We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice boutique hotel near the Louvre” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel du Louvre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel du Louvre
Ranked #403 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Nice boutique hotel near the Louvre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

We enjoyed staying in this hotel. It's close to the Louvre and metro. It is located in a very busy area so if you're looking for a quiet hotel to stay then this may not be the place for you. The service was good and the staff attentive. The elevator was slow so we took the stairs most of the time.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fanny G, General Manager at Hotel du Louvre, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Thank you for your review.
We are glad to read that you enjoyed our faboulous location in the heart of Paris.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon !
With my best regards,
Fanny Guibouret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,028 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    882
    687
    268
    127
    64
See reviews for
419
899
98
251
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights and it was fine, but we would not do it again. The location, looking directly onto the Louvre is a unique experience and it's near several Metro stops. The location also made it possible to cover a lot of Paris on foot. The elegant old world entrance is welcoming as is the staff. The concierges were very helpful. The included breakfast was tasty and plentiful. The rooms definitely need work. The bathroom had been redone and was nice, but the room itself had seen its best days a long time ago. Too, the windows had not been soundproofed, so if you're a light sleeper, the traffic and ambulance noise may be a bother.

Room Tip: If traffic noise bothers you, choose a higher room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SharBer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fanny G, General Manager at Hotel du Louvre, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment about our hotel. We are sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay.
Concerning the room, we would like you to know that the Hotel du Louvre is a typical XIX century building. Every room is singular and to provide our clients the best services, all our rooms will be renovated in a near future.
We apologize for the level of service you experienced on this occasion and will indeed be following up in all areas mentioned. We do hold the greatest importance to up keeping high guest service levels and thank you for bringing these issues to our attention in order to help us follow up.
We do hope for an opportunity to welcome you again to our hotel under better circumstances.
With my best regards,
Fanny Guibouret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

I agree with the majority of reviewers who write that this hotel is greatly overpriced if paying the normal rate, because of the condition of the rooms, which were last decorated several decades ago and are looking seriously worse for wear.

However, as we must judge things contextually, this hotel still rates Very Good in my book for Paris, for reasons that I will explain below and with one essential caveat: that a promotional rate is paid and not the normal rate, which is, indeed out of proportion.

If, then, one pays more like 300 euro per night instead of 600 or, unbelievably 800 (the latter being the rate stated in the rooms themselves!), one is spending the same amount as for a large range of upmarket hotels in Paris, and the du Louvre does not come away so badly - here is why:

- Location, location, location.
You really cannot beat it. 1min walk from the Louvre, which means one could do the highlights of Paris for a whole week without taking public transport and never walking more than 20mins each way (for places like St Germain across the river) , often much less (2mins to Palais Royale, 5mins to the Opera, etc). This also goes for a great range of places to eat, drink and shop, too. But if you do want the metro, it is also literally across the street, as is a priceless commodity for Paris: a taxi stand.

- Size & comfort of rooms.
Yes, they are tired and, decor-wise, very dated, BUT they are huge for Parisian standards, and the beds/bedding is lovely and new, the bathrooms immaculate and also generously sized, almost all rooms having twin basins and separate toilet, with tons of hot water and great pressure at all times (good plumbing in Paris is not to be taken for granted!) and, although the location obviously means considerable noise from the street, the double windows minimise this up to a point.

- Excellent (if overpriced - so make sure it's included in the rate) breakfast.

- Excellent service from seriously professional & competent staff, the kind who will get you a table in a fully-booked restaurant, and who will call your room to ask when you want it cleaned for the day, if you happen to have slept in during normal service hours...

Obviously, if the hotel got a makeover it would be amazing - but if they charge upwards of 600 euro for a room now and you have to hunt for special offers to get half that, which is still not cheap, I shudder at the thought of how much they will charge then!...

Room Tip: Rooms facing east, onto the Place du Palais Royale, are quieter than those on the avenues flanking t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrLexLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fanny G, General Manager at Hotel du Louvre, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Thank you most sincerely for your very gracious and generous compliments following your recent stay with us at the Hôtel du Louvre.
Concerning the rooms, we would like you to know that most of them are unique and benefit from individual touches and exceptional views.
Please rest assured that the comfort and the satisfaction of our guests are our first preoccupations. I thank you for your understanding and for helping us to improve the quality of our service.
We do hope to be able to welcome you again in the very near future and all remain at your disposal.
With my best regards,
Fanny Guibouret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

Whoever describes this hotel as 5 star is delusional in all respects bar one.

That's the price.

It's old, has not been maintained, does not provide quality nor provide an environment that is of any use for business.

I note with interest that the manager seems to take considerable pride in answering all reviews. The most telling comment was confirmation that in 2014 there will be a complete refurb.

My recommendation is to stay clear until then. Although I suspect that when completed the prices will reach even more crazy levels.

Sad - because the location is great.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank UltroneousTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fanny G, General Manager at Hotel du Louvre, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you for having taken the time to leave a comment about our hotel.
Please do accept our most sincere apologies for not having met your expectations.We do hold the greatest importance to up keeping high guest service levels and to respond to all guest reviews.
Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention in order to help us follow up.
We do hope for an opportunity to welcome you again to our hotel under better circumstances.
With my best regards,
Fanny Guibouret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Excellent location , great 'external view. The rest needs a lot of work:
- too expensive for what you get
- very very small room, not really for a king size bed. Walls were 40 cm from each side of the bed!
- noisy due to a massive aircon unit juts outside (used for the tube?)
- in need for a lot of attention as most things look ok but are very old or not as you would expect from a Hyatt

Room Tip: Chose another hotel for the price you pay for this!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rinaldo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fanny G, General Manager at Hotel du Louvre, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments on your stay in our hotel.
We apologize for the level of service you experienced on this occasion and will indeed be following up in all areas mentioned. We do hold the greatest importance to up keeping high guest service levels and thank you for bringing these issues to our attention in order to help us follow up.
We do hope for an opportunity to welcome you again to our hotel under better circumstances.
With my best regards,
Fanny Guibouret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phuket
Level Contributor
129 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

The manager's response to my review of 7 August seems to suggest that one should not mind paying 650 Euro for the privilege of staying in a hotel built in 1855. This notion needs a radical change!

While time may add to the importance of museums and other old monuments, hotels do not gain by it unless they are completely renovated and upgraded to modern standards (almost rebuilt). This certainly is not the case here.

It's a shortsighted marketing policy to charge such high prices simply because the place is old. The real test of the underlying assumption of your strategy that people will pay for antiquity will be if a brand new hotel came up in the vicinity.

Regulations may nor permit that yet, but magnificent new hotels in Hong Kong, Shanghai, Bangkok, Singapore and the old palaces converted into hotels in India will sooner or later make your industry realise that while millions of tourists come to Paris to enjoy its old sights, their idea of great hotels is founded on modern standards of comfort and convenience.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hari b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fanny G, General Manager at Hotel du Louvre, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments on your stay in our hotel.
We apologize for the level of service you experienced on this occasion and will indeed be following up in all areas mentioned. We do hold the greatest importance to up keeping high guest service levels and thank you for bringing these issues to our attention in order to help us follow up.
We do hope for an opportunity to welcome you again to our hotel under better circumstances.
With oumy best regards,
Fanny Guibouret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

The Hotel du Louvre has great charm, a friendly but unpolished front desk staff, and a truly ideal location if you enjoy being in the center of the action.

Our second floor room was small but clean with a modern bath and, most extraordinary, a view directly into the windows of The Louvre across the street.

We did have some issues on our first day, the room was not two singles as reserved, the television didn't work, and the fans blew only heat, but all were resolved quickly and with great consideration.

I would agree with previous reviewers that the prices are surprisingly high here (breakfast lists at 30 Euro but is reduced to 19 Euro if you get a ticket from the front desk) I suppose that is the price for the premium location. Overall, we enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fanny G, General Manager at Hotel du Louvre, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thank you most sincerely for your very gracious and generous compliments following your recent stay with us at the Hôtel du Louvre, a Hyatt Hotel.
Concerning the rooms, we would like you to know that most of them are unique and benefit from individual touches and exceptional views.
Please rest assured that the comfort and the satisfaction of our guests are our first preoccupations. I thank you for your understanding and for helping us to improve the quality of our service.
We do hope to be able to welcome you again in the very near future and all remain at your disposal.
With my best regards,
Fanny Guibouret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Grand Hotel du Palais Royal
Louvre / Palais-Royal
La Clef Louvre
La Clef Louvre
#34 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Regina Hotel
Regina Hotel
#109 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Paris Madeleine
#279 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Park Hyatt Paris - Vendome
Louvre / Palais-Royal
The Westin Paris - Vendome
The Westin Paris - Vendome
#404 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Louvre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Louvre

Property: Hotel du Louvre
Address: Place Andre Malraux, 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Palais-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Paris
#240 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#331 Family Hotel in Paris
#418 Business Hotel in Paris
#440 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel du Louvre 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the best of Paris with four facades facing the most famous cultural sights, the Hotel du Louvre is two minutes walk from the Louvre Museum, and ten minutes away from the Opera Garnier. It is set in the heart of the fashion district just steps away from the boutiques on the Rue St Honoré and has direct access to the Champs-Elysées and to the business district of La Défense. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Lastminute and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel du Louvre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Louvre Paris
Du Louvre Hotel
Hotel Du Louvre Paris
Hotel De Louvre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing