We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“eye opening”
Review of The Catacombs

The Catacombs
Book In Advance
More Info
US$112.78*
and up
Skip-the-Line Admission Tickets : Eiffel Tower Summit and Catacombs
Ranked #56 of 1,120 things to do in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A genuine labyrinth in the heart of underground Paris, the Catacombs were fitted out in the galleries of former quarries. Twenty metres underground, the ossuary houses the remains of approximately six million Parisians, gradually transferred between the end of the 18th century and the mid 19th century, as the capital's cemeteries were closed for health reasons. Along a tangle of dark galleries, visitors discover a presentation of death with bones arranged in a romantic macabre decor. This unique site is a moving testimony to the history of Parisians and invites visitors on a timeless journey.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“eye opening”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We were told to go a half hour at least before it opened or it would be too busy and have a huge line up. We ended up getting there about 50mins to closing time. The line had about 10 people infront of us and we moved through very quickly. We still had enough time to see everything before closing. If you are claustrophobic at all, you may not want to see this attraction. The winding staircase down is tight and goes underground a long ways to dark small tunnels. Definitely bring a flashlight to see more. It is very dark most of the way, with some small puddles. Don't wear sandles! When you finally reach the bones, it is very overwhelming. So many bodies! When you leave the exhibit, you will come up to ground level several blocks over from where you entered. Bring a map. Definitely avoid this exhibit if you have trouble walking or are traveling with the elderly.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank l2vegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,360
    1,945
    682
    169
    139
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Talk about a Unique Experience - VERY COOL”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Like nothing i've seen in my life. This is the stuff you see in grizzly movies. With that said, i loved it.

Get there 30-60 minutes before it opens or you're dead meat. The line gets BAD.

It's a nice long walk down probably 150 stairs and back up the same amount at the end. In between it's about a 1 mile walk underground. Allow 1-2 hrs for the walk.

We did the audio tour but it got kind of boring and by the end we just explored.

Take lots of pictures, no flash (wink wink). So totally cool.

Enjoy!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Netso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Having seen a few of these, I have to say that the Paris Catacombs were primarily impressive because of its size and the sheer volume of bones collected. Many smaller cemeteries were dug up and transferred to these former mines and the total number of dead is said to number around five million. There are more ornate or outlandish examples in Europe (Rome for one) but this is impressive.
Its not exactly uplifting though, and if you have to wait for hours in the rain or cold, you're not making the most of your visit to Paris.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank MAXIPNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Recommended attraction”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

This really is an unusual and worthwhile attraction.
We arrived half an hour before opening and were 15th in line. There is a typo on another review saying only 20 people are allowed down at any one time, it is actually 200 according to the sign outside. Despite its potential for congestion we did not have that experience, perhaps due to the early start. The commentary which is self directed is a little hard to operate as the numbers are often missing so just click ahead. Good walking shoes as it is a little damp down there and 83 stairs at the end.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank shiningaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
105 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Worth a visit!”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

An amazing experience to walk amongst the bones of over 6 million people.

They have added a series of exhibition posters explaining the geological makeup of the caverns, but those seemed a bit off topic to many visitors who were more interested in the history of the ossuary.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Catacombs also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to The Catacombs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing