We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View of Paris”

Basilica du Sacre-Coeur de Montmartre
Book In Advance
More Info
US$14.36*
and up
Guided Tour of Sacré-Coeur and Montmartre
More Info
US$101.69*
and up
Small-Group Montmartre Walking Tour: Fine Wines and Famous Artists
More Info
US$96.90*
and up
Montmartre Private Family Tour
Ranked #10 of 1,169 things to do in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This Montmartre landmark, a 19th-century basilica built by the French government following the Franco-Prussian War, features a large medieval dome that provides excellent views of the city.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great View of Paris”
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Looks like a postcard....good place for photos

watch out for pick pockets.....live music....sit and enjoy

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27,483 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17,590
    7,520
    1,657
    417
    299
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful Church with a Great View!”
Reviewed 28 August 2012 via mobile

Definitely worth a visit if only for the views! We did go inside the church and found it to be quite beautiful. They do not allow photography inside so we just looked through their selection of postcards and selected a couple. Cheap enough solution! We did encounter numerous women begging at and around the doors, and also many, many street vendors. None harassed us, however, and we completely enjoyed our visit.

Helpful?
3 Thank Cindy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Worth it for the view, don't bother with the crypt”
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We took the furnicular up, which takes metro tickets, although its not that far up, by the time we had then walked up the steps to the top of the dome I was pleased to have saved my legs. Inside the church is like most churches, although some of the stained glass window is quite modern if you are interested in that kind of thing. We paid to go to both the dome and the crypts. The dome clearly is worth it for the views, the crypt is not.There isn't any disabled access as far as i could see to go up to the dome, and even I was panting a bit by the time I got to the top, the stairs are quite thin and a bit dark in places. We went at 3.30pm, there were fewer people, no queues, and didn't have any pickpocketing action. The shops around are full of tacky souvenirs, better to wander back down the hill to the Butt where there are plenty of cafes and pretty buildings to look at. There is a Dali museum up here too which I hadn't realised before coming, but we didn't go to it ( I overheard someone saying it wasn't very good, but it was only hearsay!) I would have liked more time to wander around Montmarte as it looked very pretty.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Spanzarella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Go when they have a service”
Reviewed 28 August 2012

The outside views outside were amazing across Paris. Lots of street vendors with Eiffel tower souvenirs and a miniature train to take people up and down the hill. We arrived when they were in the middle of a service which was very spiritual and although you could not take photos, the sight of tourists walking up and down the aisles were a bit distracting. Recommend you sit in a pew and enjoy the service.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MaMoky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A little disappointed.”
Reviewed 28 August 2012 via mobile

We thought this place would be a highlight more than a disappointment but I was wrong. If you walk up from the main street than you pass bigger after bigger, con artists and the many dodgy dealers trying to put rubbish around your hands. The building looks beautiful from the outside but is nothing fantastic on the inside. We could only use a card machine to purchase tickets to get in which was faulty and the guard at the door did not care. Maybe it was just because of the heat but we didn't let it ruin our day and left to look at other attractions around Paris.

Helpful?
2 Thank M G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Basilica du Sacre-Coeur de Montmartre also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Basilica du Sacre-Coeur de Montmartre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing