We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel du Louvre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel du Louvre
Ranked #403 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We (husband & I) stayed here for one night, July 12, we were going on a river cruise the next day & came in early to get over the jetlag. We had stayed here in '09 & had a fantastic stay, would it be the same this time? We arrived from NY early in the morning so our room wasn't ready, we didn't expect it to be at that hour:) While the girl at the front desk was not friendly she was polite & efficient & soon had us checked in. We left our bags w/ the bellman but as we did I asked if I could get a few things out of my bag (we flew overnight, we were a mess & just wanted to freshen up w/ our little 3oz bags), he seemed put out by the request but undaunted we headed off to the ladies/mens rooms to clean up a bit. We were back 5 minutes later to put our stuff back in our bags & again he seemed put out. Oh well, off we went to explore Paris for the morning.

We came back a few hours later & our room was ready, yay! It was a great room, very good size & nicely decorated with an updated bathroom, very comfortable bed & an awesome view of The Louvre Museum. I mean it was right there. We were quite happy with it. (It was also the last elbow room we would have before spending a week on a riverboat. Boy, did we miss our room at the Hotel Du Louvre!:)

We attempted to make a dinner reservation with the concierge for a restaurant in the area. We were ignored for a full five minutes while they carried on a conversation & didn't look at anyone waiting. When we were finally about to make our request he was quite rude so we said never mind, thank you & left. We later at dinner in the hotel's brasserie, they have both indoor & outdoor seating (separate review, fantastic dinner!) We also had drinks in the Defender Bar, great décor, quiet, professional staff, top notch all the way.

The hotel's décor is very tasteful & lush while being comfortable at the same time. It also has the best location in Paris, across the street form the Louvre, walking distance to Notre Dame & Saint Chapelle, it really can't be beat.

The next morning we were checking out & asked the front desk staff to call our riverboat (we don't speak French) to confirm the slip location, they were so unfriendly that the bellboy (not the one from the day before) took the phone from them & made the call for us himself. He confirmed it for us, then hailed a cab & gave the cabdriver the exact directions of where we needed to go. We wouldn't have found it without him. He was fantastic & the best employee we encountered during our stay.

So overall, great location, great décor for the room & hotel, great bar but a front desk/concierge staff that needs to be retrained in how to be welcoming.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank need2travel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fanny G, Directeur général at Hotel du Louvre, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedbacks on our property.
That was a pleasure to welcome you in our fabulous district in the center near all the cultural and historic monuments.
We are happy to read that your allocated room was to your liking just in front of the Louvre Museum and that you really enjoyed our cosy Bar and our parisian Brasserie.
I sincerely apologize for the unfriendly relationship you had during your stay with our front/concierge desk and I will make sure this kind of situation will never happen again.
I wish to welcome you back in the future.
With my best regards,
Fanny Guibouret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,028 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    882
    687
    268
    127
    64
See reviews for
419
899
98
251
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Let me start off by saying I am very disappointed in the Hyatt Hotel. My husband and I actually had our wedding with a Hyatt and our honeymoon ( both different locations). I expected more from the quality high end Hotel. Having been to many Hyatts ( Boston, New York, Hawaii) I was expecting the same thing. Instead, we received a hotel with very small rooms, extremely outdated decor with a very high price ($500/night). The tv was small, the furniture looked unsafe for our 9 month old, and the walls are extremely thin.The only good thing about the hotel was the view right beside the Louvre.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NurseColey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fanny G, Directeur général at Hotel du Louvre, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedbacks on our property. I apologize for our hotel not being up to the standards you expected. Parisian standard rooms are often considered too small when compared to American standards. Decoration-wise, please note that all our rooms are very unique and that we can always try and find a room which matches your tastes better. However I am pleased to read that you appreciated our location. I hope we will get the opportunity to welcome you again and give you another perspective on our property.
Kindest regards,
Fanny Guibouret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We went to Paris for the first time in May and stayed at the Hotel du Louvre. The hotel is in a great location which made it convenient to get to places. It is a few steps away from the Louvre and there is also a metro station right next to the hotel. The hotel is nice but the rooms are a little small. The bathroom has a shower/tub. We found that the water temperature was not consistent as it would fluctuate between too cold and too hot often. The hotel staff was very nice and helpful. The hotel does have free wifi so that was a big plus and saved us from using data on our phones. Angelina bakery is a short walk from the hotel and we went there almost daily because it was so good!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fanny G, General Manager at Hotel du Louvre, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for your nice comments. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel du Louvre, a Hyatt Hotel. Be assured that your feedback will be shared with our entire staff. I well noted the water temperature issue as well, and this is being addressed as well. Again thank you for helping us provide a better quality of service.
Warmest regards,
Fanny Guibouret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haugesund, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

We stayed two nights for our honeymoon and loved it! Big rooms on the fifth floor with nice small balconies and great views. Will stay here again. Hotel restaurant had great breakfast and dinner! But remember to check bills on check out, mix up from the restaurant breakfast meal bills.

Room Tip: Fifth floor has great views and big rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fanny G, General Manager at Hotel du Louvre, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Richard J,
Thank you dearly for taking the time to comment on your honeymoon at the Hotel du Louvre, a Hyatt Hotel. We are thrilled that you loved your room, its view and our restaurant, La Brasserie du Louvre.
I apologize for the bill mix up at check out, but am happy that it got solved.
We look foward to welcoming you back soon to clebrate your anniversary, or for any other reason which may bring you to Paris.
With my warmest regards,
Fanny Guibouret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

We went out of the Louvre Museum very tired and we found the restaurant at Hotel du Louvre just on the other side of the road. Nice place, french clasic deco. The service was warm and kind and they paid attention to the details giving us a cosy table by the window. Even that they didn´t speak spanish they made efforts and always with a smile (not easy in Paris!). Food was delicious (steak and onion soup) and so was the house wine.
I reccomend you to ask for a Café Gourmet for desert, a french speciallity.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fanny G, General Manager at Hotel du Louvre, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Lucas G,
Thank you very much for your nice comments on the Brasserie du Louvre. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed our restaurant, its decor, the quality of the food and our personnel.
We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back,
Kindest regards,
Fanny Guibouret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
402 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We had two nights and a meeting room booked for our trip.

The room is spacy which is good. Things are a bit old fashioned but somehow classy which is okay. The tv was super small, but thats the only issue I can say about the room.

Location is very good.

I just wished the service was more perecptive. Being in a five star hotel I wished there was more attention to our board room (nobody ever came in eight hours to ask if we want more water etc....) and the check in took like 15 minutes. Also I missed a bit more the "classy way" of dealing with five star hotel people guests.

But afterall a good place.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tmuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fanny G, Directeur général at Hotel du Louvre, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you dearly for the useful feedback you took the time to share with us.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your room and our location during your stay in our property.
We aplogize for the tv size and the service which sometimes didn't meet your expectations. We are taking actions to always be able to improve ourselves and serve our guests with the most appropriate five star attention.
We hope to see you return into our hotel soon, and would be pleased to welcome you back.
Sincerly,
Fanny Guibouret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antwerp
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

As Parisians are known for being arrogant and rude, the service in this hotel is not much different. The rude lady at the bar in the evening charged us double for her own mistakes (this was later corrected at the reception when checking out), the ladies at the reception are doing you a favor in servicing you although you pay more than enough to stay at this very outdated hotel. The bell boy is non-existent 80% of the time. I have to say, only the young man at the reception during my check out (21/07 morning) was really nice and helpful and is the only reason I haven't filled out a formal complaint to the Hyatt about the poor service.
Those giving this hotel a positive review are obviously not well traveled and have no experience with 5 star hotels, this is certainly not one of them.
One small plus is the excellent location, but that's really about it.
Please don't bother with paying more for a deluxe room as we've gotten a so called upgrade to a dark executive room. Stay away from room 428.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank natalie077982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fanny G, Directeur général at Hotel du Louvre, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback on our property. We are deeply sorry that our hotel didn't offer the level of service you are entitled to expect. Be assured that we are very concerned about your comments and that they have been shared with the departments you mentioned. We are glad to read that Benjamin, from reception, was nice and helpful, and are taking his action into consideration as well.
Regarding the upgraded room, we are sorry that it didn't match your taste. All our rooms are very unique in terms of layout and style and we always try and respect the preferences of our guests by showing them several alternatives whenever possible.
Accept our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. We look forward to another opportunity of welcoming you into our hotel, to demonstrate better the quality of service we aim to provide.
Kindest regards,
Fanny Guibouret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Grand Hotel du Palais Royal
Louvre / Palais-Royal
La Clef Louvre
La Clef Louvre
#34 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Regina Hotel
Regina Hotel
#109 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Paris Madeleine
#279 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,031 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Park Hyatt Paris - Vendome
Louvre / Palais-Royal
The Westin Paris - Vendome
The Westin Paris - Vendome
#404 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Louvre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Louvre

Property: Hotel du Louvre
Address: Place Andre Malraux, 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Palais-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Paris
#240 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#331 Family Hotel in Paris
#418 Business Hotel in Paris
#440 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel du Louvre 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the best of Paris with four facades facing the most famous cultural sights, the Hotel du Louvre is two minutes walk from the Louvre Museum, and ten minutes away from the Opera Garnier. It is set in the heart of the fashion district just steps away from the boutiques on the Rue St Honoré and has direct access to the Champs-Elysées and to the business district of La Défense. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and Agoda so you can book your Hotel du Louvre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Louvre Paris
Du Louvre Hotel
Hotel Du Louvre Paris
Hotel De Louvre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing