We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely!”
Review of Grand Hotel Malher

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Malher
Ranked #667 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
Reviewed 22 July 2007

Stayed just one night at the Mahler but loved it! The staff were friendly and helpful, the room was delightfully clean and comfortable and breakfast was delicious. The location in the Marias is ideal and it is just steps from the St. Paul Metro stop.
One minor complaint is that the lift is barely big enough for baggage much less for people. We had quite a comical time getting our sports gear to and from our room! There was a bit of noise in the morning as the building directly behind the hotel was undergoing renovations.

  • Liked — Excellent quality
  • Disliked — A tiny lift
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Escena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    82
    24
    5
    4
See reviews for
27
74
23
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2006

This was our fourth extended stay at this wonderful, clean, well-located hotel. The owners and all the staff go out of their way to make your time in Paris enjoyable. We shall always try them first when looking for a place to stay in Paris!

  • Liked — Welcoming staff, very clean and well-appointed rooms and bathrooms.
  • Disliked — I'd like a little more room and storage space, but the rooms are actually average-size for Paris.
  • Tips/Secrets — Book ahead if possible.
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NancyBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2006

This is a good, reasonably priced hotel in a great location in the Marais. Nothing special or fancy about the rooms ... a typical small room, reasonably firm foam mattress, and a remodeled bathroom with modern appliances. Our room faced a small inner courtyard, which was ringed by windows from this and other hotels/apts, most of which kept blinds drawn for privacy. No A/C that we could see, so it could get hot and stuffy in the summer. Has a small elevator to help with baggage, and a steep narrow central staircase as well. A block from the St. Louis-Marais stop on line 1 of the Metro, which puts you about 15 minutes from pretty much anywhere you want to go in the City.

I have to mention the great little american breakfast spot across the street from this hotel, (on Rue Mahler just up from Rue Rivoli). Called "Breakfast in America," its a great little spot to head for when you tire of croissants and tiny cafe noirs to start your day. Its done up like a typical american diner, playing tunes from the 80s and 90s. Not what you go to Paris for, but after two weeks in France it was just the spot to recharge with an omelette, hash browns, and a bottomless cup of joe, and converse with the friendly expat waitresses from the U.S. before heading out to do battle with the crowds at the Louvre.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SunshineDaydream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2006

Having used the Malher a number of times and found it be be excellent, we were very upset to find on arrival that our confirmed booking meant nothing. We were told that although we had a confirmed booking, the hotel was completely full and we would have to go somewhere else (a nearby cheaper local hotel of poorer quality was suggested). We asked for an explanation but none was forthcoming (the desk clerk was unable to offer any explanation whatsover). We left our mobile number so that if anyone wanted to offer an explanation they would be able to, but no-one has rung. Anyway, it's been a good hotel in the past so if anyone is walking past the door and in need of a somewhere to stay, do try it - the recently renovated rooms are nice. But if you need to book in advance and be sure that the room you've booked hasn't been given to someone else, maybe try another hotel in this fantastic area of Paris.

Stayed March 2006
Helpful?
14 Thank Cyclades_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2006

After trying over 20 Paris hotels (including the Four Seasons), I will look no further than the Hotel Mahler. It's marvelously clean, inexpensive, bigger rooms than most at this price level, has a mini bar, is quiet and only a one minute walk to the #1 metro, the best visitor's line in Paris. Delicious breads for breakfast. Great Zagat pick restaurants and shopping all around. Everyone in my group, ages 14, 40, 45, and 70, loved the place. Couldn't find any flaws.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank croissantchaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2005

I have used this small hotel a number of times and will go back. Its not posh, its not fancy, its not very big its a little old....but it is clean and very fairly priced. Location is second to none - 2 minutes from Metro St Paul and in the heart of the Marais...beautiful setting.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
29 Thank Runforthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Le Marais
Hotel Turenne Le Marais
Hotel Turenne Le Marais
#358 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Emile
Hotel Emile
#1,001 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Caron
Hotel Caron
#475 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Marais
Hotel Jeanne d'Arc
Hotel Jeanne d'Arc
#356 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel de Neuve by HappyCulture
Le Marais
Hotel de la Bretonnerie
Hotel de la Bretonnerie
#348 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Malher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Malher

Property: Grand Hotel Malher
Address: 5 rue Malher | 4th Arr., 75004 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Le Marais
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#410 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#506 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Malher 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family establishement for the past 3 generations, in the very heart of the Marais area, just next door to Place des Vosges, the Bastille Opera House, the Picasso and Carnavalet museums, and close to the Ile Saint Louis, Notre Dame, Pompidou center and the Grand Louvre.We are located 2 minutes from the metro station Saint Paul.In our historical area, you will also find antique dealers, art galleries, fashion boutiques, restaurants, typical bars and colourful markets.The Grand Hotel Malher is being entirely renovated now and 2 floors are already finished. We will become a 3 star hotel by the end of the year. All rooms including bathrooms and furnitures are new, with modern and elegant design. You will also be delighted to have breakfast in our 17th century wine cellar.Our charming team will be happy to help you if you need information on your business trip or if you are visiting Paris. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Hotel Malher reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing