We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice budget option in the 12th”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Albe Bastille
Ranked #700 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I’m a big fan of this area of the 12th, though some who are visiting for pleasure may prefer a location closer to the main tourist attractions. This is not the place if you are looking for modern luxury, but if you are price conscious and need a clean, quiet, simple place to stay, this one is a good bet. I would happily stay there again.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
Thank ExpatTraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (462)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 462 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed there for 3 nights and it was better than i expected after reading online about hotels in Paris. Nice clean room, renovated bathroom, helpful staff who spoke enough English. The rooms are small but that is common. We were couple with 2 kids and booked quadruple room that had 2 queen size beds. The location is close to metro and Bastille that has nice restaurants.

Thank Pavlo I
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We booked three rooms all of which had on-suite. The rooms varied in size, but most important they were very clean and well kept. All had air-con, hair driers, TV, free fast internet access etc

All the staff were all friendly and very helpful during our stay

We had breakfast on one day during the stay which consisted of a varied choice of continental foods.

The hotel is in a nice quite area of Paris within easy reach of several metro stations, tourist attractions and access to the local shops and restaurants.

I would have no hesitation booking here again

Room Tip: the rooms varied in size - room 303 was the best out of the three we had
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul_West1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights with our young kids (9,6,3).The hotel is comfortably located near the metro (ledru mollin) plus a walking distance from the lively Bastille area. The staff was always friendly and helpful, the suite (junior suite) was nice & cozy. The furniture was partially quite old, & the bathroom a little small & underequipped, but the room was very clean. As we were travelling with our kids,who are not used to the Parisian breakfast, we decided to have our petite dejuner in the hotel. The price seemed to us a bit high (13 euro per adult) but then we saw the selection & decided it was well worth the money. The kids enjoyed the cereals, hard boiled eggs, yogurts and fresh pastries. I really liked the fact that they served (mostly) fresh fruit salad. Imagine my surprise when my spouse told me the meal was free for the kids...In summary, we had a very pleasant stay & would gladly return...

1  Thank taltali
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 13 February 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a superior room with enough space to move around. The room was tidy and nicely decorated. If you want to skip breakfast (?12) at the hotel: there's a good bakery on the other corner of the street.
The staff was friendly; we speak French - I suppose it helps to get things done.
Metro (line 8) is only 100 meters away.

Thank LukAntwerp
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 23 January 2013

I guess it's Paris - hotels are very expensive and the smallest room can cost you a fortune per night.
In this hotel, the service was good, nothing to say. It's rather the rooms that were not what we have expected. The official website of the hotel shows pictures of superior rooms and they look spacious. Big ups to the the photographer, because in reality the space of floor around the bed is only enough for one person to stand, let along find a place for your luggage.
I was quite disappointed by this as it was supposed to be a present to my boyfriend. Instead it seemed like an average room in an average hotel, only as if I paid a double price for it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Atomicfork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

The hotel staff is very helpful and friendly. As other reviewers commented, the staff speaks limited english but are willing to work with you if you are not an experienced French speaker. The location is tucked in a lovely, quiet neighborhood near Bastille.

It's a quick walk away from the Gare de Lyons if you need to rent a car or take the train. There is a small, lovely boulanger on the same corner as the hotel. They speak no English so go in equipped with knowing your numbers and how to say "how much" in French while pointing. However, it's not very convenient to the "touristy" parts of Paris...expect to walk quite a bit or to take the Metro everywhere.

Some other reviewers complain about the cost of the breakfast. Indeed 12 euros seems like a lot, but when we calculated how much we would spend on 3 pieces of bread (croissants, baguettes) each, 2 cups of cafe, a glass (or two) of orange juice, and two eggs at any other restaurant in paris, we realized it was a decent deal. However, I would have been happy if the hotel would roll cost of the breakfast into the room tariffs and treat it as a "complimentary".

Prior to our trip, we had read about the small rooms. It's european hotel so I expect little space in a hotel. After all, you are not there to sleep all day, you are there to see the sights of beautiful Paris. We chose to upgrade our room from standard to superior. For only 10 more euros, it was well worth the extra space for when we decided to call it an early night. The one downside was the firm bed. In all of my trips abroad, I don't believe I ever felt a firmer bed than the one at this hotel.

Another word of caution I would make for families who are looking to stay here. After 9, there are some rather adult programs that appear on a few channels that would make the average conservative American blush. Just be cautious as you flip through the channels with children in the room.

Other quirks about the room included the vigorous water pressure - a delightful treat for a European hotel, but caused water to go everywhere in the bathroom when one takes a shower. The room& safe keys are rather cumbersome and dated, but the hotel staff is happy to hold those for you while you sight see during the day. The elevator was tiny and only hold about 500 lbs. If you choose to take the stairs, you'll find a spiral outside stone staircase.

Overall, the rooms were clean, roomy, and the hotel staff was very friendly. The price was very reasonable considering its location to the Metro.

Room Tip: If you are use to spacious American hotels, then upgrade to a Superior room. It's 10 more Euros...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kristina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Lyon Bastille
Hotel Lyon Bastille
#899 of 1,804 in Paris
233 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Pavillon Bastille
Hotel Pavillon Bastille
#392 of 1,804 in Paris
412 reviews
Hotel Residence Quintinie
#391 of 1,804 in Paris
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bercy / Nation
Ibis Paris Bastille Faubourg Saint Antoine 11eme
Bercy / Nation
Color Design Hotel
Color Design Hotel
#727 of 1,804 in Paris
798 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel L'Antoine
Hotel L'Antoine
#120 of 1,804 in Paris
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Albe Bastille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albe Bastille

Address: 66 rue de Charenton | 12 Arr., 75012 Paris, France (Formerly Pavillon Saint Louis Bastille)
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bercy / Nation , Reuilly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#103 Family Hotel in Paris
#141 Business Hotel in Paris
#307 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £70 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Albe Bastille 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Freshly renovated and refurbished, the Pavillon Saint-Louis Bastille (formerly Hôtel Belle Epoque) is ideally located between the Place de la Bastille and the Gare de Lyon train station and within walking distance of the famous Place des Vosges and Marais district.Developed around a small courtyard, the Pavillon Saint-Louis Bastille hosts 31 bedrooms that will provide charm and refinement to the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Albe Bastille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pavillon Saint Louis Bastille / Belle Epoque Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing