We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Plan to spend a whole day!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Musee du Louvre

Musee du Louvre
Book In Advance
More Info
US$30.94*
and up
Skip-the-Line Entrance to Louvre Museum
Ranked #3 of 1,087 things to do in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Home to Leonardo da Vinci's Mona Lisa, the Louvre is considered the world's greatest art museum, with an unparalleled collection of items covering the full spectrum of art through the ages.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Plan to spend a whole day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

Loved the Louvre. There is no way you could do the whole thing in a day, and we struggled even to see the things we wanted to. Very crowded around the Mona Lisa, but other amazing art works are not so busy so plenty of space for quiet reflection.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank AshAndMog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70,925 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50,261
    15,380
    4,012
    848
    424
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
seattle
Level Contributor
79 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“It's the Louvre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

There is nothing negative to say about the Louvre other than the fact that it is impossible to do it justice in only one day. It is everything one expects it to be and then some. Missing the Louvre would be like missing the Eiffel Tower.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank ciao-bg5053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
388 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
“Must See - Spend Some Time On The Website To Plan Your Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

I visited the Louvre three times on my last visit to Paris, but it just never seems like enough time. To me, its like visiting the Met - between the permanent collections and the special exhibits, it seems there is never enough time to scratch the surface, let alone see everything. I honestly think this is one of those few attractions where it does pay to do a little research before you go, not only because of the museum's size, but also because of the confusing layout. It can be difficult (sometimes impossible) to get between wings depending on what floor you're on and what sections are closed. If you have a plan ahead of time of must-sees and generally how to get to them, you'll still send up stumbling onto gems you didn't even realize are there. (http://www.louvre.fr/en)

That's what happened on my last trip when I found the Marie de' Medici cycle by Ruebens (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Marie_de%27_Medici_cycle). We had seen some European paintings on our list and were trying to get to another part of the museum when all of a sudden we were in a colossal room standing literally surrounded by gorgeous, luxurious paintings depicting the life of Marie de' Medici. The artwork was incredible, as was the life they depicted (was she complicit in her husband-the king's assassination? how about that one day coup? remember when she was exiled by her son the king?) and perhaps most fascinating were the political minefields Reubens had to navigate to put this work together as Marie's request. It was a magical and totally unplanned experience.

Some other notes:

Wednesday night the museum is open past 9PM. We found it still crowded but less chaotic than during the day.

Museum Pass or advance purchase tickets get you on much shorter lines for security. The pass also allows you to break up the visit across multiple days, which makes the museum less overwhelming.

If you're going to the Raphael exhibit, it is not covered by the museum pass - you need to pay separately.

Have an incredible visit!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelCuties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“must go -- but can be overwhelming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

This is the biggest museum in Paris.. and it can be overwhelming and exhausting to do in one day.. but we did it!! Depending on what you're interested in, some sections can be invigorating and exciting and others can be overkill.. waaay too many christian art and artifacts for my taste, but that's what this place is known for.. but you have to go see it if you're in Paris. Get the Museum pass and skip the long line for the quick entry inside!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank sweptaway1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good, but exhausting!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

The Lourve is obviously a "must see". We arrived about 11:00 am on a Saturday and the wait was only about 15 minutes (we went back to the square outside the Lourve the next day at about 4:00 pm and the wait had to have been several hours at the least!) Just so much to see and take in! We were in the Lourve for about three hours and still only saw about half -- we saw the highlights, but just had to leave as we were so exhausted.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank traveller15_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Musee du Louvre also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Musee du Louvre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing