We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unhelpful staff and run-down rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Le Saint Gregoire
Ranked #1,081 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Hoboken, NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unhelpful staff and run-down rooms”
Reviewed 31 March 2012

My husband and I wanted a quaint and boutique experience. We chose Hotel le Saint Gregoire due to the reviews and the deal offered directly on the website. Our experience was disappointing. We encountered 3 hotel staff, 2 who appeared very unhelpful - as if they were bodies ensuring nothing goes wrong at the hotel as opposed to ensuring you have a good stay. The rooms themselves are not what as they appear on the website. They are dated, the last renovation was probably done in the late 80's which can be seen from the old carpeting and tile-work. There are only one or two outlets that work in the room, the TV and desk lamps do not work. Strangely, the water closet is on one side of the bedroom while the bath/sink is on the other side. You need to cross over to the other side of the bedroom in order to wash your hands! Lastly, it is not a 4 star luxury hotel that they advertise themselves to be. They are more like an overpriced 2 star. Stay at le Hotel Saint Germain, which we heard from a friend was pretty decent and good value if you get the deal on the website.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buzzthemonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    46
    18
    10
    5
See reviews for
12
66
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

We stayed here on our first trip to Paris, and would definitely stay again.
Easy to access from Gard do Nore (Eurostar) as its only one Metro line away. We received a lovely welcome. Our room was pretty and well decorated, with ample storage space and a comfy bed. The breakfast was continental but plentiful, and the setting picturesque.
The area was perfect for sightseeing. We walked to the Eiffel Tower, Champs Elysees, and the Louvre easily, and Metro stops are very close by. There are lots of local bistros and restaurants which are worth a visit.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin_djk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We stayed here for one night at New Year. The hotel itself was clean, comfortable and welcoming, our room was suprisingly big for a Paris hotel. The staff were all friendly and helpful - they helped find us a table at a local restaurant at short notice on NYE. The location of the hotel is near perfect - in a quiet street but only a few hundred yards from 2 metro stops that get you to almost any of the major tourist sights. I will stay here next time I come to Paris.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
863 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 447 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

We first stayed here on a long winter weekend trip out of New York in 1996. We had previously stayed at 7 or 8 hotels, mostly on the Left Bank and spent a month in an apartment on Rue de Grenelle. Since that first stay, it would be painful to stay anywhere else. We have been back at least half a dozen times. There are certainly more luxurious places, more "economical" ones, more "in" places.

The public areas in the hotel are inviting, intimate and endearing. Wish we could take the lower level arched ceiling breakfast room home with us! The rooms are of reasonable size, considering it is an old building and this is Paris. All 20 rooms have unique items in them. The beds are comfortable, the bathrooms bright and clean with a little pampering from the toiletry selections. There is a very nice continental breakfast with superb quality freshly squeezed orange juice, various breads and jams, etc. and very good coffee (tea for those so inclined). Don't expect an American buffet. It is certainly quite adequate and makes room for the more serious meals of the day.

What really makes the hotel, though are the people. Francois is the consummate hotelier/manager. When he is on the desk, his Bon Jour lights the place up like a Christmas tree. His suggestions on restaurants, art exhibits and the like are always spot on. Full disclosure, after many stays we consider him a friend. Christine and Marie are knowledgeable, personable and cheerful ambassadors. The night staff is certainly courteous and competent, although when we shuffle in late evening all we are looking for is our key and a Bon Nuit.

Our Paris routine is to wander around through all the arrondisements, trying obscure restaurants, usually including some museums and concerts. Our stays are usually 7-10 days, and that is like having two or three potato chips. The small neighborhood around the hotel is pretty much our favorite, Cherche Midi, Raspail.Montparnasse, the Luxembourg Gardens are all a very short walk. There are three metro stops on several different lines nearby that can take you to every point in the city, many without "correspondance".

The double pane glass really keeps it quiet, especially if you ask for a room in the back. the back rooms require negotiating four or five small steps, more an annoyance than an obstacle. The elevator is small, but takes you quickly from -1 (the breakfast room) to any of the 7 levels (if memory serves me correctly).

This hotel exemplifies what we like in Paris. Could we find another small hotel to stay in? Sure? But as long as the present crew is there, we wouldn't think of it..

Room Tip: There is free wi-fi in the rooms. It is slow and not secure. Ask for a room in the back for maximum...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ulysses4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Thanks to the incredible kindness and caring of Francois, Marie, and the night desk staff, my husband and I had the trip of a lifetime. Francois couldn't have been more helpful with tips to get around the city. He and Marie called places for us, set up reservations for wonderful dinners, and all of the people in that hotel, including the maids, were friendly, and the sort of people you want to go back to see. Strongly recommend this hotel. Marilyn and Ron.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are clean and the beds comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mar425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

I have been staying at this hotel for years for a few reasons: it is reasonably priced for Paris, the rooms are comfortable and a good size, and the location is great. The metro is just a few minutes walk away (and it is a direct line to the Gare du Nord) and the staff are very helpful and pleasant and come up with great suggestions for restaurants and cafes to try in the area. Plus there are indeed tons of cafes and restaurants in the area that you can just check out on your own.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HotelEnthusiast09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nernier, France
Level Contributor
128 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

I spent 2 nights in the St Gregoire Hotel. It is a small hotel in a quiet street nearby Luxembourg garden and the Quartier Latin. There are old furniture which give rooms a antique style.

However, I was pretty disappointed by the breakfast for a 4 star hotel. You are expecting more than just a basket with bread, jam and croissant accompanied with a glass of orange juice and a tea.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Photograph74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel de Sevres
Hotel de Sevres
#604 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Holiday Inn Paris-St. Germain Des Pres
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Best Western Aramis Saint-Germain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Le Placide
Le Placide
#537 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel de l'Academie
Hotel de l'Academie
#302 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Legend Hotel by Elegancia
Legend Hotel by Elegancia
#105 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Saint Gregoire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Saint Gregoire

Property: Hotel Le Saint Gregoire
Address: 43 rue de l Abbe Gregoire, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,081 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Saint Gregoire 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Le Saint Gregoire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing