We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cell of Marie Antoinette, blade of the guillotine”
Review of Conciergerie

Conciergerie
Book In Advance
More Info
US$10.17*
and up
Skip the Line: Paris Conciergerie Entry Ticket
More Info
US$17.95*
and up
Paris Super Saver: Skip the Line Sainte Chapelle and Conciergerie Combined...
More Info
US$81.38*
and up
Complete Île de la Cité Tour: Notre Dame and Sainte Chapelle and La Conciergerie
Ranked #128 of 1,169 things to do in Paris
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The present monument forms only a part of the former palace of the Capetian dynasty. Charles V ceased using the palace in the 14th century and decided to house his law courts here. The Concierge, or keeper, was appointed by the king and was responsible for policing within the palace walls. At the end of the 18th century, many prisoners detained by the Revolutionary Tribunal were held in the Conciergerie, including Marie-Antoinette. Designated world heritage site by UNESCO.Open:> 2nd January to 31st December: from 9.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Last admission 30 minutes before closing time. Closed:> 1st January, 1st May and 25th DecemberAdmission fees: Adults : 8,5€; Concessions (18 to 25) = 5,50 €; Free admission: minors under 18*; Free admission: 18-25 years old* (citizens of one of the 27 countries of the EU or are non-European permanent residents of France) * excluding school groups
virginia
Level 6 Contributor
479 reviews
216 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Cell of Marie Antoinette, blade of the guillotine”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Lots to see here. It is where Marie Antoinette was held before her trial and beheading. Lots of famous items including a guillotine blade, cells, prayer room before execution, judicial area. Along the Seine, not far from Notre Dame.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank yahootraveler64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,535 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    402
    644
    360
    90
    39
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
1,186 reviews
114 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
“good tour of such tragedy”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We had missed this place on our first trip to Paris. Glad we finally went--lots of history in a small exhibit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank librarian73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“IT WAS OK ISH”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

we came back yesterday, us and 2 teenagers of 16 who went for free. we found it hard to find the place initially, and wondered into the proper paris courthouse lol much to the suprise of the lawyers there. however, when we did find the right entrance we went in. it was reasonable considering the 2 16 year olds got in free, but they were very quickly bored so was happy that we hadnt paid admittance for them. it was an ok place to spend 45 minutes but i didnt like the fact it was staged sets rather than the real deal. i certainly wouldnt go out of my way to get here,and there wasnt a great deal to read to add to admosphere.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Julia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Poignant history of the reign of terror of the French Revolution”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The present Conciergerie is a magnificent building but only the first part of this building actually existed in the Period of the French Revolution. Paintings inside the Conciergerie show how the building looked in those years.

To really appreciate this building one needs to actually feel the horror that would have existed in the building during the revolution and to grasp what it would have been like to guillotine 70 prisoners a day. If you can do that then the visit is brilliant and poignant and the list of those guillotined, and their occupations, after being held in the prison really interesting.

Well worth a visit but more for the link to the French Revolution than for the actually building.

Also, worth doing while in Paris is the 'Musee De Cluny' which costs of part ancient grand Parisian Mansion and part an amazing 1st Century Roman Bathhouse.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Peter, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Art and Despair”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

This was a great little stop in the historic city. Fascinating exhibits related to the various guests of the guillotine. This is a pretty quick visit as the exhibit is not large. While I was there they were hosting some interesting youth arts programs, which made for a fascinating juxtaposition of hope and despair. In any event, if you've got a Museum Pass or if you do the Saint Chapelle make sure you pop in for a walk through this historic space.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank MIchaelfromMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Conciergerie also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Conciergerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing