We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous location in Paris”
Review of Le Citizen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Citizen Hotel
Ranked #271 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in this hotel. We had a whole floor (Le Citizen apartment) for our family of 5. The view from the windows looking out to Canal St Martin was special and the area has a pulse. It is in a fantastic location, easy and not far from the nearest Metro station. The staff were really helpful and friendly. This is a great little boutique hotel and would definitely love to stay here again on our return to Paris.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (792)
There are newer reviews for Le Citizen Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

152 - 158 of 792 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2014

To tell it briefly, location is the best and worst asset of this hotel:

+ St Martin canal looks nice, green, movie setä
+ clean rooms
+ free minibar
+ great shower
+ breakfast included

- I couln't sleep due to car voices in street, no voice insulation. They have air plugs in rooms, if you are confortable to use them
- it's 10 minutes walk from nearest metro, if you know the route
- takes app. 45 min to get to sights
- They recommeded Clochett, sorry it's terrible! their email recommeded Chez Marie Louise, that is much better though? Other workers know better places?

* lots of people party at nights in Canal area
* Neighborhood trendiness means lower middle class people relaxing, not chic :)
* rue the launcry has a little shop to get your waterbottles etc.

I recommeded this for people coming back to Paris, and wanting find something new. Or if you don't with to see major sights, alas real parisen lifestyle.

Make reservations early, to get better room.

Room Tip: Don't take the last room, unless you can sleep anywhere. Rooms in floors 3-6 are best.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Darrya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We stayed in room 55 (zen suite) for 4 nights.

The room was a long narrow triangle in shape with 3 lovely windows looking out to Canal St Martin, just by the bridge and lock.
Despite being in a busy area the room was quiet with the windows closed. There was only 1 other room on the floor which made it especially quiet.

The room was very warm and cosy.

The bathroom was very nice, with a good shower and separate loo.

The hotel's staff were extremely helpful and friendly.

There was free wifi and an ipad available to each room (with information on the area) which was a very nice touch.

The free mini bar was a nice touch too.

The breakfast was excellent, served in the ground floor cafe area and included fresh orange juice, eggs, breads and patisseries, fruit and other treats. Pre-dinner drinks and canapes were also served in the same area in the evenings.

The hotel is close to a few metro stations including republique and gare d leste which was very useful. We walked to Pompidou and the Marais on a couple of occasions and the walk took around 25 minutes. There were a lot of cafes, restaurants, bars in the immediate area. Also, on the warmer days it was fun seeing the locals hanging out on the canal with their drinks and nibbles.

Whilst we loved the hotel we decided that the location is probably not ideal for first time visitors who want to see all the "must see" sights and museums as the trip to those areas can take some time out of the sightseeing day (especially bad as all the major sights seem to involve a lot of time in queues). We would probably stay at this hotel again though, depending on our itinerary for the trip.

Room Tip: Go for the larger rooms to enjoy the space more
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon Potter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Just great! What is striking is the atmosphere, the very friendly staff which make you feel like at home and the nicely designed spaces (including the design books aligned in the dining room). I picked up a few books while having my breakfast and I discovered a few things. I found the room very convenient and confortable, although small. The windows facing the canal st Martin is just so cool.
Just go there and see by yourself!

Room Tip: The higher, the less noise. Although the street is already quite calm by night.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cyclingsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

Beautifully designed quirky room. Bedrooms were interconnected Crisp duvets and Custom wooden furniture. Free iPads, free snacks including freshly baked cake and biscuits . Lovely books. Lovely views of the canal. Amazing breakfast buffet with pastries smoked salmon eggs and artisan breads. easy to get to everything. Thoroughly recommend.

Stayed: April 2013
Thank Goodweeenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

This is a fab little hotel just a tiny bit outside the usual touristy areas of Paris. It offers some lovely little touches - a great breakfast (homemade yoghurt and the lemon curd is to die for!!!), a glass of wine and nibbles before you go out in the evening and a free minibar with snacks that are replaced every day.

The hotel is in an area with a really buzzy feel and lots of places to eat and get a drink. The amazingly helpful and friendly reception staff are happy to recommend good places to eat and will phone around to get you a booking, in fact they are happy to try and help with anything and are amongst some of the best reception staff we have come across a real plus point for this hotel and they should be congratulated by the management as they are a young team that work very hard covering reception, the evening drinks and the breakfast always with a smile!

The room we stayed in was one of the smaller ones, but it is well planned and very clean and we were only there for 3 nights so it was perfect, any longer and you might want to think about going for one of the larger rooms as I imagine they would have slightly more storage etc. Be warned Paris is noisy and the area around this hotel is no exception we had a 5th floor room which wasn't too bad but I think some of the lower levels might suffer, so ask for a high floor if you can.

We loved Paris and we loved this hotel and would stay here again without hesitation.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a view of the canal just try and get one of the top floors to avoid the road nois...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1countryatatime72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

I can't add much to the previous reviews- this is a beautiful boutique hotel in a fantastic location with the most wonderful staff. Rooms are elegant and well designed, and the pain au chocolat at breakfast is delicious! The place is faultless.

Thank you to all the staff a Le Citizen for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McGlade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Canal Saint-Martin
Le Robinet d'Or
Le Robinet d'Or
#50 of 1,804 in Paris
785 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel 34B - Astotel
Hotel 34B - Astotel
#32 of 1,804 in Paris
1,451 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Saint Germain
Hotel Saint Germain
#198 of 1,804 in Paris
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bastille / Oberkampf
Angely Hotel
Angely Hotel
#549 of 1,804 in Paris
505 reviews
Les Halles
Handsome Hotel by Elegancia
Handsome Hotel by Elegancia
#294 of 1,804 in Paris
183 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel du Ministere
Hotel du Ministere
#284 of 1,804 in Paris
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Citizen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Citizen Hotel

Address: 96 quai de Jemmapes, 75010 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Canal Saint-Martin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #271 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: £123 - £356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Citizen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Boutique Hotel with twelve rooms run by a team whose ultimate goal is that guests enjoy every moment of their visit. The building has been completely renovated from top to bottom, with aesthetic natural wood accents throughout. The quality of the accommodations includes top of the line beds, flat screen television with a vast choice of international channels, air conditioning, sound buffering and complimentary in-room services of WiFi, filtered water... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Le Citizen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing