel that goes beyond what one would expect from a 2-3 star facility, it it worth noting.

We made our return reservation to the airport through the hotel for van service, but when the day came to leave, the van never showed. A very apologetic general manager said that the van service is not reliable, but was quick to get us a cab and even offered us some money to help defray the added cost.

My husband said he would definitely return to this hotel, so even with all the frou-frou of this hotel, which usually pleases us women, your man will enjoy his stay too!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank RoseDlovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    458
    202
    36
    10
    9
See reviews for
91
383
47
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Garden City, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

The location of this charming hotel is fabulous. You can walk to so many shops and fabulous eating spots. The local French flavour is infused in all that you do. You can feel the sense of a neighborhood as you stroll down the narrow cobblestone streets. Care is taken to ensure comfort and cleanliness at the esthetically pleasing hotel. All at the hotel were helpful and a pleasure to encounter. A revisit would be a welcomed activity.Room are small but very tasteful and efficient!

Room Tip: Rooms in the front have the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cggc1661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights on February . Greeted on arrival by the very friendly and knowledgable manager who gave us in depth information on how to get around and what scams in Paris to be aware of.all staff spoke excellent English along with several other languages. Nothing was too much trouble and would highly recommend staying here. Close to the metro and buses, within walking distance to major attractions such as Notre Dame. Restaurant s and boutique bars abound. Rooms are small, but warm and comfortable.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank toptraveller14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

We loved this hotel-a very warm and friendly welcome, super great value breakfast (that you can share between two and order an extra coffee) great location and so quiet even though its right in the thick of things! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KandJ_ourExperience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Delightful boutique hotel, well located. We were welcomed warmly — the staff were most helpful and friendly. Breakfast was delicious. The room was cosy and clean. The decor throughout was charming, much effort had been made.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cml04150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Our friends stayed at this hotel after we went to a wedding in the Loire Valley just after Christmas. I really wanted to stay here as on a previous trip to Paris, I spotted this hotel and thought it was so charming and in one of the best locations in Paris. Our group had 4 rooms and stayed for 6 nights and it was simply the best experience one could hope for.
The location in the heart of the Marais is seconds from the Metro but you won't need to use it that much because it is walking distance to so many of the sights in this amazing city. Minutes on foot to Hotel de Ville and Place des Vosges (5 min), Notre Dame (12-15), Louvre (15-20). It is perfectly suited whether you want to do a lot of shopping, eat great food or visit the sights. As mentioned in the title, the staff was amazing and we have stayed in some fine hotels around the world. They are unparalleled in their knowledge, willingness to help with everything from restaurant recommendations, sightseeing, reservations for taxis and restaurants, shopping advise etc. All with warmth, professionalism and a genuine desire for their guests to have an excellent and memorable trip. It was my birthday while we stayed there and since one of my friends had informed them, they even bought me a delicious box of gourmet chocolates. I was simply stunned. The rooms are small but beautifully and carefully decorated...this is not a Sheraton or Hilton Hotel so if that is what you are looking for, than this is not for you. But if you want a hotel that is quintessentially Parisian, with charm, romance and style then this is your best bet. Breakfast was huge and we shared a breakfast on most days with delicious baked goods, freshly squeezed orange juice, an egg and kiwi. It can be served in your room or in the charming breakfast room. Since we were in a group, it was a wonderful start of the day to meet with friends and plan your day...all in all, I can't wait to go back to Paris and would want to stay in this gem of a hotel in a heartbeat. I have written many hotel reviews but few with as much enthusiasm! Thank you Caron de Beaumarchais for making our trip such wonderful one...we almost don't remember how much it rained and how chilly it was...!

Room Tip: Rooms on the top two floors have balconies facing the Front! Worth it to get one of these rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CherylToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

The place itself was quite quaint, you can tell right away most of the work put on the hotel was towards decoration. The rooms are sadly extremely small, and are made so further by desks and old wardrobes which try (at the cost of comfort and practicality) to make the place look like the last abode of Louis XIV.

To put it more bluntly, some rooms' only window face a brick wall. Regret staying here, would not do it again.

Genevieve went through hell and back to accommodate every single of our requests. She should be the owner, so she can sell the place and start anew.

Room Tip: If you MUST stay here, make sure to pick a room facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BenTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alain B, Responsable réception at Hotel Caron de Beaumarchais, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Sir,
I first thank you for your message even if I am a bit surprised at the same time that you wrote it so long after your stay with us. I did not understand that you had been so unsatisfied. It seems that you did not enjoy your room while in February, low season, it would have been so easy to change you to another room, to give you an upgrade or even help you to find another hotel.
With all my regrets,
Geneviève
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Le Marais
Les Tournelles
Les Tournelles
#83 of 1,802 in Paris
183 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel de JoBo
Hotel de JoBo
#34 of 1,802 in Paris
147 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Dupond-Smith
Hotel Dupond-Smith
#6 of 1,802 in Paris
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Marais
Hotel de la Bretonnerie
Hotel de la Bretonnerie
#326 of 1,802 in Paris
486 reviews
Le Marais
La Chambre du Marais
La Chambre du Marais
#45 of 1,802 in Paris
186 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Duo
Hotel Duo
#389 of 1,802 in Paris
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Caron de Beaumarchais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caron de Beaumarchais

Property: Hotel Caron de Beaumarchais
Address: 12 rue Vieille du Temple | 04 Arr., 75004 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Le Marais
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#79 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#153 Family Hotel in Paris
#341 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Caron de Beaumarchais 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming boutique hotel with antiques in Paris historical center, Le Marais. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Caron de Beaumarchais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caron De Beaumarchais Paris
Caron De Beaumarchais Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing