We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Individualist Boutique Hotel”
Review of Le Citizen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Citizen Hotel
Ranked #193 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Individualist Boutique Hotel”
Reviewed 24 December 2013

We had a lovely couple of nights at Le Citizen. The room was lovely and the staff young, funky and kind. There is a little noise on the street, but the location is cool and there are restaurants aplenty all around. If you like a small, homely hotel where you are treated as an individual in a unique room, this is the place for you!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ocmturnbull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    617
    135
    22
    5
    6
See reviews for
130
424
58
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Paris is the happening and expensive city to visit. So, it is true to say that whatever you buy or wherever to stay while cost you a few more bucks than expected. Le citizen hotel is centrally located in the canal district. Most of the shopping centers and major attractions are close to this hotel. Moreover, it is a few minutes’ walk away from Jacques Bonsergent metro station.
This hotel is small but quiet economic and beautiful. Rooms of this hotel are trendy and spotless. They are more caution about hygiene and needs of customer. This hotel is surrounded by several famous bars, lounges and restaurants offering evening entertainment as well. Daily our morning start with their delicious continental breakfast. More or less, this is the faultless hotel to stay and enjoy vacation.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gregory h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
68 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

A lovely spot in our favourite area of Paris, away from the madding crowds. Tiny, but with tons or charm and staff who are keen to please. Comfortable room with real character and lovely views of Canal St Martin. Great included breakfast. Not cheap but nothing in Paris is, worth spending a few pounds more for a suite with more space and a view

Room Tip: Worth getting a suite for space and view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NushNushandBooBoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

This hotel is located right next to the canal so the rooms have a lovely outlook. The hotel is a 10-15 minute walk from Gare du Nord (even closer to Gare de l’Est) and there are numerous restaurants within 5 minutes walk. The proximity to the canal creates a significant level of noise on warm, summer nights.

The hotel is away from the big sights but is within easy reach of the metro. The closest metro is an easy 5-minute walk, the Republique metro stop (intersects with other metro lines) is a 7 minute walk. There is a laundry nearby (Rue de Lancry) which is clean, reasonably priced with English instructions on the wall. There are also a couple of supermarkets within a 5-minute walk.

We stayed in a zen suite (seemed like each floor has 2 rooms, one zen suite and one regular room). The zen suite had a lovely sitting area with afternoon sun, the bed area was very compact with one side of the bed right against the wall. But the room was very light, comfortable and clean.

The room had good air conditioning, a good size in-room safe, free phone calls to most countries, treats that appeared each afternoon, a fridge with free goodies replenished daily (coke, diet coke, juice, iced tea, beer, crisps, nut bar), the complimentary use of an i-pad and a complimentary drink in the evening from 6pm-7pm.

The staff were very pleasant and helpful. We arrived at lunchtime and were very grateful to find that our room was ready well before check-in time.

Breakfast was good and included eggs cooked to your liking. Sometimes there was a delay waiting for eggs to be cooked so it would have been good to have a pre-cooked supply of hard-boiled eggs available for guests under time pressure.

We enjoyed our stay at Le Citizen. The night time canal noise will be a problem for some but it will not stop us from planning a return visit.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Hataitans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a night in early December, having previously stayed at Mama Shelter in the 20th Arondissement on our last couple of visits, we fancied a change of area and the Canal St Martin region suited us down to the ground, being possessed of many a curiosity shop, pop up concept store, and a plethora of vintage/second hand clothing outlets, it's a veritable hive for enthusiastic shoppers looking for something a bit different.

So what of the hotel itself? Well we were a bit keen, arriving a couple of hours in advance of the stated check in time, ringing on the bell, fully expecting to be shoo'd off to amuse ourselves for the duration, instead we were greeted by a smiling face, an offer of coffee and the news that our room was available. This was a good start.

The room we stayed in was no 11, on the first floor, with 2 large canal facing windows, which you'd probably best keep draped with the net curtains unless you like to put on a show, as you're quite exposed to view from this floor. The room was spacious, offering up a couple of tasty chocolate brownies concealed beneath a glass cloche, a lovely deep bath for a good lazy lounge while sipping on a cold beer from the inclusive minibar, and a selection of books from frothy chick-lit to Paris guides to keep occupants happy in the event of the inevitable Parisian deluge.

We were also provided with an iPad with which to plan our itinerary, and stay connected which was a nice touch. One tip worth noting is that on Saturdays many of the 'destination' restaurants are closed, that said we were able to secure a table at the lovely Cafe Philou round the corner, on the recommendation of our receptionist who also organised this for us.

Breakfast can optionally be taken in your room, or else down in their compact breakfast room which faces out onto the canal and charming street outside. The breakfast was a buffet deal but the food was of a good standard, with hot, fluffy scrambled eggs served up on demand.

Finally I should mention Eric, who, on our return to the hotel having spent the day out and about, was quickly on hand with coffee and conversation on all things Paris thus ensuring that no time soon will we tire of the City or the Citizen.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
95 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Let's start with saying that Paris is not the cheapest city in the world.
So whatever you are looking for will cost more than in most places.
This hotel is located in the heart of the canal district, an up and coming, trendy, quite young area.
Really nice away from the tourist crowds.
The area has a few bars and restaurants with a true feel of Parisian lifestyle.
Plenty of "intellos" with their heads buried in books in front of a glass of wine. I always wonder whether they are just tourist wanting to feel like true parisians living the bohemian life. But there you have it.

Anyway, the hotel is between two cute bridges and right on the canal, all rooms have canal view.
Our room was very small, a little smaller than expected, even having seen the pictures. But beautifully decorated with contemporary design making the most of the space. Lots of lovely little touches.
Bathroom has no window but towels are replaced every day and are plenty fluffy.

Breakfast is served by the kindest people and it is certainly different in a lovely, imaginative way.
Every evening there is nice touch aperitif for the guests.

Service is 5*. The lady who checked us in gave us loads of recommendations as to where to go for drinks in the area and was really helpful. Everybody was superkind and looked happy to help.

This is a hotel with an emphasis on design and general quirks.
Only downside: room size and distance from closest tube. Having said that, if you are going to get to know Paris, you can walk most places from this hotel.
All in all, a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bazandselima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

The final stop on a wonderful birthday treat in France - and it wasn't a disappointment. A great hotel in a fab spot on the canal. A really up and coming part of Paris that I had never explored before and it was great. Very friendly and helpful staff. We got an iPad to surf the net and even had an upgrade as it was my birthday :) Really smart room and bathroom with view over the canal and the city. Free glass of wine at 6pm and a chance to meet some of the other guests and they even got breakfast early for us as we had to leave for a train at the crack of dawn. Couldn't fault it in any way. Will be back!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg2970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Canal Saint-Martin
Le Robinet d'Or
Le Robinet d'Or
#50 of 1,802 in Paris
760 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel 34B - Astotel
Hotel 34B - Astotel
#31 of 1,802 in Paris
1,258 reviews
Hotel Residence Foch
#70 of 1,802 in Paris
2,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel Residence Henri 4
Hotel Residence Henri 4
#62 of 1,802 in Paris
1,003 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel du Ministere
Hotel du Ministere
#245 of 1,802 in Paris
434 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
9HOTEL REPUBLIQUE
9HOTEL REPUBLIQUE
#246 of 1,802 in Paris
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Citizen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Citizen Hotel

Property: Le Citizen Hotel
Address: 96 quai de Jemmapes, 75010 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Canal Saint-Martin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #193 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Citizen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Boutique Hotel with twelve rooms run by a team whose ultimate goal is that guests enjoy every moment of their visit. The building has been completely renovated from top to bottom, with aesthetic natural wood accents throughout. The quality of the accommodations includes top of the line beds, flat screen television with a vast choice of international channels, air conditioning, sound buffering and complimentary in-room services of WiFi, filtered water... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Citizen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing