We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 - 18:00
2, 4, or 6 Days Paris Golden Pass
11

Book in advance
from
£81.12
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Musee de la Musique
from £81.12
More Info
Reviews (315)
Filter reviews
315 results
Traveller rating
207
85
18
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
207
85
18
3
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 315 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2019 via mobile

Off the beaten tourist path and not crowded at all, this is a hidden gem. The free audio guide is well done and essential to the experience. It’s an amazing collection of instruments through the centuries - including some of the earliest electronic instruments. If you’re not a musician you’ll enjoy it. If you are, don’t miss it!

Date of experience: August 2019
2  Thank NYCmusician
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 April 2019 via mobile

I found the temporary exhibition of photography by Robert Doisneau a delight. The works themselves are often stunning (an audition by three identikit singing sisters for example) but the explanations and links are well done, and above all Doisneau comes across as witty, perceptive and fun.

You can look down through the viewfinder of his Rolleiflex, and see a picture of him, which is a bit structuralist/surreal. And his comment about using the Rolleiflex is priceless. Something like : ‘it always made you look down, as if your head was hanging in reverence. It wasn’t, but that always came in useful.”

Date of experience: April 2019
1  Thank SebastianS3380
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 April 2019

I didn't think I'd find this museum very interesting but using the free audio guide, it was fascinating. You can learn about this history of various type of instruments, or listen to how each one sounds. Really, so much more interesting than I'd expected. They have special audio guides for kids. It was also nice to get away from the crowds at the big sights. Maybe not a must for a first trip to Paris, but worth the metro ride.

Date of experience: March 2019
3  Thank Christy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 December 2018

Located in the La Villete park, next to the Peripherique. Easy access with the metro, stop Porte de Pantin. Close to the Music School. It is not crowded and affords an excellent display of musical instruments, and not only to be seen, but they can be heard, since their sound is reproduced faithfully (that is if you have the audio guide). Also, there are recitals and other educational activities for adults and children. The new building of the Paris Symphony Orchestra is close by, an ugly modern monstrosity with all black interior, saved by good acoustics..

Date of experience: April 2018
4  Thank Hugo929
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 October 2018

Make sure you get the audio guide as it's important in the understanding of the sound of the instruments that you will learn about. This is also a good place for special expos on music.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Thomas V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews