We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Favorite in Paris”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Raphael

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Raphael
Ranked #381 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Dalkey, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“New Favorite in Paris”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

This is an exceptional hotel in Paris. The service was excellent at every point during the stay. Friendly and efficient check-in, personal requests all perfectly noted (including extra feather pillows) including a room upgrade on check in. I found Hotel Raphael on the Leading Hotels of the World website looking for a nice weekend in Paris and very pleased. The staff exemplify superb service at every level and made our stay most enjoyable. Concierge also excellent - finding us just exactly what we wanted for dinner. Great bar on the ground floor with really good snacks. All around five stars. I wouldn't hesitate to return on our next trip to Paris and would definitely recommend to our friends.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joel Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LES_HOTELS_BAVEREZ, Directeur général at Hotel Raphael, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear Joel Y,

On behalf of the entire team of the Hotel Raphael, I would like to thank you for this extremely enthusiastic and heartwarming review. We are over the moon to be called your “new favorite hotel in Paris”. Your words are so generous, and we sincerely thank you!

The Hotel Raphael is a proud and loyal member of The Leading Hotels of the World for more than a decade and I glad to know you found us on their website. Leading Hotels offer a “one-of-a-kind” experience all over the world and I am delighted to learn that we were able to leave this impression during your recent stay at the Hotel Raphael.

We’re elated that you are eager to visit us again and we hope to welcome you through our doors in the near future no matter the occasion. It’s always great to hear that guests are able to fully enjoy their rooms and relax in the ambience of our cozy bar; the perfect remedy for the hustle and bustle of Paris.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon at the Hotel Raphael for another nice and romantic week-end in Paris. Hope next time you will have the opportunity to taste our restaurant or enjoy a dinner on our roof terrace while watching the Eiffel Tower sparkling…Paris’s best-kept secret oasis of calm!

Warmest regards,

General Manager
Hotel Raphael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    343
    122
    50
    25
    13
See reviews for
86
261
20
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

This is a lovely hotel. We have stayed there twice now. Beautifully decorated and the concierge especially are great. Close to the Arc de Triomphe, and right beside the Kléber metro station makes it a convenient place to be. BUT this trip, it would have been nice to have been advised prior to booking, that the Peninsula Hotel next door was undergoing construction. We barely got 3-4 hours of sleep and were there three nights. Construction (jackhammering) one morning started at 3AM. Yes, 3 in the morning. We love the hotel, and it is by no means their fault their neighbour is undergoing renovations...but if you are there to relax - call to find out when the construction next door is over or ask to be on another side of the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank classygal70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LES_HOTELS_BAVEREZ, Directeur général at Hotel Raphael, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear valued guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you very much for being repeat & loyal guests of the Hotel Raphael. Thank you also for taking the time to share your comments on Tripadvisor following your last recent stay in January 2014.

We are lucky with our prime location being just moments from many of the highlights that Paris has to offer. It makes seeing everything so easy and many of the top spots are only a few minutes stroll from the Hotel Raphael. It sounds as though you were able to take advantage of that.

Thank you for highlighting the quality of service and professionalism of our staff. I will make sure to share your positive feedback with our concierges.We want to tailor-made each stay regardless if it’s your first, second or twelfth time with us and we urge our prospective guests to be imaginative and contact us to discuss what we can do before our team begins it magic to provide unique experiences of a lifetime!

I would like to sincerely apologize for any noise inconvenience that occurred during your stay. As you mentioned, the construction works in the street are beyond our control; I am sorry to read you were wake-up so early as they usually don’t start before 08.30am or 09.00am. I totally understand your disappointment. Rest assured that during this period we do our utmost to satisfy our clientele and to keep any eventual inconvenience to a minimum. Our aim is to make your stay as welcoming and as pleasant as possible. However, please be informed that the construction works will end very soon in March.

I hope we will have the pleasure to welcoming you back soon for a better and quieter experience. Why not coming back for summer time and enjoy our terrace with breathtaking panoramic views over Paris monuments?

Sincerely Yours,

General Manager
Hotel Raphael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
s.a
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed in hotel Raphael in Paris for the new year. It was the perfect choice. The location is just perfect with two minutes walk from the champs elect see and with all the nice coffee shops and restaurants. The room was spacious and very clean and we had an upgrade to a suite. It had two big closets but no drawers at all. There was also a problem with the water in the shower switching from warm to cold with no control. The service was excellent and the conceriege was extremely helpful. I loved this hotel and I strongly recommend it for couples and families.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dr.amal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LES_HOTELS_BAVEREZ, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Raphael, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear valued guest,

We would like to thank you for the time you took in sharing your recent experience at the Raphael Hotel for New Year’s Eve on TripAdvisor.
We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed staying with us and would like to wish you, first of all, a happy new year.

The location of our property is indeed very central, at few minutes’ walk from the Arc de Triomphe, trendy shops and major museums.
Each of our spacious rooms enjoys a unique décor. We are glad to read that the Suite you stayed in met your expectations. We would like to truly apologize for the inconvenience you have encountered with the water temperature and will forward your comments to the appropriate service in order to avoid such problems in the future.

Every day all our staff makes sure that our guests feel at home, it will therefore be a pleasure to forward them your kind comments in regards to the service, they will be delighted to read it.
Again, we thank you for your time, and we are looking forward to welcoming you soon again at the Raphael hotel.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan Beach, California, USA
Level Contributor
241 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

My first thought when walking in was "wow!" and I imagined all the history that must have walked through the doors here. It's beautiful and very french. Your met by the concierge staff who turned out to be just fantastic all during our stay. From taxi's to advise for the metro, they were always right there for you. A truly professional staff.

We were led to out room (104) and we were blown away. It was huge and well designed. So french again. My wife was happy with the bathroom as well. Great products (Vrei) and the overall layout. We learned to love our bath and shower after long days on the streets of Paris. The room had tons of closets.

I did not eat at the restaurant, but spent plenty of time in the bar which was again filled with rich history. I felt like they knew me right away, all the staff was friendly and knowledgeable.

I thought the Raphael was a good price for the quality we got and i would love to stay there again.

Paris is magical anytime, but Christmas was a special treat.

Room Tip: Big big rooms at least in the junior suite category. We had a bit of noise from the construction nex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peterisacksen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LES_HOTELS_BAVEREZ, Directeur général at Hotel Raphael, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you so much for your generous comments and for your five star on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us over Christmas.

It’s a wonderful compliment for us to know you enjoyed a true Parisian experience. I am so glad that you were happy with your choice to splurge and stay in one of our spacious junior suite and that you felt that it was well worth it. Thank you for such a wonderful description of your room & décor. Built in 1925, the hotel preserved such original details as rich silks, tasteful antiques and damask wallpaper. The Junior suites and suites boast Louis XV and Louis XVI style furniture and roomy wardrobes in mahogany and oak. A wood-carved archway and matching curtains partially separate the living room from the bedroom.
I am glad to know you wife was happy with the bathroom and the Fragonard amenities.

Our cosy English Bar is indeed very popular; sipping here a glass of champagne or a cocktail is a great way to end a long day of sightseeing. Hope next time you will be able to taste our restaurant and the cuisine of our chef Amandine Chaignot; she is one of the very few women to have taken the reigns of a top Parisian restaurant.

The hotel is still owned by the same French family over 4 generations and our entire staff works every day to recreate the feeling of being welcomed into a luxurious family home for our guests. Your nice compliments on our service and staff are a great reward to our continuous efforts to meet our clients' expectations.

Again thank you so much for reviewing the hotel; it means so much to us!

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon for more incredible and “wow” memories at the Hotel Raphael. In the meantime, I wish you a wonderful and glowing year 2014.

Best regards,

General Manager
Hotel Raphael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine coast
Level Contributor
101 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

We stayed in this hotel earlier this year before our trip to Provence.
We were attending a conference so being close to the metro line that took us to the Paris conference centre was a big factor. The location was easy walking to the Eiffel Tower, Champs the élysées and fab shopping.
it's luxury reputation was why we chose this hotel.
It didn't disappoint.
We stayed in a suite and it was like having your own Parisian apartment furnished with antiques and luxurious brocaded and comfortable furniture.
The staff were young, courteous and friendly. The restaurant really lovely with an excellent breakfast with a basket of fresh French breads and croissants for every table. Dinner in this hotel was a pleasant surprise I actually liked this restaurant better than Fouquets as it was not crowded and the food was simple, very French with beautiful fresh vegetables, fish was divine.
A great intimate cocktail bar was a plus too.
My husband and would readily return to this hotel anytime we go back to Paris, as it had everything we love in a hotel.

Room Tip: The suite was so lovely, upgrade it you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LES_HOTELS_BAVEREZ, General Manager at Hotel Raphael, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for posting a glowing review of your stay at the Hotel Raphael and for highlighting the key points that makes the hotel so special. I am charmed to read your passionate appreciation of the many excellent facilities the hotel has to offer.

I am delighted that you liked your spacious suite decorated with antique furniture and felt that the hotel was in the perfect location for exploring Paris major attractions.

I am happy that you got to experience our delicious breakfast with homemade pastries/bread and glad you enjoyed our excellent restaurant. Our chef Amandine Chaignot and her brigade produce such an array of sumptuous treats it is so difficult to know what to choose!

It is always lovely to read that a guest has experienced flawless service throughout the hotel and the teams are all chuffed to pieces to see that this has been recognized.

Thank you for your perfect compliments and recommendations, and we all look forward to welcoming you back soon at the Hotel Raphael. Why not come back in July for Bastille Day and enjoy a divine dinner on our roof terrace while watching the Eiffel Tower fireworks illuminating Paris skylines? A must do, so romantic…

Warmest regards,

General Manager
Hotel Raphael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

A fantastic experience. Like a charming renaissance old world hotel - even the wooden elevator made us feel like we were back in the 30's! Service and quality were excellent, rooms large and lavishly appointed. All of this does justify the price. Would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackhaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LES_HOTELS_BAVEREZ, Directeur général at Hotel Raphael, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Dear valued guest,

I would like to thank you for sharing your impressions following your recent stay at the Hotel Raphael. We are so appreciative of feedback from our guests, and most especially when it is so positive!

I enjoy reading your review, especially as you have summed up so succinctly all that makes our hotel so special…”luxury and style”, ”fantastic experience”,” charming old world hotel” are very nice comments. Merci!

I am glad to read that you liked the decor of our historical hotel, our spacious rooms and service.
Built in 1925, the hotel preserved such original details as rich silks, tasteful antiques and damask wallpaper and a unique wooden elevator. Many loyal guests have chosen this hotel offering luxury, elegance and discretion as their home away from home. The Hotel Raphael is proud of the unique ‘hospitality savoir-faire’ that has been the backbone of its success since its opening and is the quintessence of the French-style art of living.

We aim to make our guests feel as comfortable as possible and are delighted to hear your every need was taken care of. It’s a pleasure for us to know you recommend our hotel to the readers of Tripadvisor. Thank you for being our ambassador!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Raphael in the near future. Why not come back during spring time and enjoy our roof terrace with stunning views over the Arc de Triomphe or the Eiffel Tower?

Sincerely yours,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

Magical weekend!!

Such a warm welcome from the doorman, asking me how my journey was in French. I feel in love with Paris at that precise moment.

As we walked into the entrance, it was 'Paris under a roof' so traditional and 'French'. The staff couldn't help you enough. Our room wasn't ready ( we were early) so we were shown into a plush bar. Red and velvety and offered complimentary drinks. The man at reception came to collect us after half an hour or so and wished me happy birthday and informed us that he had put a complimentary bottle of champagne in our room. I felt like a princess.

Our room was perfect. Room 15 - bathroom on one side of a small entrance, bedroom on the other. Clear instructions left in the room for guests and adorned in mirrors making the room feel rather grand.

We immediately went to explore the roof top garden and look at the views which took out breath away. It was November and the rooftop bar is closed out of season, but the garden didn't feel neglected. Still bright little flowers and tidy.

Such a fab location, we basically walked everywhere! The concierge were so helpful- from where to eat to which metro stop is best for certain locations.

I haven't stopped thinking about my stay since I left. I miss everything. When I return to Paris I shall not even consider another hotel- I shall only stay here in the future. C'est parfait :)

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank clare_bear83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LES_HOTELS_BAVEREZ, Directeur général at Hotel Raphael, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Dear clare_bear83,

Thank you for taking the time to post a glowing review of your stay at the Hotel Raphael. It was a pleasure to read your comments and feedback, and a privilege that you chose to share your 30th birthday celebration with us. For over 80 years we have been a peaceful hideaway for couples to kindle their romance and we are so honored you chose to spend this special occasion with us.

It was a pleasure to read your positive comments about every aspect of the hotel and that you found the service second to none from the point of arrival to your departure.
We pride ourselves on providing our guests with intuitive, personalized service delivery and on ensuring that all guests feel welcome and completely at home. I am delighted that our entire team, most notably the doorman, the reception and the concierges provided you with an exceptional experience.

Our centralized location is always a guest favorite, and we are thrilled you took advantage of all the amazing attractions within walking distance of our hotel.

Each of our spacious rooms enjoys a unique layout and décor. I am glad that you found a room that met your expectations. Hotel Raphael, true to its guiding principles, has meticulously incorporated contemporary technology into an original décor with Louis XV- and Louis XVI-style furniture. The modern bathrooms are decorated with tiles and mosaics.

We thank you for spending the time to share your story and feedback about our wonderful team and service. We hope the Hotel Raphael will always hold a special place in your heart, and that we will have the opportunity to celebrate many more milestone moments with you in the future.

We are proud to know you will always consider us as your first choice when you return to Paris. Next time, hope you will be able to come back during summer time and enjoy a romantic dinner on our roof terrace while watching the Eiffel Tower sparking. So romantic, so Paris…

Warmest Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Lancaster Paris Champs-Elysees
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Napoleon Paris
Hotel Napoleon Paris
#144 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Marignan Champs-Elysees
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Vernet
Hotel Vernet
#384 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Majestic Hotel Spa
Majestic Hotel Spa
#795 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Keppler
Hotel Keppler
#26 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Raphael? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Raphael

Property: Hotel Raphael
Address: 17 avenue Kleber | 16 Arr., 75116 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Elysees , Passy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#69 Business Hotel in Paris
#128 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#231 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#381 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Raphael 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated a 2-minute walk from the Champs-Elysees and the Arc de Triomphe, this 5-star hotel offers luxury accommodation in the heart of Paris. It offers a panoramic terrace and a gastronomic restaurant. Decorated in a Louis 15th and 16th style, guest rooms feature wooden furnishings and elaborate wall hangings. They include a flat-screen TV and a minibar. Some of the suites feature a balcony, views of the Eiffel Tower and lounge area. The Chef of Raphael Le Restaurant proposes gastronomic French cuisine. Guests can relax and have a snack, tea, drink or just a breath at the cosy English Bar's red velvet arm chairs. Other facilities at the hotel include free Wi-Fi access and a fitness room. Charles de Gaulle - Etoile Metro Station is just 400 metres away, providing direct access to the Louvre Museum and the Grand Palais. Trocadero is a 15-minute walk away, which offers one of the best views of the Eiffel Tower in Paris. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Raphael reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raphael Hotel Paris
Hotel Raphael Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing