We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Four Seasons Hotel George V
Nearby Hotels
US$332
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$316
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Mercure Paris Bastille Marais(Paris)(Great Value!)
US$170
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Astoria - Astotel(Paris)(Great Value!)
US$184
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$284
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$217
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$450
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$387
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Kyriad Hotel Paris Bercy Village(Paris)(Great Value!)
US$96
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$163
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$157
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$241
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$233
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$354
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$226
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,654)
Filter reviews
2,654 results
Traveller rating
2,305
181
74
51
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,305
181
74
51
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsle cinqfloral displaysjeff leathambest hotels in the worldluxury hotelroom serviceconcierge teambeautiful hotelbottle of champagnethe ritzeiffel towerbeautiful roomfavorite hoteldeluxe roomchamps elyseesheart of parisvisiting paris
Filter
Updating list...
1,893 - 1,898 of 2,654 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2006

Anyone who finds flaws with this property needs to be admitted to a psychiatric facility!! This hotel is perfection in all respects. Definitely ranks as one of the top, if not THE top, city hotel in the world. The only caveat is that it’s also probably one of the most expensive, so beware.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank luxurytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2006

I took my Company to the George V for our annual dinner this year where we also stayed overnight. It was exceptional. From the pre-stay organisation by the Conference staff to the moment of departure, the service was of the very highest standard and totally faultless in every aspect. I cannot see how it could ever be beaten or even rivalled.
I cannot speak highly enough of the George V and will definitely return as will many of my staff.
Hotels in Central London who claim to be on a par and certainly charge the same as the George V would benefit from a stay there to see how hotels of quality should and can be run.....

  • Stayed: December 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank SpaceHopperSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2006

My fiance and I decided to celebrate our engagement at the George V in Paris and we
could not have chosen a better place to do so.

From check-in to check-out it was an amazing experience that strangely leaves you a
little hollow afterwards when you realise that the rest of the world isn't as perfect,
friendly and efficient.

We arranged for an airport pickup that involves being met at the plane door and taken
through passport control without having to queue which was not so important for us
having only flown from London but if you had flown from further afield I think it would
be greatly appreciated. The driver was extremely knowledgeable and provided some
wonderful recommendations for some alternative sights to visit(this being the latest in
a number of trips to Paris, we were keen to see something else other than the usual
sights).

On arrival we were kindly upgraded to a deluxe suite on the 7th floor with an enormous
terrace, whilst the view itself isnt all that inspiring (other than a distant view of
Notre Damme), were it summertime this would be the wonderful place to have a romantic
sunset drink. The suite itself was immaculately and tastefully decorated.

We had dinner that evening at Le Cinq, the 3 Michellin star restaurant and again were
amazed by both the food and the service (they even managed to provide a perfectly
fitted jacket, something I find hard to locate myself so this was quite impressive, as
I had neglected to pack one). The restaurant itself is an elegant, highly decorated
room and a wonderful experience, although were it not for the unfailingly friendly
service from the staff the atmosphere could have been overwhelmed by the decor. If you
are seeking a buzzing, cooking as theatre type experience this is probably not for you
(we were recommended a restaurant called Costes which we wil try on our next trip to
Paris) but our meals were perfectly executed and delivered with unfailing care and
attention to detail.

Check out was very friendly (they remembered to provide congratulations on our
engagement) although it has to be said that the bill is not for the feint of heart.

All in all the experience was one that we will never forget, the staff are to be highly
commended, in the time we were there we experienced only a desire to do whatever it
took to ensure that we had exactly what we required without hesitation.

26  Thank MJC73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2006

Stayed with my wife for two nights after our wedding. This hotel was the best hotel we have ever stayed in. I was nervous initially given the big price tag and would have been disappointed should _anything_ have been below par. The staff and the hotel exceeded our every expectation.

On arrrival at the beautiful building, in a fantastic location just off the Champs Elysee, we were greeted warmly and checked in with no fuss. We had been upgraded to a Deluxe room with a view to Ave George V. The room was huge! Beautiful decorations, not a mark on the furniture and everything in top order. The management had left a bottle of champagne and some chocolates for us :)

We also ate in the restaurant and loved it! The food was smashing, and the service could not be faulted. My wife asked for an extra fork with my dessert and they brought her a second portion (complements of the chef!). (Food EUR310, Wine EUR90)

Little things, like always keeping your ice bucket full, a shoe cleaning service and twice daily room make-up all added together to make our stay effortless, enjoyable and a real treat.

Go if you can. We certainly will be saving to go again :)

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank Macsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Paris, France
122
Reviewed 19 December 2005

Once in a while, we stay a week-end at the Four Seasons George V to check things out. Perfect in everyway, not much to add to what is superficially obvious.

The décor, although a tad too "interior-designish," works well in combining the original Art Déco and antique furnishings with various newer elements of English Georgean / Queen Anne / Regency, French Empire / Louis XVI / Neoclassical. Among the guest-room furnishing are coffee tables recognized from a well-known European source that one can easily special-order from the States. The overall effect is of a generic upscale beige in the bathrooms, and yellow or blue/gray in the rooms. Gone are the opulent red of the old George V.

For the pure material level of comfort and service, North American / Canadian style, it is absolutely the ultimate in Paris. And the "new" George V itself is quite spectacularly beautiful, especially the courtyard.

Having said that, however, we must redirect our critique to a more sophisticated level. The service at the Four Seasons George V, while exceptional, is in general too nouveau riche in taste: too friendly, too profusely accommodating, too, too much!!!! Is it THAT necessary always for the restaurant staff to accompany monsieur or madame out of Le Cinq to the toilettes???? Frivolous and embarrasing! But we have to give them credit for doing so with such gusto:"Je vous accompagne!" But other times, it's a different story. We lost a scarf in the bar, and the staff was too troubled to be asked to locate it. But they did try...Mind you, we are native Parisian French speakers. (So that goes to show rudeness is democratic in Paris, not just towards Americans!!!)

What we also find disturbing - and sad - is the fact that the George V is now generically referred to as the Four Seasons, with the historic "George V" namesake lost somewhere in translation. What a shame! It was an American who initially created this hotel for the Anglophone clientèle, and named it in honor of George V. It is interesting to note that it is the International customers who always refer to it as the George V, while the American guests always call it the Four Seasons, not always aware of the hotel's significant historic American connection (General Eisenhower established headquarter here at the end of World War II), or the fact that Four Seasons is a Canadian chain.

And after staying here for a while, the hotel does seem like another generic expensive venue for some people to play out their fantasy of wealth and power, and the atmosphere quickly ceases to be classy.

We highly recommend this hotel for a general opulent stay, but beyond that, there are other hotels with more characters, and more histories. In addition, we much prefer the nuancely aristocratic, the discretely restrained, and the slightly stand-offish but acommodating service of the many other Parisian Hôtel-Palaces.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews