We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pure bliss!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Citizen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Citizen Hotel
Ranked #209 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pure bliss!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2011

We chose this hotel through Trip Advisor because of the location (overlooking canal st. Martin) and the pics of the rooms, very spacious (unusual in Paris) and furnished in a ''Japanese'' style. We were not disappointed: our room, a Zen suite on the sixth floor, was perfect, full of light, comfortable, quiet, with a breath-taking view of che canal and the roofs around. The owners were both nice, helpful, ready yo give advice and good suggestions especially regarding restaurants.
We will definitely come back here and warmly suggest this hotel to all couples looking for a perfect place to spend a romantical escape.....

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silvietta64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    606
    132
    22
    5
    6
See reviews for
127
416
57
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2011

On 66, quai des Jemmapes (Paris, 10th arrondissement) , along the Canal Saint Martin and not far from the illustrious 'Hotel du Nord', you'll find the new Citizen Hotel, a small hotel with only 12 rooms. We had the "Suite Zen" with a family of 3 and that did the trick! The room was fitted with trendy and practical beautifully designed wooden furniture, made to measure. Beds were lush. Isolation from street noise and inside atmosphere regulation (airco) excellent. A croissant breakfast with good coffee or tea is included. With its very pleasant atmosphere, this hotel is a true gem in the Paris hotellerie world.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vanderneut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2011

We are just back from a very enjoyable short break to Paris. This hotel is a rare find. The location is perfect, with the metro a short walk away and the velib bicycles 20m away. We were able to hop on the bicycles and cycle straight into the city centre in 20 minutes - very enjoyable. The area is non touristy and very french, with a handful of very good local cafes and restaurants within 100m of the hotel.
The staff are very helpful, the rooms well designed, soundproofed from street and immaculate. Ipads were a nice touch. We did not avail of the breakfast but in hindsight we really should have as it was good value and in a lovely setting which would have set us up nicely for the cycle into town.
Well designed, very safe, great location, lovely staff, very clean and comfortable - in short Perfect.
We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone and we can't wait to get back again for another short break.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmb1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2011

My partner and I wanted to discover a new side of Paris.
And finding this hotel was the icing on the cake.
Canal St. Martin even in grrrrr cold December has so much
charm and warmth.
Le Citizen Hotel with its very personalized and really caring service
made us feel so "at home". A Boutique Hotel at its best.
Great Price, Great Location, Excellent Service.
We look forward to spending a Parisienne Spring or Summer here...

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sclzg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2010

I was stranded in Paris two nights by ice and snow and a friend recommended I try this new little hotel on the canal St. Martin. That has truly saved the day. Not only this is one of my favorite quartiers in Paris, but waking up blessed with such beautiful (snowy) views of the canal has made me forget my shouting arguments with Eurostar personnel and that I ought to go back to London.
I have attached a picture of what Sophie - the delightful and ever-helpful hostess - has prepared for me on my third trip back from the Gare du Nord (the hotel is conveniently 15mn walk from the station).
Everything is lovely and thought through, and made to be felt like a home away from home.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank francaisdelondres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2010

On a previous visit to Paris, we discovered the Canal Saint-Martin area. A "tres" hip area that is popular with Parisians but where few tourists venture. It's unfortunate - but at the same time if the tour buses started to arrive - it would lose its charm.

In the spring and summer you will find lots of locals flocking to the banks of the Canal St. Martin. Couples pushing baby carriages, people riding bikes, and simply sitting in a Cafe or along the canal watching the boats go by.

To learn more about the Canal St. Martin and the area, take a look at this video:
http://www.geobeats.com/videoclips/france/paris/canal-st-martin

On our latest visit, we decided to try the new Le Citizen hotel directly on the Canal and recently opened this fall. Wonderful experience!

Although it is located away from the tourist crowds, it is a short metro ride to all the major tourist areas of Paris.

Comfortable beds, chic design, and accommodating staff (yes in Paris!). For the price (remember this is Paris) we found this hotel to be fantastic value.

Stylish design + Comfortable beds + Reasonable Price + Great location = GREAT STAY

If your thinking of going, book ahead as this is a small hotel, about a dozen rooms, and I'm certain it will fill up quickly as more people learn about it.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Canadian_in_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2010

Great night's sleep in this new design hotel, just 12 rooms including some great suites, all overlooking the canal. Good shops and restaurants in the area and easy access to anywhere you want to go in Paris. Fantastic hotel breakfast and friendly service. Would definitely go back, you will not find better value in central Paris for somewhere this stylish and comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PearyPlace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel 34B - Astotel
Hotel 34B - Astotel
#27 of 1,795 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
Hotel Residence Foch
#54 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,173 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Residence Henri 4
Hotel Residence Henri 4
#63 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Saint-Martin
Le Robinet d'Or
Le Robinet d'Or
#42 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Joke - Astotel
Hotel Joke - Astotel
#9 of 1,795 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel du Levant
Hotel du Levant
#182 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Citizen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Citizen Hotel

Property: Le Citizen Hotel
Address: 96 quai de Jemmapes, 75010 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Canal Saint-Martin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #209 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Citizen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Boutique Hotel with twelve rooms run by a team whose ultimate goal is that guests enjoy every moment of their visit. The building has been completely renovated from top to bottom, with aesthetic natural wood accents throughout. The quality of the accommodations includes top of the line beds, flat screen television with a vast choice of international channels, air conditioning, sound buffering and complimentary in-room services of WiFi, filtered water... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Le Citizen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing