We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rooftop view is best kept secret!”
Review of Hotel Raphael

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Raphael
Ranked #352 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
NJ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rooftop view is best kept secret!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at this fine hotel. Yes the rooms are perhaps a little more dated and old worldly than some of the other nearby hotels but what the hotel lacks in modern amenities it makes up for in charm. The customer service was great and I believe the location is excellent. With the Kleber metro stop literally at your doorstep, you can get to all of Paris' great attractions using their great metro system.
Best of all....the view from the rooftop patio!!! There is a Peninsula hotel going in across the street which will only elevate the prestige of the area and they won't have this view!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dadinmotion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LES_HOTELS_BAVEREZ, Directeur général at Hotel Raphael, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Dadinmotion,

Thank you for spending the time to review our hotel. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Raphael Paris and appreciated our customer service, as well as our location. Being seemingly away from the crowds, but still steps from the Champs-Elysées avenue, is one of the things that makes our hotel so special; plus with ease of transportation all at your fingertips, it is hard to be disappointed.

I am glad to know you consider our rooftop terrace “the best of all”. Located on the Hotel Raphael's seventh floor, our magnificent terrace offers unparalleled panoramic views of Paris and the Eiffel Tower. In summer, the heady scents of budding plants fill the air. A veritable haven of peace...and definitively the best kept secret garden in Paris.

We are looking forward to having the opportunity to host you once more, and welcome you to your home away from home in Paris. A bientôt!

Kindest Regards,

General Manager
Hotel Raphael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    124
    50
    25
    13
See reviews for
86
266
21
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I have come to the Raphael a few times during my visits to Paris. It is a great hotel, and your money goes farther here, than most other hotels in Paris. The rooms seem to be quite spacious, though I stayed in a suite. The suite I stayed in was very large, and nicely furnished. It was extremely clean and lovely. The entire hotel staff is fabulous. They do a very nice job managing and keeping it clean. The concierge can definitely tell you where to go to eat or explore. They know all types of good restaurants with varied cuisines. Speaking of restaurants, the hotel has a wonderful breakfast restaurant. They serve a lovely tier of mini pastries (my favorite is the mini chocolate croissants). They also have a lovely, ornate, bar, which a lot of people seem to go to. I only have one complaint, that being: location. Yes, you are close to the Champs Elysees, and L' Arc de Triomphe, but you are a long ways from other points of interest. You are a ways from: Notre-Dame, the Tuileries Gardens, Luxembourg Gardens, etc. In addition, you are a good 40 minute trip from the Charles de Gaulle Airport. Despite my complaint about location, I would recommend this hotel for solo travelers, friends, couples, and of course, family.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MattInMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LES_HOTELS_BAVEREZ, Directeur général at Hotel Raphael, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear MattlnMiami,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience after your last stay at the Raphael Paris and for being a loyal & repeat guest ! I am charmed to read your passionate appreciation of the many excellent facilities the hotel has to offer.

Each of our rooms enjoys a unique décor. I am glad to know that you were happy with your choice to splurge and stay in one of our spacious Suite decorated with antique furniture.

Our cozy English Bar is indeed very popular; sipping here a glass of champagne or a cocktail is a great way to end a long day of sightseeing. Thank you also for highlighting the quality of our breakfast and I am happy that you got to experience our delicious homemade pastries and bread.

We pride ourselves on providing our guests with intuitive, personalized service delivery and on ensuring that all guests feel welcome and completely at home. I am delighted that our entire team, most notably the housekeeping and the concierges provided you with an exceptional experience.

Paris is a big city and there are so many famous sights to discover, both on the right or left banks. We usually have very good comments on our location because the Raphael is located 5 minutes walk from the Champs-Elysées, the Arc de Triomphe and 20 minutes walk to the Eiffel Tower. There is a subway and a bus station in front of the hotel so it takes just 15 minutes to go to the Louvre Museum and the Tuileries Garden. Located on the left bank, Luxembourg Gardens and Notre Dame, are reachable by public transport in approx. 25/30 minutes. Regardless your location in Paris (right or left bank), going to Charles de Gaulle airport is always about 40/45’ drive due to the traffic.

Again, we thank you for your time, and we are looking forward to welcoming you soon again in “our wonderful boutique hotel”.

Best Regards,

General Manager
Hotel Raphael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

the hotel raphael is what one hopes to find in paris , elegant, wonderful service , extremely helpful staff and small enough to be personal. the rooms our lovely. our junior suite was enormous as was the up- to - date but with character bath room. and, the wrought iron door of the elevator is just one of many " parisian " details that give the hotel a lot of atmosphere .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LES_HOTELS_BAVEREZ, Directeur général at Hotel Raphael, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Natalie S,

Thank you very much for making the Hotel Raphael your home in the capital and for sharing your experience in such a lovely way!

It’s a wonderful compliment for us to know you enjoyed a true Parisian experience. Built in 1925, the hotel was designed especially for a VIP clientele who was looking for luxury, elegance and discretion as their home away from home. It’s also the only Parisian five-star hotel privately run by the same French family over four generations: the Baverez Family.

I am so glad that you were happy with your choice to splurge and stay in one of our spacious junior suite. Thank you for such a wonderful description of your room. The hotel preserved such original details as rich silks, tasteful antiques and damask wallpaper. The Junior suites and suites boast Louis XV and Louis XVI style furniture and roomy wardrobes in mahogany and oak. A wood-carved archway and matching curtains partially separate the living room from the bedroom.

With nearly 100 years of experience, the Raphael is proud of the unique ‘hospitality savoir-faire’ that has been the backbone of its success.

Again, we thank you for your time, and we are looking forward to welcoming you soon again for another true Parisian experience.

Kindest Regards,

General Manager
Hotel Raphael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2014

What a fantastic hotel! Very pleasant atmosphere and nicely furnished. The staff are very friendly and constantly working to make sure your stay is perfectly comfortable.

There is a subway station right next to the hotel, and there are several popular attractions within walking distance. The roof-top terrace is wonderful and offers a beautiful view of the Arc de Triomphe and the Eiffel Tower. Definitely a great place to stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marijke R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LES_HOTELS_BAVEREZ, Directeur général at Hotel Raphael, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Marijke R,

Thank you very much for making the Hotel Raphael your home in the capital and for sharing your experience in such a lovely way!

It’s a real pleasure to know you found our hotel "fantastic" and we are all delighted to read that you enjoyed our refined French décor, spacious rooms with antique furniture and our roof terrace with breathtaking 360° panoramic views over Paris’s best known monuments.

The location of our property is indeed very central, at few minutes’ walk from the Arc de Triomphe, Champs-Elysées, trendy shops and major museums. I am glad to know you take advantage of our perfect location.

Every day all our staff makes sure that our guests feel at home, it will therefore be a pleasure to forward them your kind comments in regards to the service.

Again, we thank you for your time, and we are looking forward to welcoming you soon again for another fantastic Parisian gateway.

Kindest Regards,

General Manager
Hotel Raphael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

…The Hotel Raphael, one block from the Arc de Triomphe and two steps from the Kléber Metro stop, has been our Paris headquarters since 1996 for our trips to the French capital. Since the cost to stay in this privately owned hotel is not cheap, it has to offer, in our minds, a superlatively helpful and pleasant staff, quality amenities, and a special touch that exists in few other places.

It does!

All the amenities are there AND most importantly, the Raphael has the best croissants in Paris. Pastry Chef Nina, an impossibly young, diminuative, (Does she eat her own baking?) and creative patissière turns out fluffy, light, flaky, breakfast croissants that could bring tears to your eyes. Naturally, as a first class talent, Chef Nina is in charge of all the activities in the Raphael’s bakery so every morsel that comes from her kitchen is delicious.

My question . . . if there’s an annual prize for the best baguette in Paris, why can’t there be one for the best croissant? I know who’d get our vote.

As the hotel is small, it offers guests personalized service including tracking you down if they know you are in the public areas. That’s not an ordinary service, but it’s much appreciated.

In spite of its Art Deco appearance and the genuine works of art that cover the walls, all attempts are made to provide modern, up to date amenities, including free Wi-Fi service. One unwieldy aspect—the almost constant need to sign in more than the promised 24-hour log in service.

Apart from this minor annoyance, most everything works as advertised. If something doesn’t function as expected, the problem is handled by a human as fast as humanly possible.

This location on 17 Avenue Kléber is a dynamite combination: Guests find themselves in a protected environment while still close to the beehive activity of the Champs Elysée and all the fingers of the streets that fan out from the Arc de Triomphe. Shopping? Not a problem. The prestigious Avenue Victor Hugo is two steps away. Looking for something a bit less pricey. Turn left as you exit the hotel and Avenue Kleber with its cafes, restaurants, and other shops line the route to the Trocadero several blocks away.

The aforementioned Metro will take you to the Etoile (Charles de Gaulle stop) and from there you can fan out to just about any section of the city.

And, finally, if your stay includes rainless days and evenings during the summer, plan a visit to the 7th floor Rooftop Terrace. The setting with its fantasy garden and 365 degree view of the City of Light offers better views than those from the Eiffel Tower. . . . All this splendor with no waiting and no lines. For the price of a drink, you will be able to tell your grandchildren your romantic dreams of Paris came true.

Room Tip: Ask to see the rooms; price determines location and level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MitzouTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LES_HOTELS_BAVEREZ, Directeur général at Hotel Raphael, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Mitzou Texas,

Wow! What a great review! We've received great compliments before but that is outstanding!
Thank you ever so much for this brilliant feedback, especially with the detail that you have been able to take the time to go into. This is the best way for us to understand where we are and how best to continually maintain standards and improve our service to all of our cherished guests.

We always like to go that extra mile to ensure the service matches the high standard of the rooms and amenities offered, further enhancing the overall experience. All the staff takes very much to heart such comments as yours, especially our young and talented Pastry Chef, Nina Métayer. She was delighted to know you are a huge “fan” of her home-made croissants and pastries. Glad to know we can count on your vote for a prize!

We are very fortunate at the Hotel Raphael to have an ideal location and so many different rooms that give our guests a home away from home feel. The owners, same French family over 4 generations, continue to ensure that the decoration is different in all the 83 rooms and suites. We are very proud that guests such as yourself recognize the attention to the detail and enjoy a Parisian experience in our “venerable institution”.

The rooftop bar located on the 7th floor, is definitely worth a visit during sunny days from May to September. It is great to sit down sipping a glass of bubbly looking at the wonderful views of Paris.

Again thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with the world. If you think our hotel is one of the best, do not hesitate to take the Condé Nast Traveler's annual Readers' Choice Awards 2014 survey and vote for us. Merci!

Whenever you do decide to walk back through our doors why not give me a call in advance so we can personalize your next stay with us to make you feel more at home.

Warmest Regards,

General Manager
Hotel Raphael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The hotel is of highest class both from room, food and service point of view.
Magnificent location in Paris with an excellent view from the terrace.
Can be highly recommended for anyone with high demands on quality and luxury.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LES_HOTELS_BAVEREZ, Directeur général at Hotel Raphael, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Marie B,

Making guests feel at home is our top priority! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and found our accommodation, food and service so pleasing. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay. It’s a real pleasure for us to know you highly recommend the Hotel Raphael to anyone looking for “quality and luxury”. Merci!

Again thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others.
Please let us know how we may be of assistance to you in the future. In the meantime , please do not hesitate to follow us on our social media for more information and special offer.

Best regards,

General Manager
Hotel Raphael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This hotel is definitely of great value for money. location is very good, you can walk to major places, parking was free. and the key thing is that the hotel has a very strong Parisian feel. The room we stayed in felt like a Parisian flat, very comfortable although in old style. The only weak point is breakfast which was a bit disappointing. Lunch was rather good though. Seventh floor roof top gives a great view of Paris.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LES_HOTELS_BAVEREZ, Directeur général at Hotel Raphael, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Michael G,

Thank you very much for sharing your positive opinion with us and with people all over the world!

It’s a delight to read your appreciation for our “strong Parisian feel”. The Raphael is still owned and managed by the same French family for over 89 years: we do our upmost to welcome our guests into a luxurious and very cozy environment, but we never forget to pass the warm family spirit of the place on to them…

We are very lucky to enjoy such a good location in the heart of Paris, few steps away from the Arc de Triomphe and the Champs-Elysées: therefore, we are so happy to see that you have taken advantage of it!

Thank you for bringing your concerns about the breakfast to our attention and we feel sorry for not meeting your expectations on this point. Hope next time our breakfast will be “one of the key thing” you will remember!

Our team is looking forward to welcoming you back soon for a new memorable Parisian stay. If you want to take the best advantage of our roof terrace, you should come back during summer and enjoy a relaxing meal or a for a glass of champagne while watching the magnificent 360 degree panoramic views over the capital…ça c’est Paris!

Warmest Regards,

General Manager
Hotel Raphael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Lancaster Paris Champs-Elysees
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Napoleon Paris
Hotel Napoleon Paris
#146 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,217 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Marignan Champs-Elysees
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Vernet
Hotel Vernet
#327 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Majestic Hotel Spa
Majestic Hotel Spa
#742 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Keppler
Hotel Keppler
#42 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Raphael? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Raphael

Property: Hotel Raphael
Address: 17 avenue Kleber | 16 Arr., 75116 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Elysees , Passy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#69 Business Hotel in Paris
#128 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#225 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#380 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Raphael 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated a 2-minute walk from the Champs-Elysees and the Arc de Triomphe, this 5-star hotel offers luxury accommodation in the heart of Paris. It offers a panoramic terrace and a gastronomic restaurant. Decorated in a Louis 15th and 16th style, guest rooms feature wooden furnishings and elaborate wall hangings. They include a flat-screen TV and a minibar. Some of the suites feature a balcony, views of the Eiffel Tower and lounge area. The Chef of Raphael Le Restaurant proposes gastronomic French cuisine. Guests can relax and have a snack, tea, drink or just a breath at the cosy English Bar's red velvet arm chairs. Other facilities at the hotel include free Wi-Fi access and a fitness room. Charles de Gaulle - Etoile Metro Station is just 400 metres away, providing direct access to the Louvre Museum and the Grand Palais. Trocadero is a 15-minute walk away, which offers one of the best views of the Eiffel Tower in Paris. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Raphael reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raphael Hotel Paris
Hotel Raphael Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing