We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fabulous stay in Paris” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Citizen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Le Citizen Hotel
Ranked #203 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Queensland
Level Contributor
285 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“A fabulous stay in Paris”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

My husband and I stayed 3 nights at this lovely hotel - tucked away from the bustle of the centre of Paris but within easy metro reach of the city. We spent 3 full days seeing all of the Paris sites but each afternoon we were very pleased to return to the Hotel. Nestled in a leafy superb right beside the Canal St Martin - this was exactly what we had hoped our Paris stay would be. The staff always made us very welcome and ensured that our stay as a pleasant and "hassle free" one. We dined each night at the Hotel du Nord - 50 metres from the Hotel. Here again we were welcomed like locals. All of the staff looked after us - speaking English and helping us to learn some French along the way. All in all our Paris stay was just "the best". If you want the true experience we recommend you stay at the Hotel Le Citizen.

Room Tip: Book in advance if possible and check out which of the rooms suits your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cruizin42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    606
    132
    22
    5
    6
See reviews for
127
416
57
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North East England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

This is a fabulous hotel beautifully positioned on the canalside. We were breaking our journey in Paris for one night so chose this hotel for its location close to Gare de L'Est. Our City Room was 'small but perfectly formed' and had absolutely everything that you could possibly want thoughtfully and stylishly stored in the room. The furniture and materials were very modern, crisp and clean. We were given an I-Pad set up ready for us to use - this was such a helpful addition to our stay. The hotel's owner and his staff were really helpful and genuinely friendly - our breakfast waiter deserves a special mention, what an asset to the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a canal view - whilst the street below is very busy we were not troubled by nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank couple75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hagerstown, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

Stayed for a week at Le Citizen. Fairly close to major metro station right on the canal. Very clean and staff friendly and very helpful. Rooms small but we weren't there much. iPad was a nice touch. Despite being on the canal which was busy late into the night, the room was very quiet. Would recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dokkendave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sophieberdah, Propriétaire at Le Citizen Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2011
Thank you for your comment.

As far as location, the hotel is very close to metro stop Jacques Bonsergent on line 5 and less than a 10 minute walk from the metro station Republique which has 5 different metro lines running through it, allowing you to easily get anywhere in Paris.

Regarding room size, we have created small and larger rooms to satisfy the various needs of our guests. The city rooms rooms are geared towards those of our guests that plan to be out most of the day either for work or for short stays. Our junior suites and Zen suites are much bigger for those who place value on space. Maybe you will try one ofthese rooms during your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

This hotel was just what we needed. After a short walk from the Gare De L'Est we were warmly welcomed by Pierre on reception. He was happy, friendly and very helpful. He gave us an ipad2 to use during our stay which had lots of apps to help find things around the hotel. He also made loads of recomendations for restaurants and bars nearby. We ate at one of these, the Hotel Du Nord, and really enjoyed it. Our room was small but clean and comfortable with a stylish modern design and a view over the canal. The Canal St Martin area is slightly seedy but it also has a real buzz. The canal sides were lined with (mainly) young people and there was a nice lively atmosphere. The breakfast room was small but bright and airy and the breakfast was good too. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WindyGhyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Le Citizen. The rooms are well-appointed, the beds comfortable, the hotel very clean, and the staff exceptional. I hesitated to write this review, only because I fear that once Le Citizen becomes well-known, it will be hard to get a reservation! However, I could not fail to give Le Citizen its due. A hotel that's modern and charming. An unusual combination!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BostonTraveler30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

We chose this area of Paris to get away from the high concentration of tourists in the more popular spots, and we are sooooo glad we did. From the window of our Zen suite, we were able to watch the canal boats go by, the locals rushing home with baguettes in hand, and the young party goers hanging out - very entertaining. I agree with all the positive points in previous reviews so no need to repeat here.

Do not miss walking along the canal and sampling the local restaurants.
We only stay in boutique hotels and this one, by far, is our favourite - it's all in the details and we appreciate every one of them here.

It is not quiet on weekends due to street noise so I recommend ear plugs. The bed is so comfortable anyway no-one should have trouble sleeping. We did encounter the local street people who camp out in front sometimes, and the "dirt" that some reviewers have mentioned - but this is Paris, you can't avoid drunks, litter, doggy doo, or graffiti.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank puilam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sophieberdah, Propriétaire at Le Citizen Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2011
Thank you very much for you honest comment. We are glad that you were able to discover our up and coming neighborhood with all of the great bars and restaurants around. Next time you come, be sure to get in touch with our concierge team to discover our favorite places in the neighborhood and in Paris, we can even help make reservations! As you mention, the hotel is right on the canal and so maybe sometimes a bit noisy, especially during the summer, but please know that we have ear plugs available for our guests upon request. While this is a gentrifying neighborhood, Paris is a very big city and as in all big cities, as you mentioned, there are unfortunately homeless people, however we have never been bothered or had any problems with them. Thanks again for your comment and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, UK
Level Contributor
83 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

We were travelling to Berlin via London and stayed here one night as a base close to both stations, and near to Le Marais area. Service and welcome excellent as was loan of iPad, fittings and decor good quality, bathroom high standard but compact. Room a little on the small side. Great area, locals congregate along the canal in Summer, lots of bars and restaurants which are more authentic than on the tourist trail nearer to the centre. Interesting shops and markets close by, and easy walk to the galleries and museums in Le Marais quarter.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CEH60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sophieberdah, Propriétaire at Le Citizen Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2011
Thank you for your nice review. You were likely in a City room that we have created for those of our guests who intend to spend most of their day outside of the hotel, but I hope you will experience next time our Zen suite or junior suite, which are much more spacious. Thank you and see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel 34B - Astotel
Hotel 34B - Astotel
#27 of 1,795 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
Canal Saint-Martin
Le Robinet d'Or
Le Robinet d'Or
#42 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Residence Henri 4
Hotel Residence Henri 4
#65 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Residence Foch
#55 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,165 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel du Levant
Hotel du Levant
#190 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Joke - Astotel
Hotel Joke - Astotel
#9 of 1,795 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Citizen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Citizen Hotel

Property: Le Citizen Hotel
Address: 96 quai de Jemmapes, 75010 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Canal Saint-Martin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #203 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Citizen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Boutique Hotel with twelve rooms run by a team whose ultimate goal is that guests enjoy every moment of their visit. The building has been completely renovated from top to bottom, with aesthetic natural wood accents throughout. The quality of the accommodations includes top of the line beds, flat screen television with a vast choice of international channels, air conditioning, sound buffering and complimentary in-room services of WiFi, filtered water... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Le Citizen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing