We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Place du Tertre - A place to visit if you are in Montmartre” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Place du Tertre

Place du Tertre
Book In Advance
More Info
US$119.65*
and up
Paris Montmartre District and Sacre Coeur Private Walking Tour
Ranked #115 of 1,088 things to do in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This public square in Montmartre, once frequented by many of Paris's greatest artists, today remains a haven for amateur artists.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Place du Tertre - A place to visit if you are in Montmartre”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

A short tourist's trip to Montmartre will usually involves exiting the metro station - Anvers, the walk uphill, taking in the panoramic view of Paris city from the top, visit The Basilica of the Sacre Coeur, walk downhill, walk around Place du Tertre (a square with artists lined around) go down hill further and leave via the metro station - Abbesses.

This routine path is often filled with tourist - tons of them, but it is still nice walk on clobber stone streets lined with rustic houses.

As for art, I was really looking forward to the sight of artist doing their art along side clobber stone streets and had previously thought of buying some art pieces. However, the abundance of tourists at the place hardly put me in the mood or in the mind to select an art piece that I would feel satisfied as years goes by. The artists were obviously talented at their work and yes I do get that experience if I could imagine that all the other tourists were not there - not forgetting I am also a tourist.

The layout - artists line the square surrounded all round by cafes filled with people that were obviously not local French.

As with all touristy places, the food around Place du Tertre can be quite costly, but after a long walk up the hill, the temptation from the aroma of beard, coffee and crepes can simply be too much. Anyways, as a tourist, its alright to pay a little and indulged in the atmosphere. On the other hand, for one that can withstand all these temptations, a hearty meal downhill at Abbesses might cost as much as a light meal uphill at Place du Tertre.

Simply put, Place du Tertre is a place to visit if you are in Montmartre.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank leeyslee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    308
    280
    132
    43
    29
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Thessaloniki Region, Greece
Level Contributor
589 reviews
439 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 609 helpful votes
“Too turistic!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

I really dislike this place. I don't have any problem with tourists, in Paris I am a tourist too, but I can't stand specific places, which every touristic city has, where everything is too much touristic. Place du Tertre is the only place in Paris that I have this feeling. If you want to treat yourself however with a nice (maybe a little bit "tourist") portrait, then this is the place to go.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ilGrec0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
401 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Fun & interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

If you are going to Montmartre, take some time to visit Place du Tertre and enjoy the bustle and of artistry! Here you can have a drink or an ice-cream in the piazza, and then walk amongst the artists who will all vie for your attention! There are some incredible talents and you can have a life portrait or a sketch done here - a great memory of Paris.
It is better to walk to the top if you can because the tramcar costs a metro ticket and it's not all that far to walk.
We had a lovely lunch at one of the restaurants here called La Mere Catherine - we were with locals and this was their recommendation. Some of the restaurants cater more to the tourists but this was more local.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank kgreenwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A must visit place if you must have a Sketch / Caricature done in Paris!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

After a good climb up to the Sacré Cœur, walk towards the left for about 10 minutes and you come across a heavily crowded square which is bound to amaze and intrigue you the life like sketches, paintings and caricatures.
I'd got mine done in Rome and found this place pretty steep (50 Euros for a sketch and about 40 Euros for a Caricature) But the detailing in either was pretty impressive.
Just another tip, you could have the artists to do a sketch/caricature for a friend or a dear one of your's, if you've got a clear picture. It could be a nice present.
You've got cafes and bars all around the square. So if you've got time (which you should, if you're visiting Paris), take a seat outside one such cafe and gaze at the world go by, people getting their sketches made, laughing their pants off to their own caricatures, etc.
Its a fun place to visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Itravel4work_luckyME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
495 reviews
124 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Artists and cafes, a slice of Paris you must experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We wandered the old narrow streets and then stopped for a beer at one of the street side cafes. Our companions had a portrait drawn and were thrilled with the result.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank stephen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Place du Tertre also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Place du Tertre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing