We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Getaway”
Review of Hotel Raphael

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Raphael
Ranked #349 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This hotel was a very romantic place to stay. From the elevator with the iron gate to the well-dressed hotel staff, to the set out of the rooms and the breakfast served, this place was an absolute dream. We sat in the restaurant on the roof and looked out over Paris with a cocktail before heading out to dinner. The bar downstairs had a very classic elegant design. I felt very spoilt, it is definitely what you have in mind when thinking of romantic French hotels.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cadie_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LES_HOTELS_BAVEREZ, Directeur général at Hotel Raphael, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Cadie_London,

I would like to thank you for sharing your impressions following your stay at the Hotel Raphael. We are so appreciative of feedback from our guests, and most especially when it is so positive. Getting a perfect 5 rating from a Top Contributor means a lot for us. Merci !

I enjoy reading your review, especially as you have summed up so succinctly all that makes our hotel so special. It’s a pleasure to know you enjoyed all aspects of the hotel, from the unique lift, to our rooms, buffet breakfast and to our cozy bar.
Raphael-Le Bar, on the rooftop, is a top notch place during summer time to sip a cocktail or a glass of champagne while enjoying magnificent 360-degree panoramic views over the Capital’s skyline (Eiffel Tower, Arc de Triomphe…). I am glad to know you had time to discover our best “kept secret garden”!

Thank you again for the courtesy of your time and we all look forward to welcoming you again soon at the Hotel Raphael for your next stay in our lovely romantic " City of Lights".

Warmest regards,

General Manager
Hotel Raphael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (593)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Raphael
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

215 - 221 of 593 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2014

Raphael Hotel in Paris is a very romantic place to stay. French icon Serge Gainsbourg used to be a frequent guest in the last century. The hotel is located close to Champs-Elysees in the heart of Paris. We had breakfast in the hotel's restaurant with an atmosphere of 18th century French chiq. Really enjoyed and plan to come again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LES_HOTELS_BAVEREZ, Directeur général at Hotel Raphael, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Dear Stan B,

We are thrilled to hear that you had an outstanding stay with us at the Hotel Raphael. On behalf of our staff, I thank you for all of your gracious comments. Guest feedbacks on travel sites and especially on TripAdvisor are of great values for independent properties like ours.

We are lucky with our prime location being just moments from many of the highlights that Paris has to offer. It makes seeing everything so easy and many of the top spots are only a few minutes stroll from the Hotel Raphael. It sounds as though you were able to take advantage of that.
Thank you for highlighting our breakfast and our unique décor. It is true that, in the past, the Raphael had the privilege to welcome many famous artists such as Serge Giansbourg, Audrey Hepburn, Cary Grant and the hotel is still a favourite place for many other celebrities.

Again thank you so much for reviewing the hotel; it means so much to us!

Please do hurry back to visit us again. We would love to welcome you for another memorable and romantic experience with us.

Warmest Regards,

General Manager
Hotel Raphael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Booked in to the above Hotel on Thursday 13/03/14, at 9pm to Junor suite, the man at the deck showed us to our room which was on the first floor the room was very hot we asked for the air contidion we were told it was not working just open the big window which when open could not belive in was a building site with a row of 10 toilets right out the window and the dust for the site was every were with in mins to our room, whent back down the stair to as for new room was told there was no more room in the hotel and there was not a Manager in a 5star Hotel at 9.15 pm at night he was all the most un helpful man we have meeet he was not bother out customer service.We moved out. The builing work should have been on the wedd page telling people whats going on in and around the hotel should be a Manager in every night very poor Hotel........

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John w W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LES_HOTELS_BAVEREZ, Directeur général at Hotel Raphael, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Valued guest,

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay at the Hotel Raphael and for bringing your concerns to our attention. We value every guest’s feedback as an opportunity to review and improve our standards of service. I am very disappointed that in this instance we failed to exceed your expectations.

Unfortunately the constructions taking place in the street adjacent to our hotel are beyond our control and we don’t always know in advance what they will do. However, please accept our most sincere apologies for any inconvenience that may have been caused by the constructions. Their works will end soon in few weeks.

I would very much welcome the opportunity to restore your faith in the Raphael Paris. I hope that you will decide to stay with us again and allow us to make up for any shortcomings you experienced.

Please not hesitate to contact me directly next time.

Kindest Regards,

General Manager
Hotel Raphael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

The hotel was fabulous, except for the unfortunate timing that saw a new hotel being built just across the street. If you are thinking of staying here over the coming 4-6 months, please contact the hotel and ask for a room on the other side of the location.
Our beautiful suite was directly opposite the work site, but we were moved to another, equally wonderful suite as soon as we requested a move. The new suite had a roof terrace that had a view of both the Arc and the Eiffel Tower! Amazing :)
Service was first class, the restaurant and bar were equally great. A really great spot to choose for your Parisian visit.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LES_HOTELS_BAVEREZ, Directeur général at Hotel Raphael, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Jason K,

Thank you for those wonderful lines after your recent stay in Paris at the hotel Raphael.

It is a great pleasure to read your enthusiastic comment about our beautiful suite with direct access to our rooftop terrace. Indeed, our fortunate clients staying in our suites located on the 5th and 6th floor can enjoy a magnificent and romantic view on the Eiffel Tower or the Arc de Triomphe (or both as you did!).

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and experienced exemplary “first class” service from the entire team.
We always like welcoming and hearing constructive feedbacks from our guests so please accept our most sincere apologies for any inconvenience that may have been caused by the work constructions taking place in front of the hotel (unfortunately which are beyond our control). Rest reassured that it will end soon in few weeks.

Once again, thank you so much for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We genuinely love to pamper all of our guests and I am glad to know it has not gone unnoticed.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon for another Parisian gateway. Why not come back this summer and enjoy a dinner on the roof terrace while watching the Eiffel Tower sparking? Definitely the best romantic spot in Paris!

Warmest Regards,

General Manager
Hotel Raphael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

This is rated as one of the top ten deluxe hotels in Paris. Bed and breakfast is €450 per night, so it is reasonable to demand and expect very high standards. We had a nice stay and the staff are very well trained and friendly/helpful. However, the first room we were given had a series of obvious faults that should not have been there. We were relocated to another room and returned to find a complimentary bottle of champagne. Against a measure of "the highest standards", it scored only average. We have stayed twice before and on both occasions it was outstanding, so I do hope it returns to its old form.

We had dinner in the restaurant which was classic French cooking in a deluxe setting. The food was very good but for €335 for two including wine and service, I thought it could have been outstanding.

Room Tip: Make sure you avoid rooms near the construction that is underway on the property over the road
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robertb602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LES_HOTELS_BAVEREZ, Directeur général at Hotel Raphael, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Robert B,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience after your third stay at the hotel Raphael and for being a loyal guest of our property.
We value every guest’s feedback as an opportunity to review and improve our standards of service.
I am sorry to read that the first room allocated to you upon your arrival, and your experience in our restaurant directed by our talented chef Amandine Chaignot, did not totally meet your expectations. Our team is working everyday to make sure the experience we provide to our customer, from our room to our restaurant, is unique and we hope your next stay with us will be outstanding.
We indeed thank you very much for your nice comments about the kindness and professionalism of our staff .

Do not hesitate to contact us directly when you will be planning your next stay in Paris, and to let us know any preference you may have on your room allocation. Be assured that we are at your complete disposal to make sure you have an unforgettable stay with us.

We are looking forward to serving you again soon at the Raphael hotel.

Warm regards,

General Manager
Hotel Raphael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

This is an exceptional hotel in Paris. The service was excellent at every point during the stay. Friendly and efficient check-in, personal requests all perfectly noted (including extra feather pillows) including a room upgrade on check in. I found Hotel Raphael on the Leading Hotels of the World website looking for a nice weekend in Paris and very pleased. The staff exemplify superb service at every level and made our stay most enjoyable. Concierge also excellent - finding us just exactly what we wanted for dinner. Great bar on the ground floor with really good snacks. All around five stars. I wouldn't hesitate to return on our next trip to Paris and would definitely recommend to our friends.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joel Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LES_HOTELS_BAVEREZ, Directeur général at Hotel Raphael, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Dear Joel Y,

On behalf of the entire team of the Hotel Raphael, I would like to thank you for this extremely enthusiastic and heartwarming review. We are over the moon to be called your “new favorite hotel in Paris”. Your words are so generous, and we sincerely thank you!

The Hotel Raphael is a proud and loyal member of The Leading Hotels of the World for more than a decade and I glad to know you found us on their website. Leading Hotels offer a “one-of-a-kind” experience all over the world and I am delighted to learn that we were able to leave this impression during your recent stay at the Hotel Raphael.

We’re elated that you are eager to visit us again and we hope to welcome you through our doors in the near future no matter the occasion. It’s always great to hear that guests are able to fully enjoy their rooms and relax in the ambience of our cozy bar; the perfect remedy for the hustle and bustle of Paris.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon at the Hotel Raphael for another nice and romantic week-end in Paris. Hope next time you will have the opportunity to taste our restaurant or enjoy a dinner on our roof terrace while watching the Eiffel Tower sparkling…Paris’s best-kept secret oasis of calm!

Warmest regards,

General Manager
Hotel Raphael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

This is a lovely hotel. We have stayed there twice now. Beautifully decorated and the concierge especially are great. Close to the Arc de Triomphe, and right beside the Kléber metro station makes it a convenient place to be. BUT this trip, it would have been nice to have been advised prior to booking, that the Peninsula Hotel next door was undergoing construction. We barely got 3-4 hours of sleep and were there three nights. Construction (jackhammering) one morning started at 3AM. Yes, 3 in the morning. We love the hotel, and it is by no means their fault their neighbour is undergoing renovations...but if you are there to relax - call to find out when the construction next door is over or ask to be on another side of the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank classygal70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LES_HOTELS_BAVEREZ, Directeur général at Hotel Raphael, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Dear valued guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you very much for being repeat & loyal guests of the Hotel Raphael. Thank you also for taking the time to share your comments on Tripadvisor following your last recent stay in January 2014.

We are lucky with our prime location being just moments from many of the highlights that Paris has to offer. It makes seeing everything so easy and many of the top spots are only a few minutes stroll from the Hotel Raphael. It sounds as though you were able to take advantage of that.

Thank you for highlighting the quality of service and professionalism of our staff. I will make sure to share your positive feedback with our concierges.We want to tailor-made each stay regardless if it’s your first, second or twelfth time with us and we urge our prospective guests to be imaginative and contact us to discuss what we can do before our team begins it magic to provide unique experiences of a lifetime!

I would like to sincerely apologize for any noise inconvenience that occurred during your stay. As you mentioned, the construction works in the street are beyond our control; I am sorry to read you were wake-up so early as they usually don’t start before 08.30am or 09.00am. I totally understand your disappointment. Rest assured that during this period we do our utmost to satisfy our clientele and to keep any eventual inconvenience to a minimum. Our aim is to make your stay as welcoming and as pleasant as possible. However, please be informed that the construction works will end very soon in March.

I hope we will have the pleasure to welcoming you back soon for a better and quieter experience. Why not coming back for summer time and enjoy our terrace with breathtaking panoramic views over Paris monuments?

Sincerely Yours,

General Manager
Hotel Raphael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Lancaster Paris Champs-Elysees
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Napoleon Paris
Hotel Napoleon Paris
#128 of 1,804 in Paris
338 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Marignan Champs-Elysees
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Balzac
Hotel Balzac
#667 of 1,804 in Paris
450 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Prince de Galles Hotel
Prince de Galles Hotel
#45 of 1,804 in Paris
829 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Majestic Hotel Spa
Majestic Hotel Spa
#759 of 1,804 in Paris
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Raphael? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Raphael

Address: 17 avenue Kleber | 16 Arr., 75116 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Elysees , Passy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#69 Business Hotel in Paris
#128 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#225 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#380 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £271 - £525 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Raphael 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated a 2-minute walk from the Champs-Elysees and the Arc de Triomphe, this 5-star hotel offers luxury accommodation in the heart of Paris. It offers a panoramic terrace and a gastronomic restaurant. Decorated in a Louis 15th and 16th style, guest rooms feature wooden furnishings and elaborate wall hangings. They include a flat-screen TV and a minibar. Some of the suites feature a balcony, views of the Eiffel Tower and lounge area. The Chef of Raphael Le Restaurant proposes gastronomic French cuisine. Guests can relax and have a snack, tea, drink or just a breath at the cosy English Bar's red velvet arm chairs. Other facilities at the hotel include free Wi-Fi access and a fitness room. Charles de Gaulle - Etoile Metro Station is just 400 metres away, providing direct access to the Louvre Museum and the Grand Palais. Trocadero is a 15-minute walk away, which offers one of the best views of the Eiffel Tower in Paris. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Raphael reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raphael Hotel Paris
Hotel Raphael Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing