We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence”
Review of Hotel Raphael

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Raphael
Ranked #345 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The hotel is of highest class both from room, food and service point of view.
Magnificent location in Paris with an excellent view from the terrace.
Can be highly recommended for anyone with high demands on quality and luxury.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LES_HOTELS_BAVEREZ, Directeur général at Hotel Raphael, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear Marie B,

Making guests feel at home is our top priority! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and found our accommodation, food and service so pleasing. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay. It’s a real pleasure for us to know you highly recommend the Hotel Raphael to anyone looking for “quality and luxury”. Merci!

Again thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others.
Please let us know how we may be of assistance to you in the future. In the meantime , please do not hesitate to follow us on our social media for more information and special offer.

Best regards,

General Manager
Hotel Raphael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (623)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

223 - 229 of 623 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

This hotel is definitely of great value for money. location is very good, you can walk to major places, parking was free. and the key thing is that the hotel has a very strong Parisian feel. The room we stayed in felt like a Parisian flat, very comfortable although in old style. The only weak point is breakfast which was a bit disappointing. Lunch was rather good though. Seventh floor roof top gives a great view of Paris.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LES_HOTELS_BAVEREZ, Directeur général at Hotel Raphael, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Michael G,

Thank you very much for sharing your positive opinion with us and with people all over the world!

It’s a delight to read your appreciation for our “strong Parisian feel”. The Raphael is still owned and managed by the same French family for over 89 years: we do our upmost to welcome our guests into a luxurious and very cozy environment, but we never forget to pass the warm family spirit of the place on to them…

We are very lucky to enjoy such a good location in the heart of Paris, few steps away from the Arc de Triomphe and the Champs-Elysées: therefore, we are so happy to see that you have taken advantage of it!

Thank you for bringing your concerns about the breakfast to our attention and we feel sorry for not meeting your expectations on this point. Hope next time our breakfast will be “one of the key thing” you will remember!

Our team is looking forward to welcoming you back soon for a new memorable Parisian stay. If you want to take the best advantage of our roof terrace, you should come back during summer and enjoy a relaxing meal or a for a glass of champagne while watching the magnificent 360 degree panoramic views over the capital…ça c’est Paris!

Warmest Regards,

General Manager
Hotel Raphael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The Hotel Raphael is a very rare find. It is an establishment that gives the visitor proximity to all that one might want to visit in Paris, but the hotel itself gives one the experience of Paris at it's very best.

The Hotel has a long and interesting history, and one feels it upon entering the hotel. Many of the paintings are originals, and the decor takes one back to a time at the turn of the century. Of course, the ambiance is lovely, as are the rooms, but what distinguishes the Raphael from many, many other hotels in Paris is the service.

This is a quiet hotel that prides itself on civility and manners, and these principals are apparent in the staff. It really does not matter whether you are having a conversation with the cashier, the concierge or Mr. Henrot, the general manager of the hotel, you will find everyone impeccably polite and helpful. I might add that the staff is also extremely well dressed and polished. You are the guest, and you feel very much appreciated.

As far as the particulars of the hotel, the food was very, very good. We particularly enjoyed the breakfast buffet, which was excellent. As for dinner, it is was a gastronomic privilege. Simply outstanding. We had dinner with our friends one evening and one of our friends remarked, "I am finally in Paris."

My wife and I travel frequently, so the question which I think sums up things is this: would we return to the Raphael? Without hesitation: yes, and it will be our pleasure. One of the best hotels in the world, and worth every penny.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leytap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LES_HOTELS_BAVEREZ, Directeur général at Hotel Raphael, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear valued guest,

Thank you so much for your generous 5 star rating and for sharing your experience in such a lovely way!

We are over the moon to know that you consider the Hotel Raphael “la crème de la crème” and as one of the best hotel in the world! We are so glad you enjoyed your experience with us. Compliments like this really help to make giving great service an easy job and your words of encouragement will spur us on to do even better!

I am glad to read that you liked the unique decor of our historical hotel and its atmosphere.
Built in 1925, the hotel preserved such original details as rich silks, tasteful antiques, damask wallpaper and a wooden elevator. The Hotel Raphael is proud of the unique ‘hospitality savoir-faire’ that has been the backbone of its success since its opening and is the quintessence of the French-style art of living.

It‘s a real pleasure to read your positive words about our breakfast with our delicious home-made pastries and we even more to know your dinner was “a gastronomic privilege”. If you come back during summer, I hope you will have the opportunity to enjoy a romantic dinner on our beautiful roof terrace while watching the Eiffel Tower sparking. The best view ever!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Raphael for another unique Parisian experience.

Warmest Regards,

General Manager
Hotel Raphael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

This was my first trip to Paris , and this hotel was fantastic ! We flew from the states and arrived very early , we were greeted by an amazing staff and were allowed to check in. Our first room was a little smokey smelling, the front desk person Claire graciously moved us to a non smoking floor . For four nights the staff at Hotel Raphael could not have been more attentive . The views of the Eiffel Tower and the Arc of Triumph from the hotel are amazing . Thanks to everyone at The Hotel Raphael !

Room Tip: Make sure if you are smoke sensitive that you request non smoking .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Douglas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LES_HOTELS_BAVEREZ, Directeur général at Hotel Raphael, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Dear Douglas P,

It is great when our guests enjoy so much and they have an experience beyond mere accommodation! Thank you for sharing your comments with the world.

I am happy that you enjoyed a memorable time with us for your first trip to Paris and that you found everything perfect, especially our service and spacious rooms. We truly want our guests to feel like at home, and as each of us is different, there is a unique room for everyone at the Hotel Raphael, as well as personalized recommendations to ensure a truly unforgettable stay. I am also glad to know you were amazed by the beautiful and romantic view of the Eiffel Tower or Arc de Triomphe from our hotel.

We want you to come back whenever you’re ready to experience the rest of what we have to offer. Whatever you’re looking for in a stay we are certain that we can accommodate you no matter what the occasion.
Everyone deserves to be treated to a bit of luxury and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Warmest Regards,

General Manager
Hotel Raphael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

One of the best hotels we've ever been to... and we travel a lot. I was in Paris for work, however my husband decided to join me for a romantic getaway as well. We booked Hotel Raphael because I had read that it was where Audrey Hepburn used to stay when she was in Paris. I knew it would be elegant and historic, but what I didn't expect was the absolutely wonderful staff who ensured every aspect of our stay was perfect. I had requested a room with a view, and boy did they deliver! Our hotel had a terrace that overlooked the Arc de Triomphe! You could also see Sacre Coeur and the Eiffel Tower! Amazing view! We enjoyed drinking wine while watching the sun set over Paris.They had a wonderful breakfast buffet ready for us every morning. The location was within walking distance of Champs-Elysees and many other famous locations. It was very difficult to leave. I am going to stay at this hotel every time I am in Paris from now on. I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Upper-level rooms, preferably with a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FilmTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LES_HOTELS_BAVEREZ, Directeur général at Hotel Raphael, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for posting a glowing review of your recent stay at the Hotel Raphael and for highlighting the key points that makes the hotel so special. I am charmed to read your passionate appreciation of the many excellent facilities the hotel has to offer.

It’s a wonderful compliment for us to know you enjoyed a true Parisian experience and that you ” can’t wait to go back”. I am so glad that you were happy with your choice to splurge and stay in one of our spacious suite with a breathtaking view over the Arc de Triomphe.

The hotel is still owned by the same French family over 4 generations and our entire team works every day to recreate the feeling of being welcomed into a luxurious family home for our guests. Your nice compliments on our service and staff are a great reward to our continuous efforts to meet our clients' expectations.

Again thank you so much for reviewing the hotel; it means so much to us!

Why not come back in July for Bastille Day and enjoy a divine dinner on our roof terrace while watching the Eiffel Tower fireworks illuminating Paris skylines? A must do, so romantic…

A bientôt

Warmest Regards,

General Manager
Hotel Raphael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This hotel was a very romantic place to stay. From the elevator with the iron gate to the well-dressed hotel staff, to the set out of the rooms and the breakfast served, this place was an absolute dream. We sat in the restaurant on the roof and looked out over Paris with a cocktail before heading out to dinner. The bar downstairs had a very classic elegant design. I felt very spoilt, it is definitely what you have in mind when thinking of romantic French hotels.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cadie_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LES_HOTELS_BAVEREZ, Directeur général at Hotel Raphael, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Cadie_London,

I would like to thank you for sharing your impressions following your stay at the Hotel Raphael. We are so appreciative of feedback from our guests, and most especially when it is so positive. Getting a perfect 5 rating from a Top Contributor means a lot for us. Merci !

I enjoy reading your review, especially as you have summed up so succinctly all that makes our hotel so special. It’s a pleasure to know you enjoyed all aspects of the hotel, from the unique lift, to our rooms, buffet breakfast and to our cozy bar.
Raphael-Le Bar, on the rooftop, is a top notch place during summer time to sip a cocktail or a glass of champagne while enjoying magnificent 360-degree panoramic views over the Capital’s skyline (Eiffel Tower, Arc de Triomphe…). I am glad to know you had time to discover our best “kept secret garden”!

Thank you again for the courtesy of your time and we all look forward to welcoming you again soon at the Hotel Raphael for your next stay in our lovely romantic " City of Lights".

Warmest regards,

General Manager
Hotel Raphael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Raphael Hotel in Paris is a very romantic place to stay. French icon Serge Gainsbourg used to be a frequent guest in the last century. The hotel is located close to Champs-Elysees in the heart of Paris. We had breakfast in the hotel's restaurant with an atmosphere of 18th century French chiq. Really enjoyed and plan to come again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LES_HOTELS_BAVEREZ, Directeur général at Hotel Raphael, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Dear Stan B,

We are thrilled to hear that you had an outstanding stay with us at the Hotel Raphael. On behalf of our staff, I thank you for all of your gracious comments. Guest feedbacks on travel sites and especially on TripAdvisor are of great values for independent properties like ours.

We are lucky with our prime location being just moments from many of the highlights that Paris has to offer. It makes seeing everything so easy and many of the top spots are only a few minutes stroll from the Hotel Raphael. It sounds as though you were able to take advantage of that.
Thank you for highlighting our breakfast and our unique décor. It is true that, in the past, the Raphael had the privilege to welcome many famous artists such as Serge Giansbourg, Audrey Hepburn, Cary Grant and the hotel is still a favourite place for many other celebrities.

Again thank you so much for reviewing the hotel; it means so much to us!

Please do hurry back to visit us again. We would love to welcome you for another memorable and romantic experience with us.

Warmest Regards,

General Manager
Hotel Raphael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Champs-Élysées
The Peninsula Paris
The Peninsula Paris
#13 of 1,809 in Paris
833 reviews
Champs-Élysées
Majestic Hotel Spa Paris
Majestic Hotel Spa Paris
#825 of 1,809 in Paris
297 reviews
Champs-Élysées
Hotel Lancaster Paris Champs-Elysees
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Champs-Élysées
Hotel Vernet
Hotel Vernet
#218 of 1,809 in Paris
384 reviews
Champs-Élysées
Hotel Napoleon Paris
Hotel Napoleon Paris
#125 of 1,809 in Paris
381 reviews
Champs-Élysées
Hotel Keppler
Hotel Keppler
#53 of 1,809 in Paris
1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Raphael? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Raphael

Address: 17 avenue Kleber | 16 Arr., 75116 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Elysees , Passy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#68 Business Hotel in Paris
#127 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#182 Family Hotel in Paris
#229 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £239 - £423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Raphael 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated a 2-minute walk from the Champs-Elysees and the Arc de Triomphe, this 5-star hotel offers luxury accommodation in the heart of Paris. It offers a panoramic terrace and a gastronomic restaurant. Decorated in a Louis 15th and 16th style, guest rooms feature wooden furnishings and elaborate wall hangings. They include a flat-screen TV and a minibar. Some of the suites feature a balcony, views of the Eiffel Tower and lounge area. The Chef of Raphael Le Restaurant proposes gastronomic French cuisine. Guests can relax and have a snack, tea, drink or just a breath at the cosy English Bar's red velvet arm chairs. Other facilities at the hotel include free Wi-Fi access and a fitness room. Charles de Gaulle - Etoile Metro Station is just 400 metres away, providing direct access to the Louvre Museum and the Grand Palais. Trocadero is a 15-minute walk away, which offers one of the best views of the Eiffel Tower in Paris. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Raphael reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raphael Hotel Paris
Hotel Raphael Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing