We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pleasant experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Au Piano Muet - CLOSED

Au Piano Muet
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Neighbourhood: Quartier Latin
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A pleasant experience”
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

We came across this small restaurant and we had so many other menus to choose from in Rue Mouffetard side street, but we decided to go for The Au Piano Muet, because of the pleasant atmosphere, greetings from the waitress and how quick we were seated. We choice to go for the set €13.50 menu which didn't include the alcohol or wine. But this didn't matter, as we had a starter, a main and a dessert. I chose the Salmon for starter, Duck for main and Creme Brulee for dessert. My husband had Sardines, Lamb chops and Panacotta. Also we had a sweet white wine for €15.50 which was 12% pure. Wow, what a kick. All in all, lovely people, fab area and worth the 10 min walk. Defiantly worth checking out, if you plan to stay near the latin Quarter. We will be coming back here in the future.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Firebir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    33
    4
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good lunch”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

The rue Mouffetard is always busy with visitors and sightseers, so there are plenty of places to eat up and down the street and off in the side streets, too. Faced with so much choice we opted for Au Piano Muet because the shady interior beckoned us on a hot summer's day at the end of July. We were well pleased with ourselves for our choice. Service was very good, prompt and helpful. The food was well cooked and generously served. Both the menu and the wine list were fairly short, but offered enough choices to suit various budgets. I opted for the 24 euro menu (2 course) and my companion ate a la carte. I had a substantial salad paysanne to start, followed by an entrecôte cooked exactly as I ordered it, accompanied by bearnaise sauce and skinny chips. I could have had a three course menu for 29 euros, but I was full. My companion had grilled sardines to start followed by duck with sauté potatoes. There was sufficient choice on the wine list to allow us to have a half bottle of Apremont with our starters and a half bottle of haut cotes de Beaune with our main course. This definitely felt like a restaurant we would want to go back to.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YoungMrsH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Most pleasant spot”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Very nice food and pleasant staff..We went twice. They have 2 Table d'hote prices..the 13 Euro menu was smaller portions..perfect for a light eater. Food nicely cooked and presented.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Authentic, warm and friendly French atmosphere.”
Reviewed 19 May 2013 via mobile

Typical French cuisine. Flexibly seats 10 pax in their small and cosy restaurant. The young, sweet maître makes the very best out of the packed restaurant. Positively reported by Guide Michelin.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisHus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
quebec
Level Contributor
132 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very friendly service,great food,great atmosphere”
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Had a late dinner at this fine restaurant which on that evening was operated by an uncle and a niece who were very pleasant entertainment
The food selection and suggestions were very good and the price is right.
A place to return to.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marcelfro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Au Piano Muet also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing