We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel George V Paris
Ranked #17 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
646 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“Perfection”
Reviewed 20 June 2011

From the moment we arrived we knew we were in one of the best hotels in the world. Everything is perfect here. Our room was amazing with a wraparound terrace providing virtually a 360 degree view of Paris. Dinner at Cinc the hotel's signature restaurant was incredible. This is an extraordinary Hotel experience and worth a splurge.
It is insanely expensive but if you are traveling to Paris to celebrate a special occasion you are guaranteed a first rate experience here.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bccrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,052
    163
    65
    42
    31
See reviews for
442
1,036
107
299
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

My friend and I dined at the La Galerie for lunch in February of this year and it was acceptable but really nothing more.

I must admit though that I was quite disappointed when we reviewed our bill and found there was a charge of eight euros for tap water. The waitress, of course, corrected this but we felt this "mistake" was intentional.. I order tap water all over Paris and it is very accepatable to do so. I have eaten at The Meurice Hotel and they are absolutely delightful about serving tap water to diners.

For this reason, I would hesitate to eat here again especially since there are so many lovely restaurants in Paris in which to choose. An experience such as this leaves a bad taste in one's mouth.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank worldtravelernow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

From the aroma of fresh flowers in the lobby to the beds, to the spa to the brilliant service we received from the fantastic staff....amazing, amazing hotel

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hotelier80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
115 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We stayed here for three nights at the end of a lovely cruise with visits in England, Ireland and Scotland. The George V was perfection. We had a lovely room overlooking a court-yard. The amenities and service were top class. It was one of most beautiful hotels that I ever stayed in. It's very expensive but of course, it's Paris and you're in one of the most beautiful hotels in the world!

Room Tip: Wish I knew, I was a guest of my fellow traveler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marygrozier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

My stay at George V to propose to my girlfriend was beyond my expectations. The service was impeccable - especially given the hotel was full due to Rolland Garros. Every staff member from bellboy to security to conceirge to gym staff seemed genuinely interested in anticipating your needs and making your stay enjoyable. The organisation of my proposal was nothing short of amazing - dinner at le cinq where they made some special additions for my girlfriend at my request, drinks at the bar then a well timed security escort to a location overlooking the Eiffel tower where they had set up candles, flowers and macaroons for a proposal just as the tower sparkled at 11pm. The experience came at a cost but it was worth it and we shall return. Great gym & spa, beautiful flowers everywhere you look and excellent decor throughout the hotel. A genuine 5 star experience.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spasmitis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

As you arrive to the hotel, the doormen are waiting for you with a smile and pretty much already know your names... the staff learns about your preferences very quickly, I don't know how they do it... as if they were all secret service agents trying to figure out your next move and get there before you do. Very impressive. The hotel's location is right off of the Champs-Elysée... and not far from the Crazy Horse Cabaret (walking distance) for a great night of entertainment... shops... tourism, business or just pure relaxation in the spa... it's all there at your fingertips. But all this comes with a price... but some things are priceless...

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dp7net
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England, U.S.A.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

[This review is from a stay before the date choices given; I thought we had entered a review at the time, but our TripAdvisor profile shows only 1 review from us (??)]

From start to (delayed!) departure, this was the magical trip we had hoped it would be. We planned to stay 5 nights, and ended up leaving, with great regret, after 10 days in the most beautiful hotel in the most beautiful city!

This was an especially precious trip, as a medical emergency almost derailed our wedding. (Indeed, we needed to postpone our wedding - at a different Four Seasons - and were actually married in a hospital, "just in case". Fortunately, the originally planned arrangements were simply rescheduled just as planned, but a few months later. Our Honeymoon was similarly delayed by more than a year. Given this background, and the fact that this was a marriage later in life, we decided to splurge, realizing that we almost missed it all entirely...)

The planning was easy, with direct contact with the Concierge, who returned all calls to the States at times requested. We gladly accepted the suggestion to be met at the Airport and assisted through to a car service, and this was a *great* decision. We were met immediately, helped with our luggage retrieval, and then escorted immediately through customs/immigration, bypassing all of the lines. (a very welcome relief after a less than stellar flight on American Airlines, where our first class seats were downgraded to business class (refund REFUSED!?) AND one of the seats didn't recline at all, and there was a note attached so American obviously knew about the problem.)

We arrived early at the George V (and our ONLY disappointment during the entire stay was that we were NOT offered refreshments, nor offered a chance to use the Spa and pool, or a massage, while we sat for a few HOURS with merely some coffee).

ALL disappoinment vanished when we were taken to an upgraded room with a *full* view of the Eiffel Tower!
We were greeted by name every time we walked through the fabulous lobby (how *do* they remember names!?), and the Concierge helped with every request and reservation, large or small.

One VERY special treat was to book a "couples massage" in the private spa room, and we booked an additional two hours there afterwards, and rose petals and champagne awaited us next to the included private spa (large hot tub), along with other refreshments waiting. We could have spent the entire day,,.
The wall murals at the pool were just as charming as pictured, but the pool was much smaller than it had appeared. No problem, as that was not why we were there!

Housekeeping was immaculate and discreet, and scheduled at our request.

We had planned to visit surrounding areas after 5 days in Paris, but everything was so perfect, that we were delighted to find that we could extend our stay. (We had inadvertantly arrived just as the French Open was about to start, so having availability was no small feat!)

We stopped by the other top hotels, either to browse, for a drink, or a meal, and all we can say is that EVERYTHING written about the rudeness elsewhere was true, and there wasn't even a hint of it at the Georges V! (The "best" experience elsewhere was late cocktails at the Plaza Athenee where we were served and then generally ignored - so we didn't bother with a second drink after waiting too long for anyone to appear to ask - but at least the service wasn't outright rude.)

The concierge's suggestions were all excellent, from the transportation to Giverny, to small restaurants and cafes.
We had a real treat at Versailles, because our room service waiter at breakfast that morning (we usually ate in the cafe, at the same table each morning) suggested we rent "golf carts". Golf carts at Versailles? Yes - and so after the inside tour, we found the little rental kiosk, waited a brief time for one to be returned, and spent the rest of the day scooting around the grounds, seeing so much more than we ever could have on foot!

As others have commented (before our stay and after), there was a little "problem" with the bill: There were charges that we simply had not made. Given the total of our bill, it wasn't a lot extra, but we objected, in principle, to what is clearly a general practice: Either they hope one will not scrutinize the bill carefully, or that one will feel too awkward to protest. We noticed, and we definitely protested, although it took a very long time and a seemingly endless number of people who needed to get involved.
THIS WAS *NOT* A WAY TO TREAT DEPARTING GUESTS; it definitely left a bad taste as the "most recent experience" of what otherwise had been everything that we had hoped for, and more...

We have stayed at other 5-star properties in the USA and Europe (including three favorites, Surich's Dolder Grand, Vienna's Bristol, and our other real favorite, Claridges in London); unfortunately nothing in the USA truly compares with these, in atmosphere or service.
[One of the newer Four Season's, in Seattle, is one of the least appealing "luxury" hotels ever! Its location is offputting, in what remains of the "seamy" underside of the city, and we decided to leave before we even checked in. (Whoever chose that site for a "Four Seasons" is presumably working elsewhere now!) The "name" alone does *not* guarantee anything! We returned immediately to the *former* "Four Seasons" hotel in Seattle, the Olympic - now a Fairmont. In addition to the better location, it has the "Old World Elegance" of the grand European hotels, although some rooms could benefit from some updating.
Indeed, this was where we had our delayed wedding earlier, and we stayed in the grand suite that we were told - much to our surprise and dismay - was recently showcased on "The Bachelor"...]

We've also stayed in several smaller and/or lesser rated hotels, where truly superb service was also present... and in far too many where it was not.
TripAdvisor has been a real help; sorting through occasional cranky reviews, it's the "general/overall" reviews that have been truly helpful, with both occasional unexpected "finds", and avoiding places we might otherwise have headed...

The George V

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2PhDs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Le Bristol Paris
#4 of 1,802 in Paris
1,604 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Mandarin Oriental, Paris
Mandarin Oriental, Paris
#11 of 1,802 in Paris
1,432 reviews
Champs-Elysees
The Peninsula Paris
The Peninsula Paris
#15 of 1,802 in Paris
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Plaza Athenee
Hotel Plaza Athenee
#32 of 1,802 in Paris
614 reviews
Trocadero
Shangri-La Hotel Paris
Shangri-La Hotel Paris
#48 of 1,802 in Paris
1,189 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Le Royal Monceau-Raffles Paris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel George V Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel George V Paris

Property: Four Seasons Hotel George V Paris
Address: 31 Av George V | 8th Arr., 75008 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Elysees
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Paris
#5 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#9 Spa Hotel in Paris
#12 Family Hotel in Paris
#15 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel George V Paris 5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful hotel housed in the former landmark Hotel George V, furnished with objects of art and antiques - Near Champs Elysees. The only luxury hotel in Europe to house three Michelin-starred restaurants for a total of 5 stars and to offer a large choice of Suites called "parisian appartments". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Prestigia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel George V Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel George v Paris
Four Seasons Paris
George v Paris
Paris Four Seasons
Hotel George v Paris
George 5 Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing