We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gentility and kindness at every turn.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bedford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bedford Hotel
Ranked #505 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Gentility and kindness at every turn.”
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

I spent a week on business in Paris staying at the Bedford. The staff represent what I consider the essence of la politesse française; a commodity sadly rare in Paris but abundant at this hotel.

My only caveat is the wifi service, which was fast but which one had to log into every time the iPad or iPhone was closed. But this is a small consideration compared to the excellence of the lovely staff.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laetitia B, Directeur général at Bedford Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on your recent stay at the Hotel Bedford.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    225
    61
    20
    14
See reviews for
122
156
25
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bahrain
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Traveling as a family we booked the 2-bedroom suite for 6 days. It was great. The room size was slightly small. The location is fantastic and a few mins from the nearest metro in Madeline. There were many restaurants nearby for breakfast, lunch or dinner, all of which can deliver to your room too.
Our room had two bathrooms both with bath tubs and good amenities. It was a quiet location and yet very central. Its halfway between the Louvre and Champs Elysee and at the heart of the Opera, Grand Magasins. Gallerie La Fayette was a 5-10 min walk for those who like shopping. The staff were very welcoming and helpful. The decor is very nice and classic with a Parisian feel.
Only downside was that we did not really like the limited variety in the breakfast area, but thats probably due to the fact that its a French breakfast, however serving an international one is better.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 777Mbh92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laetitia B, Directeur général at Bedford Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on your recent stay at the Hotel Bedford.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We spent six fast-paced days in Paris using Hotel Bedford as our base. It's an excellent neighborhood, quiet with one or two embassies nearby. Very close to the Metro and Rue St. Honore, the location is really perfect. The rooms are nice, very clean and efficient. Nice bathroom and good quality amenities in the bath. The staff was quite nice and accommodating. I recommend highly!

Room Tip: We stayed on the top level, father away from street noise which is nice. M
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laetitia B, Directeur général at Bedford Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your impressions on your recent stay at the Hotel Bedford.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Near many cafes and restaurants, the "hop on hop off" tour bus stop and Metro at the Madeleine, small grocery markets and great shopping...all walking distance. Rooms clean and well-appointed, staff friendly and helpful. Definitely a Paris "boutique hotel" feel! On a quiet street and hotel itself quiet. Best was the Bedford was exactly as the pictures showed. If in Paris again, this hotel will be my first choice!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hat-a-Tude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laetitia B, Directeur général at Bedford Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your impressions on your recent stay at the Hotel Bedford.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Very tidy, classy place. Staff and Service were very good. After 7 visits to Paris I would say the rooms are a little bigger here at the Bedford than most. Very quiet street, located not far from Madeleine Metro station and only a short walk to "Les Grand Magasins".

Only aspect that disappointed was the "Petit Dejeuner" buffet. In my view a little too expensive with little variety - no hot options.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StueyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laetitia B, Directeur général at Bedford Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your impressions on your recent stay at the Hotel Bedford.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

This was my second stay at the Hotel Bedford. I was very satisfied.

It is clean and well appointed. Perhaps the most appealing thing was the old-fashioned touch of having real room keys. There is something homely and welcoming about a real key rather than a plastic card to swipe.

Another positive feature was that the staff were genuinely friendly and helpful. Sometimes people grumble about the French, but the staff at Hotel Bedford were obliging and friendly.

Finally free wifi throughout is also a benefit which other hotels are mean about.

The second floor single room was a tad small, but you don't need a lot of space for sleeping.

€185 was not cheap for a single room. However the handy location and comfortable stay meant that this was an acceptable price.

I did not try the breakfast. Why would you have a hotel breakfast in Paris when you can nip out to any cafe for your classic coffee and croissant?

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrDribble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laetitia B, Directeur général at Bedford Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your impressions on your recent stay at the Hotel Bedford.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

Having been our third trip to Paris, this was the nicest hotel we have stayed in. It appears that finding a decent hotel with good prices is a hard find in Paris. This hotel had a fantastic location. The street was not a major city street, so that meant a good nights sleep for my family because there would be none of the city noises. The hotel beds are the average European beds, I would recommend bringing a mattress topper along if you have any neck/back issues. Otherwise, the hotel has a clean, fresh appearance.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Queenstownlover1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laetitia B, Directeur général at Bedford Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your impressions on your recent stay at the Hotel Bedford.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel de l'Arcade
Hotel de l'Arcade
#568 of 1,798 in Paris
317 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Opera Marigny
Hotel Opera Marigny
#436 of 1,798 in Paris
479 reviews
0.0 mi away
Madeleine Haussmann Hotel
Madeleine Haussmann Hotel
#399 of 1,798 in Paris
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
New Hotel Roblin La Madeleine
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera
0.1 mi away
Hotel Madeleine Plaza
Hotel Madeleine Plaza
#344 of 1,798 in Paris
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedford Hotel

Property: Bedford Hotel
Address: 17 rue de l Arcade | 8th Arr., 75008 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#288 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#404 Business Hotel in Paris
#437 Family Hotel in Paris
#438 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bedford Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Bedford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedford Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing