We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, great service...beautiful hotel”
Review of Hotel du Louvre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel du Louvre
Ranked #403 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
California
Level Contributor
115 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great location, great service...beautiful hotel”
Reviewed 20 December 2013

My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon early Dec 2013, it is 2 minutes walk to the Louvre Museum and Jardin des Tuileres, the Metro is few steps away from the door, bank, ice cream shop, restaurants and grocery store are all walking distance from the hotel. The staffs are all very helpful and friendly. The hotel room was beautiful and very cozy. I absolutely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EllafromtheIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fanny G, Directeur général at Hotel du Louvre, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your impressions.
We are delighted to see that our mission of excellence was carried out in every aspect trough your stay.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back at the Hotel du Louvre.
With my best regards,
Fanny Guibouret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,083 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    912
    701
    272
    133
    65
See reviews for
429
927
100
256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 December 2013

This hotel is right next door to the Louvre and within walking distance to the best that Paris has to offer. The hotel had a lovely entrance and lobby and the staff is very friendly. The rooms are a bit small, but that is to be expected in Paris. They were comfortable and clean and our room on the 5th floor had a small balcony and view of Avenue d' la Opera, which was lovely. The rooms were functional and comfortable, although the wi-fi seemed a bit temperamental. Overall, I would definitely recommend it if you are able to get a good rate... the listed price said $800 euro a night which would be outrageous for this hotel, but definitely worth $200-$250 a night for the ease of location and great staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmissner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fanny G, Directeur général at Hotel du Louvre, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us and fellow travellers.
I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you particularily enjoyed our quality of service. I will make sure to share this with my colleagues.
However, concerning the Wi-Fi issue, we would like you to know that we have now changed our Internet provider in order to avoid such situations in the future.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Paris.
With my best regards,
Fanny Guibouret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
83 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

It is all a matter of perspective in reviewing the Hotel du Louvre. If you wish to be steps from the Carrousel du Louvre entrance to shops and the famous museum (literally across the street) or the Jardin des Tuileres then the hotel's location cannot be closer. If you wish to have access to a Metro stop outside the door of the hotel, the location in perfect. If you enjoy the feel of a building with history and stairways that creek, elevator that rattle, and rooms appointed from years ago, the hotel will draw you in. If interacting with a staff that is quick to speak English in response to your French, then you will be well served. If you want to have the before a remodel experience, then stay.

One could equally see all the above features as headwinds, the street noise (for a view room) or mechanical noise from the interior courtyard (standard room). Small dated rooms with limited closet space and few amenities that are steps behind the Hyatt Madeleine and the ultra luxury Park Hyatt Vendôme. There may be no remodel scheduled to update the areas that could be refreshed. Without the breakfast plan included, the surrounding patisseries have excellent and less expensive options.

Either perspective resonates depending on how you approach the experience. Either way, the staff was helpful. The location is remarkable. You are in Paris and I would stay again.

Room Tip: Standard rooms face an interior courtyard (some mechanical noise when the windows are open). View r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank willsummit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fanny G, General Manager at Hotel du Louvre, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you very much for your genuine review.
I am pleased to read how much you enjoyed our property, including our location. As you experienced, we are central to public transportation, along with shopping, dining and culture.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back again in Paris !
With my best regards,
Fanny Guibouret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stateline, Nevada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Traveled here due to business, and the location in the heart of Paris was great for my brief walking tour of the city. Close to the Louvre, the Seine, and other notable landmarks. As to the hotel it is an older style hotel with small rooms but was comfy. nothing flashy. Internet worked great, it was relatively quiet and the on site bar and restaurant were nice. Not having stayed in Paris before I thought the rate was a bit excessive. To echo other reviews, it is a bit dated but overall was fine for my trip. And the croissants in the morning were amazing.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BR58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fanny G, General Manager at Hotel du Louvre, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Thank you for your review.
We are glad to read that you enjoyed our faboulous location in the heart of Paris.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon !
With my best regards,
Fanny Guibouret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 December 2013

My family and I stayed at this hotel earlier this year (Winter). We traveled from the U.S.
Pros:
-Restaurant has great food, especially the breakfast buffet! They make fresh omelettes to order.
-The restaurant manager, Mr. Amirul is wonderful! He is very friendly, professional, and goes above and beyond to serve his guests. He also translates alot because most of the restaurant staff can't speak English.
-Front desk gives free converters for the room.
-Located right next to the Louvre (walking distance), some restaurants, and small shopping mall.
-Bathroom was large, shower was great.
-Heater in room worked well (it was snowing when we went).
Cons:
-We could not get a room with 2 beds although we had 3 people and paid full-price for our reservation. We were charged alot extra to have a fold up cot bed brought into the room.
-Most of the staff (maids, restaurants servers) do not speak any English so there was a language barrier when trying to communicate some of our needs. The front desk staff, concierge, and managers do speak English.
-Street noise. Sirens night and day. Can hear police and ambulances and taxis driving around.
-It is older and carpeted but they keep it clean.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fanny G, General Manager at Hotel du Louvre, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
We are very grateful for your positive feedback.
It is a great pleasure to read that you fully experienced our hotel and restaurant.
We have taken goog note of your remarks. I thank you for your understanding and for helping us to improve the quality of our service.
We would be happy to welcome you again soon,
With my best regards,
Fanny Guibouret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

This is a hotel operated by the Hyatt chain and hopefully they will freshen the place just a little. Our room was very nice, just a little dated, with a view of a street courtyard where buskers performed. Very nice.
Just steps away was the entrance to the mall at the Louvre where you could get a subway train if wanted. Buses and taxis were easy to come by. The concierges were extremely helpful trying to accommodate our last second wishes. For the majority of them they did.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank signals1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fanny G, General Manager at Hotel du Louvre, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Thank you for your review.
I am pleased to read how much you enjoyed our property, including our location. As you experienced, we are central to public transportation, along with shopping, dining and culture.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back again in Paris !
With my best regards,
Fanny Guibouret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

While I have been a loyal Hyatt Diamond member for some 20 years, this is my first stay at the Hotel du Louvre which is not surprising as it has only recently come into the Hyatt brand. Yes it is not a Park Hyatt and may not be been as "slick" as Park Hyatt Washington, Tokyo, Paris or Sydney or as modern as Andaz 5th Ave NYC, it is quintessentially Paris. We are 7 days into a stay of 11 days and I cannot believe that we could have enjoyed any better location, facilities, service or experience. Yes there are some quirks - main power turned off in our suite every other day by housekeeping, no Nespresso machine (now seemingly a standard in room feature) or in room cutlery, a capricious elevator - but the whole experience has been wonderful. Yes we have been upgraded because of our Hyatt status but it is great to have space - a dressing room, huge bathroom, storage for our 5 suitcases, three sets of doors opening to the world below and a true separate lounge room. From Concierge, to duty managers, restaurant staff - thank you.

Room Tip: Our room was incredibly quiet with double glazed doors overlooking the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fanny G, General Manager at Hotel du Louvre, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions with us and fellow travellers.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
With my best regards,
Fanny Guibouret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Grand Hotel du Palais Royal
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Regina Hotel
Regina Hotel
#100 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
La Clef Louvre
La Clef Louvre
#27 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Paris Madeleine
#259 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,070 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Park Hyatt Paris - Vendome
Louvre / Palais-Royal
The Westin Paris - Vendome
The Westin Paris - Vendome
#428 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Louvre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Louvre

Property: Hotel du Louvre
Address: Place Andre Malraux, 75001 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Palais-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Paris
#252 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#330 Family Hotel in Paris
#418 Business Hotel in Paris
#439 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel du Louvre 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the best of Paris with four facades facing the most famous cultural sights, the Hotel du Louvre is two minutes walk from the Louvre Museum, and ten minutes away from the Opera Garnier. It is set in the heart of the fashion district just steps away from the boutiques on the Rue St Honoré and has direct access to the Champs-Elysées and to the business district of La Défense. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Lastminute, TravelUp, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel du Louvre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Louvre Paris
Du Louvre Hotel
Hotel Du Louvre Paris
Hotel De Louvre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing