We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A piece of history”
Review of Cafe de Flore

Cafe de Flore
Book In Advance
More Info
US$59.32*
and up
Conversational French Language Class in Paris
More Info
US$213.56*
and up
Paris Walking Tour: Jazz Evening with Dinner and Concert
More Info
US$117.46*
and up
Paris City Sightseeing Tour and Skip-the-Line Eiffel Tower Ticket
Ranked #12 of 441 Nightlife in Paris
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This historic café captures the ambience of Paris of old all the way down to its cramped quarters.
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“A piece of history”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Cafe de Flore is an institution. It had a grand history and is situated in touristy St Germain des Pres. You would be silly to expect great food, cheap prices and waiters who will bend over backwards to provide good service. If these are issues that are going to ruin your perfect Parisian holiday then stay away. The place will be packed anyway.

Sure, the food is just okay and not particularly cheap (hardly expensive either by Parisian standards) and the service variable according to numerous accounts (never had a problem myself despite frequenting it on many occasions). If you can grasp that you're paying for the ambience, a great location to watch the theatre of the street unrushed (even if you only purchase one drink) and the experience of hanging out at an institution, then is place is for you.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank kahkityoong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    294
    168
    69
    98
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Forget this place, very expensive, poor service, poor quality”
Reviewed 20 April 2012

A very bad impression of Paris left to tourists and parisians. Cow-milking at its best. Shameful

Helpful?
4 Thank Ecotemis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good but Pricey”
Reviewed 20 April 2012

My daughter And I were on a holiday in Paris for her 18th birthday. She insisted on dining at Cafe de Flore because Hemingway used to hang out there while writing his novels. We sampled
their croque monsieur sandwich, profiteroles and coffee. It was great! Good sandwich portion, sinfully delicious dessert!

It is expensive but, that is already a given when you are on a holiday.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank peepeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice but Expensive”
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Don't go here if you want a cheap meal. Although nice (very good omelette), the food is very expensive for what it is. You pay for the history and the experience, which I have to say that I quite enjoyed. It certainly isn't all tourists as there were plenty of locals in when we visited.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank RJAB77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
452 reviews
224 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3,419 helpful votes
“Expensive, bad coffee, good atmosphere, average food”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We were around St Germain and didnt know what to get for dinner so we walked towards a handsome french policeman and asked for his opinion.

He told us that there is a big white cafe around the corner next to St Germain metro station. He made a 'hueww' sound meaning that the cafe is really posh like an elegant lady. So we headed to the cafe. Indeed it was posh, crowded and filled with elegant people especially down at the ground level. We took a seat upstair.

We didnt know this is a historical cafe that has been around for ages. We only knew that we were very hungry and needed something to eat straight away. We ordered a quiche lorraine, french onion soup and a foie gras salad. Total damage was 55 euros. Just to be fair, the foie gras was succulent and fatty. It was really good when it was spread on the baguette. The coffee was really bad according to my partner. BUT the french onion soup was VERY good.

The waiters seemed to be very busy even though we don't think its busy at all. If we ever go again, we will dress more like an elegantly rather like a tourist.

I would recommend my friends to go just because its a historical cafe but i wouldn't particularly make a trip to this cafe. Its worth entering the cafe and had a meal there to enjoy the typical parisian atmosphere.

Cons: Food is really expensive here..so be prepared! Look at the photos i attached..with our receipt on it

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelQueenie365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe de Flore also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Cafe de Flore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing