We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent situation, friendly atmosphere”
Review of Grand Hotel Malher

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Malher
Ranked #667 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Pully
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent situation, friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed 11 February 2010

This hotel is very well situated in the living area of Le Marais. Everything is nearby (underground station, shops, restaurants…) and you can walk to quite a lot of places of interest (Place des Vosges, Beaubourg, les Halles, Notre Dame de Paris, La Bastille…).
The rooms are not very big but very clean and well kept. The continental breakfast is served in charming room that was once a cellar and the qualitiy of the food is excllent.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deuborch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    82
    24
    5
    4
See reviews for
27
74
23
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2009

I booked the hotel on the basis of Lonely Planet reviews on the internet, and called them. High price but due to the summer rush, booked there as the rooms were available.
The room was a double - small and seemed over-priced at Euro 135/-. Bathroom was very good, big and the hotel was very clean.

Moved out after two nights though I had booked for three, as one member of the staff misbehaved unimaginably. As it is no service is available. jI am shocked at the behaviour of the hotel staff who mans the desk at night

Completely without any service available, and there is no checking in. We never had to show our passport, or never filled ant log book like we do elsewhere

We did not take their continental breakfast (Euro 9/-)

It was a great relief to get away.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kumadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ghmalher, Responsable relations publiques at Grand Hotel Malher, responded to this review, 23 January 2013
Dear Sir, we are sorry that you had a problem with the night auditor. He no longer works here (he left in 2010), and when this happened, he had very serious personnal problems.

Our hotel is now completely renovated and we invite you to come back on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2008

This hotel is situated in a great location in the Marais, good for the Bohème, alternatives, trendies and gays.
The hotel staff were friendly enough, but the success of staying here depends on the room. At one stay we had a room to the front in the fifth floor, which was great! Much light, and a view of the street scene. The next time we had two rooms (having to change after two nights). The first room was to the back and the first floor. The meant we had to have the light on even in the day time. No daylight penetrated down there. The second room was on the ground floor, with the bins in front of the window. Dark thick fabrics and over-dimensioned furniture didn't help.
Being in Paris, we didn't try the hotel breakfast, but rather went for the great choice of nearby restaurants.
The area is fantastic, but there are better hotels to be had.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jojomartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2008

Stayed two nights at the Hôtel Malher in February 2008 on a business trip. The location of the hotel is great - in Le Marais, walking distance to great shops, cafes and very near the Saint-Paul metro station. It's a small hotel. I had a room facing the inner courtyard and it was very peaceful. The room was really small, but comfortable enough and clean. The hotel has an elevator and WI-FI access in the rooms. Breakfast (in a basement room, but refurbished and decorated to appear more airy, elevator accessible) is the standard French croissant + baguette + butter + fruit jam + warm drink, and in decent quantity. I'd recommend it to travelers who don't mind a small room.

  • Liked — location, free WI-FI, neighbourhood
  • Disliked — small rooms
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank traveling_geek_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2007

Grand Hotel Malher is a pleasant hotel right near Place De L'Opera. It's a nice area of Paris with lots of great cafes nearby. The room was not noisy at all - good for Paris, and was fairly small - but for Paris, not bad at all.

The desk staff were very friendly, and everything was clean. A sure bet for a good place from which to see the great city of Paris.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wonderwhileiwander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2007

Stayed just one night at the Mahler but loved it! The staff were friendly and helpful, the room was delightfully clean and comfortable and breakfast was delicious. The location in the Marias is ideal and it is just steps from the St. Paul Metro stop.
One minor complaint is that the lift is barely big enough for baggage much less for people. We had quite a comical time getting our sports gear to and from our room! There was a bit of noise in the morning as the building directly behind the hotel was undergoing renovations.

  • Liked — Excellent quality
  • Disliked — A tiny lift
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Escena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2006

This was our fourth extended stay at this wonderful, clean, well-located hotel. The owners and all the staff go out of their way to make your time in Paris enjoyable. We shall always try them first when looking for a place to stay in Paris!

  • Liked — Welcoming staff, very clean and well-appointed rooms and bathrooms.
  • Disliked — I'd like a little more room and storage space, but the rooms are actually average-size for Paris.
  • Tips/Secrets — Book ahead if possible.
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NancyBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Le Marais
Hotel Turenne Le Marais
Hotel Turenne Le Marais
#358 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Emile
Hotel Emile
#1,001 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Caron
Hotel Caron
#475 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Marais
Hotel Jeanne d'Arc
Hotel Jeanne d'Arc
#356 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel de Neuve by HappyCulture
Le Marais
Hotel de la Bretonnerie
Hotel de la Bretonnerie
#348 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Malher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Malher

Property: Grand Hotel Malher
Address: 5 rue Malher | 4th Arr., 75004 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Le Marais
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#410 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#506 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Malher 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family establishement for the past 3 generations, in the very heart of the Marais area, just next door to Place des Vosges, the Bastille Opera House, the Picasso and Carnavalet museums, and close to the Ile Saint Louis, Notre Dame, Pompidou center and the Grand Louvre.We are located 2 minutes from the metro station Saint Paul.In our historical area, you will also find antique dealers, art galleries, fashion boutiques, restaurants, typical bars and colourful markets.The Grand Hotel Malher is being entirely renovated now and 2 floors are already finished. We will become a 3 star hotel by the end of the year. All rooms including bathrooms and furnitures are new, with modern and elegant design. You will also be delighted to have breakfast in our 17th century wine cellar.Our charming team will be happy to help you if you need information on your business trip or if you are visiting Paris. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Hotel Malher reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing