We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel de l'Abbaye Saint-Germain
Ranked #136 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
NJ, USA
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent hotel”
Reviewed 18 August 2009

room was small but adequate. very clean and quiet. Staff exceptionally pleasant and helpful. Nice breakfast in lovely garden. Neighborhood interesting, close to subway and buses, close to Luxembourg Gardens and St.Germain. Nice restaurants in the area

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zinha1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    674
    160
    19
    10
    6
See reviews for
127
457
44
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2009

The staff were fantastic and made our stay a memorable one.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NG111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2009

Lovely little hotel - small but luxurious - and the sort of place where the staff wave you off in the taxi. Slightly off the beaten track but that means quiet and a good place to take time out from shopping or sightseeing. The little courtyard and garden is a real plus for breakfast, tea or just sitting out. Not huge rooms but well appointed and the best TV reception I've had for a long time in a hotel! Relaxed atmosphere and you get the sense they work round you - not the other way round. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KingstonUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
near Toronto
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2009

We were in Paris for 5 nights and stayed two of them here. The hotel staff was extremely excellent and courteous at all times. The inner courtyard was beautiful, and the hotel, overall, a welcome respite from the bustle of Paris. Tip #1: make sure to ask the Bellhop how to work the TV, lights, AC, and key lock system as they can be difficult to figure out. Tip #2: yes it is very close to St. Sulpice metro station, but ask directions FROM the stop TO the hotel before you arrive: there were no less than 5 directions to choose from coming up from the Metro station. Hotel wise, the only improvement we would suggest is that the beds be updated.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank D_J_nearToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warfield, Berkshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2009

A small yet perfectly formed hotel, sumptuously appointed and very welcoming. We were celebrating our silver wedding anniversary and had a second floor duplex which was beautiful. In fact the whole hotel offered a high quality, calm and relaxing atmosphere which we loved. The garden terrace is tranquil with the sound of a water fountain and chirruping sparrows. The hotel is close to many stylish shops and small restaurants as well as the dramatic (and now famous) St.Sulpice church, yet accessible for the Louvre and Notre Dame particularly. It was so nice to spend time in this area away from the general masses on the usual tourist trails.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blesstheweather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2009

We traveled to Paris with our two daughters who just graduated from high school. After reading reviews of several Paris hotels on tripadvisor I decided to try to stay at the Hotel de l'Abbaye. It was a wonderful choice! I called directly to book two rooms. Mehdi, the gentleman who answered the phone, was very nice, cordial and helpful. I didn't book until late April for an early June trip so I was thankful they had two rooms available (I may have gotten the last two). This is an absolutely charming hotel in a terrific location. We had the "classic" rooms (standard) which were perfectly lovely and actually pretty spacious by European standards! Our two rooms were located across from each other, and then there was an "apartment" door that led to our little enclave. Very private, actually. We could have both bedroom doors open, while having the "apartment" door locked. Nice bathrooms and very pretty bedspreads and curtains. There are, I believe, more "deluxe" rooms available and four suites (duplex apartments) too, but we were very happy with our "classic rooms". Our daughters loved the hotel too! They have traveled a lot and are pretty discriminating-especially for 18 year olds! They, too, appreciated all the charm and service at the hotel. There is a lovely little courtyard in back, and we awoke to the sounds of a small fountain and birds every morning! Every member of the staff is a delight--we had breakfast each morning and coctails in the evening and were treated so well each and every day! If you want and appreciate a lovely, french hotel (not an American hotel located in France), this is the place! If you want an American style hotel with no charm, stay at a Marriott or Hyatt and save the rooms at Hotel l'Abbaye for those who appreciate all it has to offer. It is quaint, charming, has a great location in the St. Germain district, and has a wonderful staff. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeeBeeUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2009

I wanted a hotel that was, traditionally speaking, "typically Parisian" in ambience and offered a feeling of luxury and service---without 5 star prices. This hotel provide all of this, plus the convenience of a location on a reasonably quiet street in St Germain very near shopping and good restaurants (not just touristy ones). I recommend staying here or at least in the neighborhood of St Germain, after having stayed in other neighborhoods. It is elegant yet still more relaxed to me than elsewhere and you will not be disappointed in Hotel de l'Abbaye.
(If you stay here in warm weather, you will enjoy breakfast in a small, wonderfully peaceful courtyard with a fountain and birds chirping which will make you wonder if you are still in the City!) The staff are exceptionally helpful and friendly and the rooms clean, well appointed and the expected, smaller European size---but not cramped.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PappysGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Luxembourg Parc
Hotel Luxembourg Parc
#39 of 1,802 in Paris
1,226 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Relais Saint-Germain
Hotel Relais Saint-Germain
#214 of 1,802 in Paris
489 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Villa Madame
Villa Madame
#105 of 1,802 in Paris
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Six
Hotel Le Six
#21 of 1,802 in Paris
1,801 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain
Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain
#107 of 1,802 in Paris
1,066 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Signature St Germain des Pres
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'Abbaye Saint-Germain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Abbaye Saint-Germain

Property: Hotel de l'Abbaye Saint-Germain
Address: 10 Rue Cassette | 06 Arr., 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#31 Family Hotel in Paris
#61 Business Hotel in Paris
#102 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de l'Abbaye Saint-Germain 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HISTORICAL HOME, since 1973 Located in the very centre of Saint-Germain-des-Prés, renowned for its array of cafés, restaurants, clubs and theatres, the peaceful Hotel de l'Abbaye offers a pleasant contrast with this symbolic district of Paris. L'Hôtel de l'Abbaye perpetuates its legend through enduring values. A shared passion for the art of French living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Ebookers and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel de l'Abbaye Saint-Germain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Abbaye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing